We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indaba Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Indaba Hotel to your Saves list
Indaba Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   William Nicol Drive. Fourways, Sandton 2055, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Accra, Ghana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, amazing spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Ew Mowana spa is terrific. It wasn't the best massage I've ever had, but the local products did a huge makeover on my skin, and the set up is like have treatment in an oasis.
I've stayed at the Indaba twice, both times with great success. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the location makes for shopping and whatever one may choose to get into at the casino.

The only downside is the food. I found it to be a bit bland and lacking in freshness or creativity.

The rooms in the newer sections are much better than the older ones. The 900 block rooms have French doors and a terrace.

Also, if you love birds, this is the place for you. Somehow it attracts quite a variety.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    84
    24
    3
    8
See reviews for
16
54
8
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We checked out of Indaba yesterday at 4.30am to head back home after 2 days in Gauteng.

I cannot fault this hotel at all. We had a great time!

The room was excellent, modern, new and very spacious.

The facilities were in a very good condition and everything was as it should be.

The best part is that it didn't cost that much. The location is great with lotsa of eating and shopping places nearby.

I highly recommend this establishment and it's not very far from Lanseria airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The new Mowana Spa is situated at the Indaba HOtel and offers great value for money. We stayed over at the Indaba Hotel after the Spa treatment. We had no hot water in our room, after waiting an hour for maintenance, they disputed our complaint and we checked out without having hot water.
The reception area smells terrible.

Room Tip: Request block 5, as this is closest to the infinity pool. It is private and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed over one night on our way to Kruger early November, after long haul flight, and were made to feel welcome and well looked after. Yes the hotel is spread out, and if you can get a room at the back, you don't get the traffic noise. Otherwise the room is spacious, well appointed, and the food excellent. Choices for breakfast should suit even the fussiest of eaters. We were very happy and I wish we had had another night there to chill out.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was the first stop on our recent tour of South Africa. The rooms are very spread out and I suggest you get a member of staff to show you the way. Our room was large and had a good bathroom. There is a supply of muffins and a hot drink machine near reception but not many people seemed to find it! Wish we could have stayed another night.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is huge complex of many buildings, blocks that are quite a distance from the reception.
Think of going up and down with your bags and get the porter before you start looking for your room.
Rooms are tastefully decorated, clean and large.
WIFi is working without any problems.
Breakfasts and dinners are delicious, but after 3 days you will know all their menu. Go out for dinner especially.

Room Tip: moderately priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed only one night at the Indaba at the start of a tour of South Africa but have to say it was a superb hotel. The room was spacious and the best part of a lovely armchair and foot rest, just what you needed after an overnight flight. Very comfortable bed and the Chief's Boma (Restaurant) was a real find. So much food to choose from including lots of local game which you chose and they cooked for you. Happy to recommend and it's hard to believe it's just outside of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indaba Hotel

Address: William Nicol Drive. Fourways, Sandton 2055, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#13 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Indaba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 260 bedroom Indaba Hotel is located in the upmarket northern residential suburb of Fourways, 15 km's from Sandton and within easy access of OR Tambo International Airport and Lanseria Airport. Boasting 3 restaurants, 24 multi-purpose Conference Rooms, numerous recreational facilities and the award winning Mowana Spa, the Indaba Hotel is perfect for both business, group and leisure travel. Indaba Hotel - your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Indaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indaba Hotel Johannesburg
Indaba Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indaba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.