We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sure Bet in Jo'Burg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Sure Bet in Jo'Burg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Once we figured out where to park (the streets are not entirely intuitive and the parking garage is past the hotel and not clearly labeled as hotel parking), we walked into a very comfortable and nicely appointed reception area.

The decor is really lovely, and everything is cleaned very well. Check in was quick and explained well, but our walk from the reception area to our room was a little frustrating. The hotel is sprawling, and perfect for walks around the grounds - which are absolutely lovely. However, it makes it hard to figure out where to go!

It took us about twenty minutes to figure out where our room was, and then another ten minutes to figure out that we couldn't find the nearest elevator. I'm sure there *is* an elevator somewhere near the area of our room, we just never figured out where it was. As a result, we hauled all our luggage up to the room (and back down to check out) via the stairs.

The beds were ridiculously comfortable and the bathroom was CLEAN. I always check for mold, it's something that really bothers me. There was no mold, and not a corner was left with so much as a stray hair.

The breakfast was good taste-wise, but this is the only part of the hotel where we found service lacking. It was hard to wave a server down to get coffee, and nearly impossible to get a refill of coffee. We had no sweetener at our table, and no one was interested in helping us get some.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the malls and Mandela Square. You do have to pass several street booths, but they were not aggressive at all with the passer-by.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at the Protea Balalaika and plan on making it our base for any future visits to Jo'Burg.

Room Tip: Ask where the closest elevator is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear ‘Shawn D’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’.
We are very pleased to read about your positive experience. Thank you for your praise about our beautiful gardens, our CLEAN rooms and the friendly & quick check in. The TEAM highly appreciates your praise. Your constructive criticism regarding the service in the breakfast room and the room signage has been taken been taken to heart.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    246
    102
    24
    27
See reviews for
54
123
51
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Highly recommend the Balalaika Hotel, Johannesburg. I travel all over the world on business, but this was my first visit to Jo'burg. I would recommend this hotel, for a good safe location. The restaurant is highly recommended, and I especially like the bar. The free WiFi was very good, the only downside to the free internet is that you have to renew your password everyday, which means a trip to reception, which at times was quite busy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel is one of my favourite hotels and I have stayed here consistently over the last 10 years. I was very impressed on the last visit to see the refurbished reception area. The rooms have been upgrade as well over the years and I always feel welcomed here and if in Sandton this is my place of choice as it offers value for money and a consistent product for a business traveller. For business it has all you need - good bed, fast internet, great desk in the room, gym, working bath room and a very good breakfast. There is a host lady at Breakfast I have seen for years, she always sits me on the same table and is always very welcoming. Look forward to coming back here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear ‘SforSani’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is wonderful to read that your all round experience was such a positive one and that you have been such a loyal GUEST for 10 years.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton has a lot of old rooms, some of them really far from the reception. The breakfast is very good and the hotel is well located, a few steps from Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City and Sandton Gautrain Station. Beside the hotel, used to have a small complex with good restaurants and shops, but is now closed for renovation.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the reception since some of them can be really far from the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear ‘BenjaminLevitre’.
Thank you for your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel offers ‘old world charm’ and is not the typical high-rise hotel. It has 2 beautiful gardens, which our GUESTS pass through, when walking to some of the rooms. This, many of our valued GUESTS find very relaxing, after a stressful day.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witbank, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Let me just say in the first place the Reception area looks a lot better and is more open than previously.Since my arrival all the staff was friendly and extremely helpful.I was helped at reception and the room was perfect as usual.I will recommend anyone to go and stay at this Hotel because it is almost like being at home when you stay there.Thanks to Management and all the staff for making it an exceptional stay for the week.Will be seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear ‘Pieter849’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is wonderful to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We look forward in welcoming you back 'home' again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Booked this hotel for our family during a brief stop on a road trip. This was my second stay at the hotel with the first a couple years ago. The attendant was not incredibly helpful as the bags were delivered, he made no effort to explain the features of the room and left without announcing so did not even get the chance to tip. The family room/executive suite is actually two rooms connected by a common area with couch, desk, table/chairs, and TV. This area is shared between two separate rooms. This worked beautifully for us as our daughter had her own room. We could not get the TV to work in our room but it worked in the common area and our daughter’s room. The room itself was clean but appeared quite dated which is a common theme with Proteas I have lodged in recently. The grounds are pretty and pools are nice. The hotel is quite of a maze as other reviewers have stated but it is an enjoyable walk and you do not feel that you are in the hustle and bustle of Sandton.

When I stayed there in the past, it was attached to a small mall that was very convenient. We went there this time to buy some needed supplies and found it to be an eerie, dusty ghost-town. The entire mall was shut down but we did not see any signs and you can still just wander in as we did. This was a little disappointing but there are other shops nearby and Nelson Mandela Square/Sandton City are just a 5-10 minute walk away. The breakfast was included in our rate and had a really good spread. The waitrons were enthralled with our daughter and very accommodating to us. Overall, we had a good stay and would consider coming back mostly due to the spacious (and affordable) large suite option.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Some stuff are frendly but not all. Rooms are old and not comfortable, I was in 21xx room that was very hot I think becsuse it is very close to laundry. There much better hotels nearby.
Breakfast is average
I have recommended this hotel to few foreigners visitors before trying it myself but will not do again.
Regards

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear ‘Jalel G’.

In response to your less than pleasing review about us, may we say the following: We registered with ‘tripadvisor’ to see what people are saying about us and to use their criticism constructively. Unfortunately there is nothing really to work with in your review, as you just mention the breakfast being average, not all STAFF being friendly and the rooms not being comfortable. WHY was the breakfast average? WHAT did you have and HOW would you have suggested that we improve your meal? With regards to the STAFF, WHO was not friendly? WHAT exactly in the room displeased you? HOW could we have improved your experience at the Hotel?
We encourage our GUESTS to talk to us personally in order to cultivate customer relations and ensure a positive experience every single time. Having said that, may we thank you for mentioning that some of our STAFF are friendly.
We are sorry to hear that you will not return.

Kind regards,

Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton is a tranquil oasis of country estate in the heart of the business and entertainment hub of Sandton, just outside Johannesburg, South Africa and approximately 30 minutes from O.R. Tambo International Airport. The Protea Hotel Balalaika is the perfect stopover for those doing business in the surrounding area, or as a central hub for the discerning tourist. The hotel comprises of two sections – the Balalaika and the Crown Court – and all rooms are air-conditioned and tastefully furnished in a classic, comfortable style with their own en-suite bathroom, with many of the Crown Court suites offering the additional luxury of a private spa bath. Both buildings of Protea Hotel Balalaika are set in their own lush, landscaped garden, each boasting a sparkling swimming pool, where GUESTs can relax, unwind and momentarily experience the timelessness and calm of a bygone era. At the Protea Hotel Balalaika, efficient, discreet and attentive service is a priority and our well-trained STAFF is always on hand to ensure that all of your needs are amply met. Guests are able to safely and easily use the link from the hotel lobby to the festive Village Walk Shopping Centre, which houses 15 restaurants, 70 shops selling a variety of wares, a main grocery store (Pick ‘n Pay), hair and beauty salons and the well-known African Craft market, where one will find African artifacts, curios and artworks from all over the continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg
Sandton Hotel Balalaika

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.