We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Protea Balalaika, Johannesburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 44 hotels in Sandton
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Protea Balalaika, Johannesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012. It has old world charm. Rooms were functional, if a little tired. However I heard from people in Jo'burg that the hotel was going to undergo some rennovation. Breakfast superb. Location perfect for what I needed. Staff very helpful - especially the concierge CJ. Downsides: Bull Run restaurant next door/attached, staff very slow and got things wrong numerous times. Check-in and check-out took ages. Radar keys for the room kept on breaking down. Would stay again though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear ‘JoFo74UK’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your praise about CJ in particular is greatly appreciated. Please know that I have congratulated him on doing a great job! You will be pleased to know that one of our refurbishing projects is to upgrade our key card system
( room door locks ). Please know that I have addressed your concerns about the Bull Run with their Management Team; may I ask if you had spoken to any of them during your meal?
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    230
    91
    21
    21
See reviews for
45
115
45
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Once again a lovely stay!!! Alesha at the front desk is very friendly and exceptionally helpfull!!!
Patricia and Ohad at Reservations are also an absolute pleasure to deal with!!
(Pity there are no smoking rooms :-) but the balcony rooms make up for it!!

Thank you

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear ‘Delia M’.
Your positive words on ‘tripadvisor’ are very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. Your praise about Alesha, Ohad & Patricia truly mean alot and will surely encourage them to keep up their great work.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jöerg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Babalaika hotel are really nice. Place in the center of Johannesburg, and with a big green garden in the back. Staff are helpfull and always ready. The breakfast are really good, with a big selection, and loots of room. The Bull Run restaurant next door are worthy of a visit

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on first floor... They have rooms in the basement also... They are not worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen Holland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If a business hotel tells you they are overbooked at 11 pm after a 16 hour journey, there is clearly something wrong. One person for one room can happen, but when it happend to me, the whole lobby was filled with people who had the same issue.

After an hour waiting they stated they had found an alternative hotel for the night of similar quality. Unfortunately, this was far from the thruth.

Never again for me!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear ‘Jeroen_77’. Your comments refer. Again, we would like to apologize most sincerely for the unfortunate incident of not being able to accommodate you upon your arrival at 23h00. We do understand your frustration. But unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances, the hotel had become overbooked and we had been unable to accommodate you that evening. This is by no means a norm, despite being a very busy hotel. As a token of our apology, we would like to invite you back to enjoy one complimentary night’s stay with us, when next you are in the area. Kindly contact our Guest Relations Manager, Christine (Christine@balalaika.co.za) to assist with the Reservation.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel really is a sanctuary, nice gardens, pools and singing birds. It is hard to believe there is the hustle and bustle of Sandton just outside. Friendly, efficient staff. Great bar. The hotel is always pretty full with guests but because it is spaced out, nobody is on top of anybody, there always seems like there is space.
Being able to use The Bull Run restaurant situated next door for room service is a big bonus.
Rooms in the newer Garden Court part of the hotel are obviously more modern than those at the front of the hotel.
Just one thing, the cleaning staff.... When there is do not disturb sign on the door, particularly when wanting a lie in at the weekend, why do the staff vacuum the hallway scrapping the vacuum or trolley against the door at 7-8am? Do not disturb means more than just not knocking the door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Garden Court. They are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear ‘andyove’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are truly appreciated. We would have to agree with you that our gardens are just too beautiful and seem soothing to the soul. It definitely does not give one the impression of being in a very busy suburb or hotel. We feel truly blessed with our lovely gardens. Please know that we have addressed your concern with our Housekeeping Department. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.
We look forward in welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

The setting is beautiful invoking a feeling of being in the jungle. The tress and the tweeting birds set around swimming pools. So many rooms but you never feel crowded as there is so much to do in and around the hotel including Mandela square.
Rooms are very comfortable and business friendly. Customer service very good.

Check location of hotel machinery. Room 2159 had a compressor in the vicinity which took off every so often in the middle of the night. The frosty television pictures are uncalled for in this day and age.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear ‘MagoLondonUK’.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. We were thrilled to read about your positive experiences. Your praise is truly appreciated. Please know that we have asked our Maintenance Team to investigate the concern which you have raised. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.
We look forward in welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our family recently stayed at the Balalaika and attended a wedding hosted by the hotel. We found the staff to be professional, friendly and very efficient. Nothing was too much trouble for them!
The hotels facilities and rooms were top class and our every need was catered for! We would highly recommend this hotel, set in beautiful and tranquil gardens, to all who were looking for a hotel in the hub of the Sandton business district!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear ‘ Bev H’.
Thank you for writing your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so. We are very pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the wedding you attended so much.
We look forward in welcoming back again soon to our beautiful ‘oasis in the hub of the Sandton business district.’
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton is a tranquil oasis of country estate in the heart of the business and entertainment hub of Sandton, just outside Johannesburg, South Africa and approximately 30 minutes from O.R. Tambo International Airport. The Protea Hotel Balalaika is the perfect stopover for those doing business in the surrounding area, or as a central hub for the discerning tourist. The hotel comprises of two sections – the Balalaika and the Crown Court – and all rooms are air-conditioned and tastefully furnished in a classic, comfortable style with their own en-suite bathroom, with many of the Crown Court suites offering the additional luxury of a private spa bath. Both buildings of Protea Hotel Balalaika are set in their own lush, landscaped garden, each boasting a sparkling swimming pool, where GUESTs can relax, unwind and momentarily experience the timelessness and calm of a bygone era. At the Protea Hotel Balalaika, efficient, discreet and attentive service is a priority and our well-trained STAFF is always on hand to ensure that all of your needs are amply met. Guests are able to safely and easily use the link from the hotel lobby to the festive Village Walk Shopping Centre, which houses 15 restaurants, 70 shops selling a variety of wares, a main grocery store (Pick ‘n Pay), hair and beauty salons and the well-known African Craft market, where one will find African artifacts, curios and artworks from all over the continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg
Sandton Hotel Balalaika

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.