We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A large hotel with great breakfasts and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Indaba Hotel to your Saves list
Indaba Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   William Nicol Drive. Fourways, Sandton 2055, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A large hotel with great breakfasts and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed here a few times, the hotel is spread out and the furthest rooms are 10 minutes walk from reception with limited cover. This time I was in 208, which is quite near but out of reach of the wireless internet, unless you opened the door, wireless is free in reception but was down for about half the time I was there.

Rooms are large and well equipped, coffee flat screen TV, air con. Breakfast was included and is a magnificent buffet spread.

Room Tip: The hotel is very spread out, the ones furthest away are 10 min+ walk, so unless you like walking as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    98
    30
    3
    9
See reviews for
22
70
11
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Ew Mowana spa is terrific. It wasn't the best massage I've ever had, but the local products did a huge makeover on my skin, and the set up is like have treatment in an oasis.
I've stayed at the Indaba twice, both times with great success. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the location makes for shopping and whatever one may choose to get into at the casino.

The only downside is the food. I found it to be a bit bland and lacking in freshness or creativity.

The rooms in the newer sections are much better than the older ones. The 900 block rooms have French doors and a terrace.

Also, if you love birds, this is the place for you. Somehow it attracts quite a variety.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We checked out of Indaba yesterday at 4.30am to head back home after 2 days in Gauteng.

I cannot fault this hotel at all. We had a great time!

The room was excellent, modern, new and very spacious.

The facilities were in a very good condition and everything was as it should be.

The best part is that it didn't cost that much. The location is great with lotsa of eating and shopping places nearby.

I highly recommend this establishment and it's not very far from Lanseria airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The new Mowana Spa is situated at the Indaba HOtel and offers great value for money. We stayed over at the Indaba Hotel after the Spa treatment. We had no hot water in our room, after waiting an hour for maintenance, they disputed our complaint and we checked out without having hot water.
The reception area smells terrible.

Room Tip: Request block 5, as this is closest to the infinity pool. It is private and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed over one night on our way to Kruger early November, after long haul flight, and were made to feel welcome and well looked after. Yes the hotel is spread out, and if you can get a room at the back, you don't get the traffic noise. Otherwise the room is spacious, well appointed, and the food excellent. Choices for breakfast should suit even the fussiest of eaters. We were very happy and I wish we had had another night there to chill out.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was the first stop on our recent tour of South Africa. The rooms are very spread out and I suggest you get a member of staff to show you the way. Our room was large and had a good bathroom. There is a supply of muffins and a hot drink machine near reception but not many people seemed to find it! Wish we could have stayed another night.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is huge complex of many buildings, blocks that are quite a distance from the reception.
Think of going up and down with your bags and get the porter before you start looking for your room.
Rooms are tastefully decorated, clean and large.
WIFi is working without any problems.
Breakfasts and dinners are delicious, but after 3 days you will know all their menu. Go out for dinner especially.

Room Tip: moderately priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
0.3 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
The Palazzo Montecasino
#1 of 7 in Fourways
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
6.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Indaba Hotel and Conference Centre
6.5 mi away
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
6.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indaba Hotel

Address: William Nicol Drive. Fourways, Sandton 2055, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#14 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Indaba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 260 bedroom Indaba Hotel is located in the upmarket northern residential suburb of Fourways, 15 km's from Sandton and within easy access of OR Tambo International Airport and Lanseria Airport. Boasting 3 restaurants, 24 multi-purpose Conference Rooms, numerous recreational facilities and the award winning Mowana Spa, the Indaba Hotel is perfect for both business, group and leisure travel. Indaba Hotel - your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, South African Hotels and Venere so you can book your Indaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indaba Hotel Johannesburg
Indaba Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indaba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.