We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enoyable experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel Bryanston

Save Saved
You added City Lodge Hotel Bryanston to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   cnr Main Road & Peter Place | Bryanston West, Sandton 2125, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Enoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed for business course close by. My room was warm, clean, basic and included a tv with a few channels of DSTV. Staff are friendly and the large lounge area at the entrance provided some meal options untill 9 or 10. Alternativethe lounge is a place to hangout and watch tv. Gym room is very small. Full breakfast buffet for R105 and got a free muffin in the morning :) Great secure parking but the car entrance is hidden on the (not so well lit) side road and security will only open gates if you get close to the gate.

Room Tip: Choose rooms which are not close to the stairway coming from the lounge and entrance area otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
1
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I needed to be at Medfem clinic across the road at 6am for 3 days in a row, so we stayed at this hotel. It couldn't be more convenient. a 2 minute walk and you're in the doctor's rooms. The staff are absolutely wonderful and I don't believe the negative comment guy was at this hotel. We took our sons the 1st time and the second time, when we left them behind, the staff asked after them... by name! The rooms are spotless, there is tea and coffee in the room, good bathroom products, a glass of sherry (or 2) on arrival. The pool is clean (quite cold) and quiet and the staff come to you to offer you something to drink. They gave out chocolates and goodies for Valentine's day. Security is excellent, you're down the road from Spur and other restaurants, half a block from a fuel station and off Main Road. It's easy to find and even though the traffic is just out there, it's a quiet hotel. With all the foliage, the rooms are dark and we got wonderful nights' sleeps. I got a good discount booking on the internet. Otherwise, MedFem gives you a letter for discount. The gym is NOT open air, it's inside and more than adequate from what I saw. I didn't bother to gym. We didn't eat there, but the menu looked good. It's not a holiday destination, but if you find yourself inn Joburg, having to get to Fourways or Sandton, it's centrally located and we didn't have one problem with traffic in the area. Highly recommended. We'll only stay here if we're in Joburg again, which we will be.
My only suggestion in the rooms would be to raise the TV's up onto the walls. With them on the counter, other things and people keep getting in the way.

Room Tip: Ask for one upstairs facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

If you are looking for top quality lodging with a superb host and friendly staff, look no further. This is a lovely property with heated pool, open-air gym, beautiful vegetation and very comfortable and large rooms.

Room Tip: #5 is nice as it opens out onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I was to stay here for several days but left after the first night. I had hired a driver for me and my family. After the first day he tried to extort more money by threatening me with violence. This took place in the lobby. The staff would not help. Even after asking for security 5 times they would not help. They even gave the guy our room number and let him know when we would be leaving to get a rent a car. The staff worked with this guy to help him figure out what and where we would be going. When we checked out the manager would not come out to talk about what happened. Very, very scary to be helpless in such a situation. Stay away from this place. They were very rude.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLodgeJHB, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
We are sorry to hear about this situation and will certainly be investigating the matter further with hotel management. It is always our aim to act in the best interests of our guests. However, it should be noted that we have no control over third party service providers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

What isn't there to like about this place? The prices are good, the ambience is good, the food is good and the rooms and hotel are all in fair repair. Everything you need under one roof at the end of a long day when not in the mood to travel further afield. Even if you do travel this is in a good location for the Pretoria/Johannesburg area, with the proviso that the traffic can be bad. I would stay here again on business, just not my first choice for holiday, although that is not a negative, just this hotel is not (in my opinion) a holiday place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Descent comfortable hotel with good room, good breakfast and acceptable service. Nice design of the dining hall as well as the seating area around the swimming pool. Great for an overnight stay on business.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

This is comfortable, well managed, and secure hotel. It's not fancy, but has everything that I have needed on my trips to Johannesburg. My rooms have always been well appointed, clean, with everything in working order. The breakfasts are truly excellent: the City Lodge probably provides the best value in a breakfast buffet in the area (Even if you're not staying here, stop by for breakfast!) I have stayed at the City Lodge Bryanston several times, and I anticipate staying again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Lodge Hotel Bryanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Bryanston

Address: cnr Main Road & Peter Place | Bryanston West, Sandton 2125, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Bryanston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is built on the site of an old nursery, with a well manicured garden and sparkling swimming pool. Within walking distance of many restaurants and across the road from the Sandton Clinic. It is also equipped with a fitness room, meeting room and a swimming pool and is conveniently located 10 minutes from the N1 Western Bypass, 3 minutes from Randburg’s CBD and shopping area, and 10 minutes from Sandton’s CBD and shopping centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Bryanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Bryanston Hotel Sandton
City Hotel Bryanston
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.