We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa to your Saves list
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Saxon Road | Sandhurst, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Superb service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This is our second time visiting the Saxon, following on from the arrival of the new chef. The last meal evidenced a marked step p in the quality of the cuisine, with an eclectic fusion of contemporary and old school favorites. This time, there was no exception... The food was superb... But what truly made the evening was the service. It was simply superb... Every single staff member, from the security guards to the drivers to the door man to the sommeliers and waiters were attentive, friendly, welcoming and simply went out of their way to give us the best possible evening... I recall this same level of service at another restaurant some time ago...and I am thrilled that the new chef has brought the same all-round signature service to the Saxon... Simply superb... We look so forward to experiencing the opening of your two new restaurants.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonBoutique, Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear TheNagle,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and we hope that we will welcome you back to The Saxon very soon. Your comments will definitely be passed onto our team, especially our Executive Chef David Higgs.

On your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would like to exceed your expectations of the hotel even more.

Kind regards,
Miguel Brunido, Key Accounts Manager
The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    19
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
45
140
11
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

you park your car away from the hotel and is transported to the hotel by their car. all are service orientated and are eager to serve. the presentation of food is legendary and their facilities amazing.

their rooms are just out of this world but they not cheap either, but all worth it. fantastic venue to strike the right chords for new business partners or a romantic outing - where even though the food is tasty is not the major issue.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonBoutique, Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear travellingben66

Thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was most memorable and we hope that we will welcome you back to The Saxon very soon.

On your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would like to exceed your expectations of the Saxon even more.

Kind regards,
George Cohen, Managing Director
The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Saxon is luxury at its best. The building and grounds are absolutely gorgeous, simply oozing opulence. The service is impeccable and the rooms are so comfortable. Deftinetely the best option available in Jo-burg. My only complaint is that we stayed at the Saxon before going on safari-- THE RUGS IN OUR ROOM WERE AUNTHETIC DEAD ZEBRAS. A bit disturbing for animal lovers. Other than that, great hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nelson Mandela suite, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonBoutique, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear BDWny,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was most memorable and we hope that we will welcome you back to The Saxon very soon.

On your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would like to exceed your expectations of the hotel and Johannesburg even more.

Kind regards,
George Cohen, Managing Director
The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I did not stay at this hotel, however sampled dinner one evening when I was working in Joburg.

From the moment you arrive at this hotel, you can tell it is going to be a good experience; and it was.

There is a sheer sign of opulence from the moment you enter the grand doors, where you are personally escorted to the restaurant. The restaurant has a very elegantly exclusive feel to it which was quite delightful!

Food was of exceptional quality; we were offered the service of a sommelier which we kindly accepted and he recommended some wonderful wines to us. We also chose to have an aperitif before dinner; a glass of champagne I think.

The wine was equally good and we were well looked after the entire evening.

Afterwards ( it was midweek), we were escorted to the private cigar room ( we don't smoke), however it was a lovely place to sit and we were allocated our own waiter, who, again, served us extremely well.

This restaurant is exceptional and the staff were professional, courteous, knowledgeable and committed to their job; especially the Assistant Manager on the evening ( this may have changed as we visited in 2009).

The cost of the meal was extremely reasonable- for two people, including aperitifs, wine, 4 courses each etc; somewhere around ZAR 1900. Fantastic value!

I would absolutely recommend eating here and we also saw some of the rooms and the surrounding areas; including pools/bathrooms etc and they all looked spectacular.

It's a shame I'm now back in the UK as I loved here and hopefully I will make it back some time soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonBoutique, Food & Beverage Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear elninomagico,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and that the experience was most memorable. We hope that we will welcome you back to The Saxon very soon, and that you will spend at least a night with us.

On your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would like to exceed your expectations of the hotel and restaurant even more.

Kind regards,
Francis Krone, Food & Beverage Manager
The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Hotel Oooozes absolute luxury and privacy.
Have stayed in the hotel on a few occasions and loved every moment of being pampered and enjoying the very best that life has to offer. George the manager always out and about, the staff amazing.
Drinks at the pool or high tea with scones just fantastic for young old and business people alike. If you want to have an incredible stay or just want to impress this is the place to be see. Wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Richard L,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was most memorable and we hope that we will welcome you back to The Saxon very soon.

On your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would like to exceed your expectations of the hotel and Johannesburg even more.

Kind regards,
George Cohen, Managing Director
The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is Johannesburg's best hotel and also its most expensive. With rates starting at around ZAR 7000 per night, it may also be the most expensive hotel in the country (and the continent). While those sort of rates are usually difficult to justify, in this case its worth paying up for the Saxon. In a city where most of the hotels are nondescript business hotels, this stands out as an exceptional place to stay. What's so great? I liked:

- the very large well designed rooms
- beautiful gardens with exceptional swimming pools
- faultless service throughout with an outstandingly good team at the front desk
- a very good restaurant (although I find the "shutter look" in both the rooms and the restaurant a bit too overdone)
- impressive security, which sadly is an important criteria for choosing a hotel in Johannesburg.

It's well worth trying the Saxon, but beware this hotel is addictive!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Charlie1001,

Thank you for your positive commentry on The Saxon Boutique Hotel, VIllas & Spa.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon as we would love to go above and beyond, and make your stay even more "addictive" than the last. On your return please do let sales@saxon.co.za know and we will enure to reserve a room with great garden views. Your feedback has been passed onto our team and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards
Miguel Brunido
Key Accounts Manager - The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
303 hotel reviews
Reviews in 235 cities Reviews in 235 cities
605 helpful votes 605 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

This was my first time overnighting in Jo'burg.  Flight got in early by 30 min so had to wait a bit for the driver, another 30 min drive later arrived at the Saxon, a beautiful hotel behind a gated compound with heavy security.  Stayed in one of the rooms/villas in the new building, room had very high ceiling, nice standalone bathroom and shower, loads of toiletries, a laptop with internet access as well as wifi.  

Tried the beautifully presented tasting menu in the restaurant, I pigged out on the six course menu and even ordered a big plate of oysters on the side. The meal with wine pairing was only r1250 with wine pairing, r750 without, quite a bargain compared to HK.  (the room rate was not cheap at all though....) Alas post tasting with wine pairing i could not drink the free bottle of champagne sitting in the room !

I had only one night in this peaceful hotel but this will continue to be my go to place in Jo'burg for all future transits/overnights. 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear anilegna,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was most memorable and we hope that we will welcome you back to The Saxon very soon. Your comments will definitely be passed onto our team, especially our Executive Chef David Higgs.

On your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would like to exceed your expectations of the hotel and Johannesburg even more.

Kind regards,
Miguel Brunido, Key Accounts Manager
The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa

Address: 36 Saxon Road | Sandhurst, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#1 Business Hotel in Sandton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saxon has a story to tell. Originally a private home and host to many honoured guests. The art within the home portrays lives lived with guests and friends spending time together. Elegant. Luxurious. Unforgettable. Merging the finest culinary experiences, the ultimate in luxurious accommodation and the award-winning Spa, the Saxon will take you on an unforgettable journey. This is truly the place you can call home. Let the Saxon treat you to personalised, discreet service and unparalleled South African hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxon Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
Hotel Saxon Boutique
Saxon Hotel, Villas And Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.