We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets the job done...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside

Save Saved
You added City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Hill & Rivonia Roads | Morningside, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Sandton
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gets the job done...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've stayed at City Lodges around South Africa many a time and with very positive experiences. Morningside is no different. Located on Rivonia is a big plus, as it gives one access to pretty much all of Sandton. The hotel has been refurbished - the dining area and rooms look a lot more lively than they previously did, but the "fitness room" as its called is still the same...perhaps more modern equipment could make a difference?

The staff at the hotel are warm and friendly and actually recognize repeat visitors - so that's a good thing! The rooms are clean, reasonably large and very functional. So if you're not looking for luxury but a place that gets the job done, look no further...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our hotel, We are glad that you enjoyed the faciliies and found the staff friendly. We hope to welcome you again at this hotel or one of our other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
3
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I found the total experience good. The welcome was superb, the room was small but clean and functional. The breakfast spread was great although I found it expensive! I had a great experience with Nick in housekeeping when I needed to dry my gym clothes in the hotel tumble drier, He personally hand delivered my dry clothes back to my room! Unfortunately the stay was a little spoilt when the supplies were not replenished in my bathroom on a daily basis - this needs to be an area of training for the hotel. Overall though, I would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great stay in newly renovated hotel, tastefully done and the staff are superb!! Well done guys!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this City Lodge with my wife for 1 night. We drove through to Johannesburg to watch Madame Zingara at Montecasino. We booked online via Bid2Stay and got a really good deal as a last minute booking. The hotel is in an excellent location, one robot down from Grayston and Rivonia, easily accessible from the M1 (Grayston offramp), N1 (Rivonia offramp) and even William Nicol Drive. No GPS is needed if you are from a local tourist. The rooms were recently refurbished with excellent finishings and a generous King Size bed with cosy linen. The only negative about this hotel is that due to its location and popularity it was quite busy and I found the service at breakfast below standard as we waited an irritably long time for coffee and the queues at the buffet uncomfortably too long for my liking. However, this would certainly not stop me from checking in again or recommending the hotel to friends, family or colleagues.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Average hotel
Average room
Very average breakfast (this is a pity and a City Lodge used to be something to look forward to)

The whole experience is very average. The rooms need a refresh.

Local B&B's offer better accomodation and personalised servie.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Close to Jhb airport, this hotel offers good service at a reasonable price. Its not flashy, but the newer section of the hotel has nice rooms. The breakfast is great - lots of variety and healthy options. The lunch and dinner menu, however, is very poor. There are reasonable restaurants in the area though (Villa Bianca is great but always busy so you need to book in advance). Parking is free and there is ample. The internet is pricey but its not bad in terms of speed. It can get a little busy during the week due to the amount of business travellers, but weekends are very quiet. The reception staff are friendly, once you get to know them, and management are very quick to respond to any concerns that you might have. The pool area is beautiful but its not very private so no one ever seems to use it. The gym is small, but the equipment is modern and the area clean. We stay here frequently when on business in SA and we are happy with it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

I spend 10-12 nights a month in the Joburg area and have happily used City Lodge hotels for years (their Fourways property where I usually stay is superb). The City Lodge Hotel in Morningside, however, is a disaster.

The initial reception is unfriendly ("Name? Smoking/non-smoking? Room 204. Up the stairs. Next!"

The rooms are small and dingy, lacking even a chest of drawers for clothes. I don't expect luxury, but because I always work in the evenings, I do expect quiet, which was not on the cards.

There was repair work taking place somewhere above my room, involving hammering and tapping on pipes from 7pm till after 9pm. Then it got worse: unfortunately the place seems to attract the class of clientele that thinks it is fine to conduct loud (shouted) conversations in the passageways outside people's doors (this went on in 10-minute waves from 9pm till well after midnight, two nights running, involving a series of groups and couples, all of whom were oblivious to the fact that they were disturbing people who wanted a little peace).

This irritation was compounded by the barely usable WiFi internet, which ran at less-than dial-up speeds (5 kbps according to my computer), crashing constantly, causing me to spend hours on a task that should have taken minutes. At R50 an hour for web access, that's just not acceptable.

I need a quiet space where I can get some work done in the evenings. This was not that place. What do you want for R900 a night? -- well with the way the hotel industry is today, you can negotiate a room down the road at the Radisson for the same rate. That's where I'll be next time I have to stay in Sandton.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside

Address: Corner Hill & Rivonia Roads | Morningside, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a restaurant on the property and is across the road from Morningside Clinic. It is close to a gym and 3 minutes from the shopping centres of Village Walk, Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square. The convenience of this hotel is reinforced by its close proximity to the M1 motorway and the 30 minute drive from the OR Tambo International airport. We are 2km from the Gautrain Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge - Sandton/Morningside Hotel Sandton
City Hotel Sandton Morningside
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.