We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with old rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sandton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sandton to your Saves list
Hilton Sandton
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Milan
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great hotel with old rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hilton is a great hotel: very nice garden with pool, excellent breakfast, staff very helpful, great location in the middle of Sandton just a short walk from Mandela Square.
Unfortunately rooms are very old, some furniture is broken.
The restarurant is quite good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi K, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Mr Perrepo,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. Hilton prides itself with guests like you having the feeling of being at home while away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet our guests expectations.

Mr Perrepo, thank you for bringing to our attention the condition of our rooms and the furniture. I would like to inform you that two floors have been refurbished about two years ago and the 3rd is planned to be done in 2014.
Please accept our sincere apology for not being able to meet your expectation during your recent stay. I would highly appreciate if you would like to inform me about your future visit to Sandton, as it would be my pleasure to personally take care or your future booking.

Nevertheless, we are delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and I would like to thank you once more for your open and honest comments. Believe me it is feedback like yours which always makes all efforts truly worthwhile.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Hilton Sandton in the near future.

If I can be of any assistance for you in the meantime, please do contact me at any given time. It will be always a pleasure to assist.


Yours sincerely,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    233
    120
    62
    30
See reviews for
50
104
44
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here for business three times since August and I find it an excellent hotel - except for the Internet connection as mentioned by several other reviewers. In my case, when I had a room at the end of the property it could sometimes be unavailable in the room or drop in and out. I've read the manager's response about the proposed upgrade, the local team also told me that on site, but it is frustrating. However, the service in the exec lounge and restaurants more than makes up for this - it isn't really fair to single people out, but Elliot and Dyson in the lounge do a great job, with a smile and watching Sharon prepare sushi is amazing. Concierge team were also great, sorting out some weekend trips for me. Thanks to everyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi K, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Ms Zoe W,

Thank you very much for having chosen to stay at the Hilton Sandton once more, and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by you. Hilton prides itself with guests like you having the feeling of being at home while away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

With regards to the internet services, I am glad to be able to inform you that we have started our change over to the new internet provider by now. It will include an increasing of our bandwidth and complementary internet in our public area. We currently are expecting the changeover to be completed end of January 2014. Kindly bear with us a few months longer.

Ms Zoe W, we are delighted to see that otherwiese you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and I would like to thank you once more for bringing to our attention the great service you had received from our team members. It will be my absolute pleasure to share the same with the team accordingly. It is feedback like yours which always makes all efforts truly worthwhile.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Hilton Sandton in the near future.

If I can be of any assistance for you in the meantime, please do contact me at any given time. It will be always a pleasure to assist.

Kind regards

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I visited Hilton Sandton Johannesburg Holiday Inn (Airport). The experience was good.

I have stayed in various Hotel of Hilton and overall experience in Hilton Sandton was good.

The only challenge is if we can get microwave in room, that would be great.

Regards,
A

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi K, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Mr Aman L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by you, and this time with regards to the amazing stay you had with us in particular.

Hilton prides itself with guests like you having the feeling of being at home while away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

With regards to having a microwave in the room, I would like to inform that due to safety and security reason we do not allow any cooking in our rooms. I trust this finds your understanding.

Mr Aman L, we are delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. It is feedback like yours which always makes all efforts truly worthwhile.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Hilton Sandton in the near future.

If I can be of any assistance for you in the meantime, please do contact me at any given time. It will be always a pleasure to assist.

Kind regards,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hotel was lovely and the executive lounge was fabulous. Hotel upgraded our room :). Definitely pays to stay at Hilton properties to earn diamond status.
The hotel is in a nice area-and there is a frequent shuttle to Mandela Mall. Tour group picked us at the hotel for multiple adventures.. MoAfrika Tours. Discovered the tour group on the internet and it was excellent. Only superlatives can describe the hotel, their service, or the tour group.

Room Tip: Frequent Hilton properties, use their credit card, etc to earn elite status and nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi K, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mr/Ms Snoopuppy

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by you, and this time with regards to the good stay you had with us in particular.

Hilton prides itself with guests like you having the feeling of being at home while away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

Mr/Ms Snoopuppy, we are delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and I would like to thank you once more for bringing to our attention the great service you had received from our team members and it will be my absolute pleasure to share the same with the team accordingly. It is feedback like yours which always makes all efforts truly worthwhile.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Hilton Sandton in the near future.

If I can be of any assistance for you in the meantime, please do contact me at any given time. It will be always a pleasure to assist.

Kind regards,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISTANBUL, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I did a business trip to Johannesburg. Great location in Sandton , so close to Mandela Square. Free shuttle every 30 mins. As a gold membership, ex. lounge was perfect. At restaurant , available in different cuisines and so delicious. But service quality is not so good as the other Hilton hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi K, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Mr Mustafa G,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by you, and this time with regards to the amazing stay you had with us in particular.

Hilton prides itself with guests like you having the feeling of being at home while away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

Mr Mustafa G, we are delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. I would like to apologise for the service you received from our team members. Please be assured that your feedback has been taken very seriously, and hence has been shared immediately with our management and their teams concerned. Please be assured that corrective measures will be taken, in order to prevent any occurrence of such matters.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Hilton Sandton in the near future.

If I can be of any assistance for you in the meantime, please do contact me at any given time. It will be always a pleasure to assist.

Yours sincerely,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel proves that the Hilton Brand is consistent anywhere you travel. The staff was friendly. The hotel was nicely designed. I loved every minute of my stay there. It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel and I would return any day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi K, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Mr Arthur P,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by you, and this time with regards to the enjoyable stay you had with us in particular.

Hilton prides itself with guests like you having the feeling of being at home while away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

Dear Mr Arthur P, we are delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. And I would like to thank you once more for your open feedback. It is feedback like yours which always makes all efforts truly worthwhile.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Hilton Sandton in the near future.

If I can be of any assistance for you in the meantime, please do contact me at any given time. It will be always a pleasure to assist.

Yours sincerely,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

stayed here one night before moving onto Ulusaba. the hotel is in a safe area. they have a shuttle from the GAUTRAIN which is the easiest public transport to the hotel. we got a car to take us though. the hotel is nice, especially the pool area. very relaxing for a CBD hotel pool! it takes about a 5-10 minute (max) walk down 1 street to get to Nelson Mandela Square & Sandton Shops / convention center. or you can take the regular shuttle free. definitely liked the stay and will use it more often. got the upgrade being HHonors Gold. the only bad thing is they take 2000ZAR (200USD / night for a deposit! a bit rich when you traveling. a lot of hotels these days just do $1. maybe they should consider it

Room Tip: be an Hhonors member for free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi K, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Mr/Ms 808surf

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by you, and this time with regards to the enjoyable stay you had with us in particular.

Hilton prides itself with guests like you having the feeling of being at home while away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

Mr/Ms 808surf, I am not sure what transpired that the amount 2000ZAR was taken as a deposit. Our policy requires an amount of 500ZAR per night for incidentals plus your accommodation rate. You have my profound apology for any inconvenience caused, and please be assured that this matter will be addressed with our team.

We are delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. And I would like to thank you once more for your open feedback. It is feedback like yours which always makes all efforts truly worthwhile.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Hilton Sandton in the near future.

If I can be of any assistance for you in the meantime, please do contact me at any given time. It will be always a pleasure to assist.

Yours sincerely,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandton

Address: 138 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sandton 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hilton Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandton Hotel Sandton
Hilton International Sandton
Sandton Hilton International
Hilton Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.