We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice country hotel in the middle of the business district of Joburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
191 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice country hotel in the middle of the business district of Joburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is a nice country hotel situated in Sandton close to the Sandton Mall. When you are in the hotel you are hardly aware that you are in a city as it is really peaceful. It has beautiful gardens, 2 pools and a nice outdoor area for breakfast and dinner.

The airco system are in need for an upgrade. We had to change rooms as first it was not cooling and then it broke down completely. But still would recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    281
    118
    31
    29
See reviews for
63
142
56
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This English inspired hotel in the heart of the financial district in Sandton is a great option for the ones seeking a good stay in South Africa. It is near the beautiful Nelson Mandela square and its awesome selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear ‘Irado’. Your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated and for taking the time to do so. Yes, we would have to agree with you a 100% that our location is superb and that our 'English inspired' decor makes us very unique amongst the modern high-rise buidlings in the Sandton area. It is our aim to create a warm and welcoming feel to our valued GUESTS.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Jӧrg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good location, beautiful people, fantastic breakfast buffet, easy walk to the Nelson Mandela square giving u easy access to shop, nd v some scrumptious meal ranging from African to Italian cuisine etc. quite and green environment. If u gona do balalaika rooms request a king size bed; it's worth Paying for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear ‘Xtige’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. It is truly wonderful to read that your all round stay was such a positive one. Your praise about our STAFF, our ideal location and our scrumptious Breakfast is most appreciated. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jӧrg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I'm sorry to only add my review now as I stayed here in Nov 2010 for four nights. I shared a room with my mother and my brother had his own room further down the corridor.

The hotel staff were very accommodating in trying to get my brother's room as close to ours as possible considering that the hotel was quite full during our stay.

I really liked the "garden feel" of the courtyards and the different sections of the hotel. I didn't mind the walk from the reception to our rooms as I was on holiday and find it quite relaxing to amble along to my room every day.

The parking is very convenient and at the time reasonably priced.

I loved the bath and seperate shower in our en suite and I did use the gym and the swiming pools during my stay as well as having very good coffees from their cafe/barista. My brother and I also had drinks and nibbles one evening in the bar.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again when I visit Johannesburg. I found my stay relaxing, enjoyable and value for money. I liked the fact that you could use the minibar fridge in your room for storing your own food items - because if you want them to specially stock the minibar, you need to request this and we didn't opt for this service, being happy to buy our own goodies at the supermarket (Pick 'n Pay) in the adjacent mall to the hotel. Also conveniently located in the mall was a "Clicks" store and a car rental agency. This was very handy as my brother rented a car from here and was able to drop off the car at the Johannesburg airport on our return journey.

All in all an enjoyable stay and look forward to next time!

Room Tip: We had a good sized quiet room with a garden view and twin beds for my mother and I on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear “Daisy D”.
Thank you so much for your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so. It is truly wonderful to read that your all round experience was such an enjoyable one. Your comments mean a lot to us and we look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here while visiting Jo'burg. It's in a nice location located right next to Nelson Mandela Square. The mall is within walking distance and there are many options for food as well as street vendors to buy goods to take back home with you. It's in a very touristy section of town so if you are a tourist you won't feel alone and it's safe. Everything you need can be found at the mall if an emergency arises. There's a pharmacy, ATMs, etc. There is nightlife and more restaraunts not too far away. You can take a quick cab ride to get there. The casino is not too far away which is pretty awesome to see, gamble or to find a bit to eat as well. The hotel staff are friendly and most helpful! The courtyard is beautiful, the grounds are really pretty. The rooms are clean. I think the rates are affordable as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear “ATLGAPeach”.
Thank you for taking time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Yes, we would have to agree with you that our hotel grounds are just too lovely; as you can imagine we are very proud of our charming gardens. Thank you for your praise about our friendly & helpful Staff. Your kind words are much appreciated.
We look forward in welcoming you back again to our beautiful ‘oasis’.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsumeb, Namibia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

ALthough we only stayed there for one night . It was a good choice. Was conveniently close to the shopping malls and we enjoyed the quiet nice even though it was a bit of a walk to get to our rooms. What was a bit of a surprise was that we ha dto pay for our parking whcih I thought was included in teh room stay. But all in all an excellent Hotel. Old but acceptable.

Room Tip: As for a room closer to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear ‘Sam J’.

Thank you for your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’.
How wonderful to read that your all round stay was enjoyable. Yes, our Hotel is not the typical high-rise, but is stretched out to accommodate our 2 beautiful gardens. Parking unfortunately is not included in the room rate; however Reception can issue a parking voucher for R25.- per day and which allows our GUESTS to leave and enter the parking as many times as they wish.

We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jӧrg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hi we spent part of our anniversary in this hotel. Conveniently located to sandton mall with lots to do & see.

Rooms itself was nice, we had a good relaxed time in the pool enclave too. The buffet breakfast was of exceptional quality, and we found the overall staff very friendly and happy to ensure we had a great stay.

The only thing that besmirched this trip was the very rude driver who picked us up from the Gautrain, his whole attitude was beyond rude. He snapped, rolled his eyes and spoke in the local language and didn't even offer to assist with luggage at pick up/drop-off. For a minute i didn't think we had jumped in a car belonging to such a reputable hotel.

I ensured i spoke to both the head concierge and the front-desk about this, as it definitely left a bad vibe on our otherwise great experience.,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear ‘Mr_Long’.

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unacceptable service you experienced with one of the Drivers. This has been taken up with the Transport Company, who have taken the necessary disciplinary action.
We look forward in welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Jӧrg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Garden Court Sandton City
#13 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#5 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#6 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel Balalaika on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg
Sandton Hotel Balalaika

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.