We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hold hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
San José del Cabo, Baja California Sur, Mexico
1 review
“Very hold hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is located in the nicest area of Joburg, beautiful are but too far !!! Almost 700 rands (70 usd) from the airport to the hotel..
It's very old, they are doing some renewals on the furniture but...still looking old..(walls, carpet,painting)
The service and food is very good. The staff very helpful..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear ‘Janneth V’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Our hotel is located in the business hub of Sandton and is known to offer a ‘little bit of country in the heart of Sandton’. Our style and décor are English Country, which we believe creates a warm & welcoming atmosphere. Our TUSK taxi prices are R 495.- ( 1-3 people ) and R 650.- ( 4-8 people ) from or to the airport ( one way ). There is an additional surcharge of R 100.- for transfers after 10pm – 05am. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the charges of other transport companies.
Your praise about our STAFF, service and food is much appreciated.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    269
    107
    29
    27
See reviews for
59
137
55
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for business. This place has huge rooms, clean and well maintained. The bathroom was equally as big and also very clean.
The gardens are beautiful and the pool is sensational.
Service is very attentive at all times.
The hotel gym is very small and gets quite sweaty and stuffy during peak times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you look at my reviews you'll see I'm not someone who leaps to criticize any establishment but this place was shocking. Racist front of house staff, building work taking place on my room while I'm asleep in it, crappy service. Other than the staff in the small bar, who were great, the rest of the experience was atrocious. I was actually there for an event we were holding in the hotel and I have already made arrangements to ensure we never again use this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear ‘littledutchboy’
Thank you for taking the time to address your issues on 'TripAdvisor'. I am extremely concerned to hear your allegations of racist front of house STAFF - could you please e-mail me directly on jorg@balalaika.co.za and explain what transpired? Insofar as the building work is concerned we commenced with the installation of new air conditioners and roof repairs throughout the Hotel and we apologise for any inconvenience that this process caused you. I am sorry to hear that you feel that we do not deserve another opportunity to show you our true level of service, but do thank you for your positive comments on our staff in Lord’s.
Yours sincerely,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

A meal in the Balalaika hotel restaurant (The Bull Inn) was a hugely pleasing experience. The food was amazing, truly delicious and swiftly delivered. But I have had great food before. What I haven't had is the exceedingly kind and generous service that I just experienced. Our waiter, Kyle, on a busy night still found time to answer all of our menu queries, and the time he took exchanging conversation with us added to the evening tremendously - a perfect balance between attentive and not at all invasive. His work ethic and attitude were clear and impressive, and I'm grateful to him and a gentleman called Ruhan for their efforts in making a special evening.
Fabulous food, surprisingly reasonable prices, unrivalled service. Many many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear ‘Phil D’
Thank you for taking the time to write your reviews on The Bull Run Restaurant on 'TripAdvisor'. It is always a pleasure to hear that our STAFF were so attentive and professional, and that you enjoyed your meal with us. I will most certainly will be passing your message onto both Kyle and Ruhan.
Hope to see you again in The Bull Run in the near future.
Kind regards
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three days whilst in Johannesburg. Yet again I was not disappointed. Clean room, friendly staff (mostly) and the Bull Run delivered quality food yet again. Slap bang in the middle of Sandton and easy to get to from the airport. As on previous visits, the housekeeping staff seem to come into the room at odd times....4pm one day....7.30am the next?! Use the "do not disturb" sign to make sure you don't get a shock! One problem of note. I locked myself out of the room. Went to reception and the girl (Emma) insisted I was accompanied back to the room by a porter who was instructed to check ID in order to check it was me!....good idea as I could be anyone. Only problem is she didnt actually tell the guy my name, so he came all the way up with me and had no idea what he was checking. He left me in the room and I could have walked off with anything. I also have to say that all of the staff are great, with the exception of reception, who I am convinced are trained or told not to be too friendly....for gawd sake SMILE!!! Having stayed twice now it's the only thing that takes the shine off the place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear ‘Turbinetraveller’.
Thank you for taking the time again to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your Bull Run meal was to your expectation again. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the Housekeeping & Front Office concerns you raised. These have been taken to heart and addressed with our Executive Housekeeper and our Front Office Manager. Thank you for bringing them to our attention.
We look forward in welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We need a conveniently locate hotel for the first night with shopping facilities close by.
And we wanted a traditional hotel, not too large, not to sophisticcated.
And the Balalaika was the right joice. It is in walking distance to the Sandton Shopping Center and the the Steakhouse Restaurant offers very good value for money.
Breakfast is also very good.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the lower floors as might end up below garden level. Upper floor is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear ‘pmun1971’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’.
How wonderful to read that your all round stay was such a positive one in our traditional, English-country styled hotel, oozing warmth & sophistication.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had a memorable stay at Protea Balalaika. Enjoyed the room, courteous staffs and wonderful location to the mall.

Breakfast is also wonderful, especially when handled by one of the older staffs.

I equally enjoyed the timely cleanliness of the room despite on-going renovations within the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 408 is very fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear ‘olatuno’.
Your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your all round experience was so positive.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel Balalaika on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg
Sandton Hotel Balalaika

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.