We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green island in the heart of Sandton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Obninsk, Kaluga, Russia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Green island in the heart of Sandton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Pretty nice green hotel in the center of Sandton's downtown. Staying for 4 nights. We liked old style furnished foyer and restaurants. Fast checkin and checkout. Receptionists are very friendly hospitable and ready to assist you anytime. We've got a two bedroom suite that is actually a two connected rooms was very clean and convinient enough. Breakfast included was good enough. The only drawback was a pool bit dirty and causes no desire to swim despite the fact that it was constantly cleaned. Prices are resonable. Defenitely recomended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear ‘Alex2477’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is wonderful to read that your all round experience was such a positive one and that you find our prices to be reasonable.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    246
    102
    24
    27
See reviews for
54
123
51
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Not the most luxury place in town but the staff here is what makes the balalaika the place to go, Visit Hennie in the Bull Run for the best steak in town, Celicia in the lords bar makes you feel welcome just don't ask for water she will remind you it's a bar! Edith for a quick coffee on arrival in reception area.... And The guys & girls at reception will ensure you have all requested.
Perfectly situated to Nelson Madela square if you fancy a wonder round a mall & quick shop. Lots of alternative restaurants there as well. Easy access to the Gautrain to take you safely back out to the airport ( 15mins think R150)

Room Tip: Just ask to bed away from 4th floor conference suites just incase there is a late night function
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear ‘Zapudje’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. Your praise in particular about Celicia, Edith, Hennie and the Reception TEAM is much appreciated. Please know that we have congratulated them for doing a great job!
We look forward in welcoming you back to our hotel.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel is situated in Sandton and many restaurants safe and close to the hotel. The Bullrun a nice rstaurant convernient connected to the hotel. R450 by taxi from airport having 2 swimming pools and a nice garden. Room are comfortable and overall nice to stay there.
A BIG DISADVANTAGE is that one pool is hardly used due to the absence of any sunbed and table/chairs only. The second pool has limited sun areas as the sun will disappear for all areas after 16.00 and before limited areas which will be taken. As a result of the shadow in the area the pool is EXTREMELY cold and no heating used making it a true refreshing experience. Also poor drink/food service applies to the pool area.So if you like shadow and cold water ....no prob

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A warm welcome on arrival at hotel. Quick check in. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean, serviced every day. Personal touch made us feel special. It is the little things that count. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear ‘Eastgate2013’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is wonderful to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I had Visited this hotel on a Business Trip & Yes I had a memorable Stay. I was travelling alone & they provided me with an amazing room with a Small Balcony. The Buffalo Restaurant if i've not mistaken or taken a wrong name for the same was BRILLIANT. The Service was truly amazing.

If I visit Sandown, Sandton then it is going to be Protea Hotel Balalaika for sure.

Room Tip: Pool Facing Rooms with Small Balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear ‘DarshilJhaven’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. How wonderful that you enjoyed one of our balcony rooms so much, which overlooks one of our beautiful gardens. Thank you also for your praise about the Bull Run Restaurant next to the hotel.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip last year. I found the hotel to be delightful. The staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The breakfasts were scrumptious. Its very central in sandton so its easy to get around. Value for money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear ‘Smaug_11’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to do so. How wonderful that you are amongst the many travelers that find our location convenient and our hotel value for money. Thank you for your praise about our friendly and attentive STAFF.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We owned a townhouse in Sandton in the eighties emigrating to Canada in 1988. So it was an opportunity to re-visit Sandton. My spouse and I had originally booked for 2 nights but have now extended our stay for another 3. We could stay with family and friends but prefer the relax atmosphere here. It just feels right. You can open the sliding door and walk out to the garden and pool.

This hotel has an old world charm transporting us back to how things used to be. The breakfast was a magnificent feast with guavas, pears and canned peaches, fresh exotic fruits, etc.

This is not a high-rise hotel but a garden hotel. You can actually hear the birds singing in the morning. It's 5 minutes to the major shopping centre (the rodeo drive of SA) and 5 minutes to the ultra-modern Gautrain ( built by Bombardier of Canada for the World Cup). The train can take you to the airport as well.

For something different and a sense of what it used to be like, you can't go wrong. Oh they don't make bath tubs this long anymore and the bathroom is huge.

To be continued...


I am still staying at the hotel

Note the shuttle service could do with some improvement. Waited 30 minutes for a promised 3 minute drive.

Room Tip: Asked for a room that opens to one of the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear ‘Edward H’.
We appreciate the time you took to review your stay with us. It is always satisfying receiving such amazing comments. Your feedback will be relayed to the Balalaika TEAM, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope that the rest of your stay shall continue to be such a pleasant one.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton is a tranquil oasis of country estate in the heart of the business and entertainment hub of Sandton, just outside Johannesburg, South Africa and approximately 30 minutes from O.R. Tambo International Airport. The Protea Hotel Balalaika is the perfect stopover for those doing business in the surrounding area, or as a central hub for the discerning tourist. The hotel comprises of two sections – the Balalaika and the Crown Court – and all rooms are air-conditioned and tastefully furnished in a classic, comfortable style with their own en-suite bathroom, with many of the Crown Court suites offering the additional luxury of a private spa bath. Both buildings of Protea Hotel Balalaika are set in their own lush, landscaped garden, each boasting a sparkling swimming pool, where GUESTs can relax, unwind and momentarily experience the timelessness and calm of a bygone era. At the Protea Hotel Balalaika, efficient, discreet and attentive service is a priority and our well-trained STAFF is always on hand to ensure that all of your needs are amply met. Guests are able to safely and easily use the link from the hotel lobby to the festive Village Walk Shopping Centre, which houses 15 restaurants, 70 shops selling a variety of wares, a main grocery store (Pick ‘n Pay), hair and beauty salons and the well-known African Craft market, where one will find African artifacts, curios and artworks from all over the continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg
Sandton Hotel Balalaika

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.