We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Old world charm...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a night in June 2014. The location is central and walking distance from the best eating and shopping areas of Joburg. The hotel is built on and around an old mansion, so its a bit confusing (to put it mildly) to get to your room while checking in, but inside the rooms are large and comfortable with modern amenities. The hotel and the lobby has a distinct old world charm about it. The front office staff were helpful and did their best to get an earlier check-in for an entire cricket team (Ambassadors of Cricket). Although we dined out for lunch and dinner, the next morning breakfast was excellent! One of the features of the hotel is a smokers bar which was packed, but ofcourse not that great for non smokers like me! On the whole, highly recommended hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden / swimming pool are on the quieter side and therefore recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear ‘Vikind’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. It is wonderful to read that you are one of the many valued GUESTS that enjoyed our ‘old world charm’ hotel and also found our location beneficial to your needs. We are pleased that our Front Office STAFF were able to offer you quick & efficient service.
We look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    228
    91
    21
    21
See reviews for
45
114
44
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midrand, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted to spend a night in Sandton to avoid having to drive after dinner, and found that the Balalaika offers reasonable value for bed and breakfast. Because of the renovations to the Village Walk centre next door, it was difficult to find the parking area, and one had to enter the hotel through the service entrance, which was disconcerting, and then it was difficult to find reception once inside!
However, once checked in we were assisted with luggage to the room, and the room swapped without complaint when we discovered that the fan made an incessant noise.
Accommodation was comfortable, and would be ideal for a visiting business person, with a desk and internet connectivity supplied, as well as TV.
Breakfast was as expected from a large international hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I chose to at this hotel for location and my dad loves the breakfasts at this hotel. A have to mention that the staff and service was good but I have to name specificly that Mathew at the reception who was ever soo patient and not giving up on me. Nick the night manager. Viwe at the reception are credit to the the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ‘Rena D’.
Thank you for your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. We were delighted to read that you and your Dad enjoyed your stay and our scrumptious breakfast so much. Your praise about our STAFF, especially about Viwe, Nick and Matthew is much appreciated and means a lot to them. We look forward to welcoming you & Dad back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just got back today from 4 nights at the Protea Balalaika in Sandton, Johannesburg.
I had decided on the trip to Johannesburg on a rather short notice and was delighted when my email inquiry was replied to almost at once. Christine went out of her way to accommodate my request and answer my questions - including arranging for a transfer from the Airport.
I arrived early and was very happy to get an early check in – as well as a late check out on the day of my departure.
The breakfast provided every morning was great and very enjoyable and a good selection of food. Edna is a gem . Room service was speedy and of good quality as well. Everything was clean and in good order. The hotel seems like a “grande dame” amongst all the glass, concrete and chrome polished hotes one usually finds in a location like that – she aged well and with style.
The staff at the hotel whether front desk, porters or the breakfast restaurant were very accommodating and make this hotel a no brainer in recommending. I will definitely stay here again whenever I return to Johannesburg. The location of the hotel in the heart of Sandton next the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Mandela Square and Mall is great and the hotel is easily accessible from the Sandton Gautrain station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear ‘timm1203’.
How wonderful to read your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is great to read that you are one of the many GUESTS that find our location convenient for your travel purposes and that you also enjoyed our gardens, which are ideal to ‘switch off’ from a busy day. Apart from our excellent location, we are pleased to read that the service received was of the high standard, to which we strive. Thank you for your kind words about our friendly STAFF. Your praise about Edna & Christine in particular are much appreciated. Please know that they were very touched by it.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jὄrg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel several times. On this occasion I had the privilege of being upgraded to a luxury suite. What an experience. The room was excellent with all the amenities one can wish for. The ambience and atmosphere of the hotel always impresses me and the customer service is excellent. The location of the hotel in the heart of Sandton next the Johannesburg Stock Exchange is great and the hotel is easily accessible from the Sandton Gautrain station. I can really recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear ‘ Manfred K’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Your kind words are much appreciated.
We look forward in welcoming you back ‘home’ again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel in February, 2014 for several days to see Johannesburg before going to a safari lodge. We picked the hotel because it was reasonably priced, close to the train station, and provided breakfast. We were very satisfied. The hotel is lovely, the staff are very helpful and accommodating, and the breakfast is superb. The distance to the train station was a little further than it appeared but absolutely walkable and very safe. It was the perfect location for seeing the city. We will definitely stay again if we return to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear ‘LC9653’.

Your comments on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is delightful to read that you enjoyed your all round stay with us, that you also enjoyed our beautiful hotel and experienced our STAFF to be friendly & helpful. How wonderful that you found our location to be of great benefit to you.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kshitiz
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When i was checking this hotel on the website honestly i dint expect anything but his hotel came as a surprise. The Rooms were nice. Service was good and Breakfast was one of the best in all hotels i stayed on my trip to SA (since i am eggetarian i am unable to comment about Non vegetarian meals ).I also Like Sandton Area. The Neighborhood was cool with shopping malls and all. Even it felt quite safe as we were roaming in the night and found it perfectly fine.

Cons:The only issue was the its a big property and many rooms are far away which might not suit families.

Room Tip: please choose room which are near the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton is a tranquil oasis of country estate in the heart of the business and entertainment hub of Sandton, just outside Johannesburg, South Africa and approximately 30 minutes from O.R. Tambo International Airport. The Protea Hotel Balalaika is the perfect stopover for those doing business in the surrounding area, or as a central hub for the discerning tourist. The hotel comprises of two sections – the Balalaika and the Crown Court – and all rooms are air-conditioned and tastefully furnished in a classic, comfortable style with their own en-suite bathroom, with many of the Crown Court suites offering the additional luxury of a private spa bath. Both buildings of Protea Hotel Balalaika are set in their own lush, landscaped garden, each boasting a sparkling swimming pool, where GUESTs can relax, unwind and momentarily experience the timelessness and calm of a bygone era. At the Protea Hotel Balalaika, efficient, discreet and attentive service is a priority and our well-trained STAFF is always on hand to ensure that all of your needs are amply met. Guests are able to safely and easily use the link from the hotel lobby to the festive Village Walk Shopping Centre, which houses 15 restaurants, 70 shops selling a variety of wares, a main grocery store (Pick ‘n Pay), hair and beauty salons and the well-known African Craft market, where one will find African artifacts, curios and artworks from all over the continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg
Sandton Hotel Balalaika

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.