We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sandton

Save Saved
You added Hilton Sandton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sandton
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale From ZAR 1668
Ranked #20 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel was very average compared to all the other hotels that we stayed in during our SA visit...
The location is very convenient with regular shuttles to Nielsen Mandela square

The room lighting needs to be more brighter. There was no turn down service..the staff could have been more courteous...overall an average stay

Ps Internet service is very expensive

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Ms. Pavitra_77,

First of all I would like to wish you a very Happy New Year.

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback with us and for having stayed with us during your recent visit to Sandton. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

I regret, that we were not able to exceed your expectation, especially in comparison to our competitors. However we have recognized your feedback regarding our room lighting and will definitely take this in consideration for our next room refurbishment soon to come.

You have my sincere apology for not having receive our turndown service and your comments about the quality of service by our team members has been shared and discussed across the board.

Ms. Ms. Pavitra_77, please be assured we do place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and we all do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future once more. By then we hopefully will have implemented complementary internet service in all our public areas as well.

In the meantime, I am sending you my best wishes for 2013, and if I can be of any assistance in the future, please do contact me at any given time.

Kind regards,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    191
    97
    50
    23
See reviews for
42
84
36
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very good location with easy acces to main sandton shopping malls ( village walk nearly completely closed ) as convention ctre. Service at reception is professional and fast , rooms are simple and not realy luxurious or nice but will just do. Hotel restaurant is average , lobby bar is ok . Pool is nice and gym is just good enough but with aging material. This is not the best hilton i have visited but service in this hotel is nice and friendly. Hotel is well taken care of and rooms are clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Mr. Charles W.,

I sincerely hope you had a wonderful Christmas Holiday and enjoyed a peaceful time with your family.

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

We are glad to note your overall satisfaction during your recent stay with us. Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

Regarding your feedback about our rooms and gym equipment, we do regret that we were not able to fully meet your expectations, however we have noted your comments positively and will definitely take them into consideration for our future refurbishment to come.

I would like to thank you as well for your kind comment regarding our team members and services and it was my upmost pleasure to share the same with our team.

Mr. Charles W., we place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sandton and in the near future.

In the meantime, I am wishing you a very happy and prosperous New Year, and if I can be of any assistance, please do contact me at any given time.

Kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very nice. The room is spacious and quiet. The bathroom is large and clean. Flat screen TV, coffee/tea station and iron in the room. King size bed is so very comfortable. This is a great place to stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Ms. Nicole L.,

I sincerely hope you had a wonderful Christmas Holiday and enjoyed a peaceful time with your family.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

We are glad to note your overall satisfaction during your recent stay with us. Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

Ms. Nicole L., we place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sandton and in the near future.

In the meantime, I am wishing you a very happy and prosperous New Year, and if I can be of any assistance, please do contact me at any given time.

Kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

HEIDI KLEINE-MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a good hotel for business travelers. The lobby is incredibly spacious. plenty of room for small parties to congregate in private. The level of service we received was stellar. The breakfast buffet was divine. We had the hibachi dinner and it was delectable. My only gripe was that the internet service paid per connecting device. Not per room. The hotel has a greta location near Nelson Mandela Square. Its close enough to walk but the hotel offers a free shuttle.

Room Tip: I saw 3 rooms and were all nice. SOme suites have a separate living room area. This will be desira...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Mr./Mrs. DandyMT,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

We are glad to note your overall satisfaction during your recent stay with us. Believe me, it is ratings such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile. I am most delighted to see that you took the opportunity to indulge yourself in our South African breakfast and the hibachi dinner which you found to be most stellar and divine and please rest assured that I have shared your compliments with our Executive Chef.

However I have noted as well your dissatisfaction of having to pay for the internet service per devise. I would like to advise you that this would be due to the service being provided by an outside company. However I am happy to inform you that we are in the final process of finalizing the facilities to offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our public areas. In addition I would like to inform you that if you are on our Hilton HHonors Loyalty Programme and have reached your Gold tier you are entitled to complimentary internet connection throughout our premises.

Mr. DandyMT, we place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sandton in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do contact me at any given time.

Kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

On checking out the hotel's systems were down so they charged my American Express and promised to email the itemized receipt through as soon as the system came back online. I left email details and made the journey home to London. No email was received and so I phoned them, the apologized and assured me that they would send it "now". None received. An email to the reservations team also prompted no response. Today I thought I'd call the GM to see if he could get this email to me but after three tries over a half hour period no one is answering there. Are South African hotels open on Sundays?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet L, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Mr. Jim D,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. As you are aware, we greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet our guests’ expectations.

I have noted your comments of not receiving your invoice upon check out due to our Property Management System being offline, and even after several attempts to the hotel directly, for which I sincerely apologise. Please rest assured that we have received your email via our Reservations Department and you should receive your invoice today.

Mr. Jim D, we place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sandton and any of our Hilton Worldwide Hotels in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely,


Kosi Reddy
Human Resources Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The arrival was not too great as we had to pull the luggages out of the car ourselves without help. There were 2 hotel staff at the door who just stood there chatting. Check in was efficient and the concierge was helpful in making reservations etc. The room had a faulty aircon which was fixed within 10 mins. It had a view of the roof top. Hairdryer cable was strangely tied to the working desk drawer. Gym was good sized with all appropriate equipment. There were no clear signs pointing the direction to the gym or pool. No staff at the gym in the entire time I was there about 830 am. Internet charges were high and so we skipped that. Good shuttle service till 10 pm to the mall. Our rates did not include breakfast despite the rather high price. I'm debating if I should give it an average or very good rating and I would have given a 3.5 if possible but really a rather average experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet L, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Mr/Ms. Singap0re Traveller,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us as it is only through comments such as yours that we are able to improve our standards and service delivery. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet our guests’ expectations.

I have noticed with great concern your feedback regarding not getting any porter assistance upon your arrival at the hotel, as well as your comments with regards to the faulty air-conditioner and I would like to extend my sincere apology for these occurrences. Please rest assured that this has been addressed with the relevant departments and corrective measures have been taken.

I am pleased to see that you were overall satisfied with the efficiency of your check in, the helpfulness of the concierge desk and our shuttle’s availability, which I have shared with our frontline team.

With regards to the hairdryer cable being tied to the desk drawer, I would like to advise that due to safety regulations we do not place our hairdryers in the bathroom, therefore it is placed in the desk drawer next to the mirror.

Thank you for your comments regarding the gym and pool signage, which is something that we will examine.

Further to your comments regarding your rate, I am unfortunately not able to comment, as I do not have sufficient information on your reservation.

Mr/Ms. Singap0re Traveller, we place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sandton and any of our Hilton Worldwide Hotels in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely,

Kim Bailey
Accommodation, Conference and Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed there for 3 days during late November 2012 for a business trip. Upon arrival around noon got room right away, and even got an upgrade to a suite with executive lounge access for being HH Gold member. Suite very nice, modern, clean. In the evening tried the EL, and must say this is one of the most modest executive lounges Hilton has out there, spread very very poor (around 7pm), lounge quite smallish... and choice of drinks very limited. During my time in lounge no one came to me and asked if I maybe want something. When trying to use the shower found out that warm water needs some 4, 5 minutes to arrive to my suite, so waited there in cold, wet shower for this ammount of time... During breakfast, which I had enyojed in big restaurant dowstairs, noticed that no one ever services desks until you actually leave, no one romeved empty plated and glasses... On the day I left my request for late check out denied, as hotel was full, but was allowed to wait in the lounge. Wiress a bit slowish... I believe that hotel is solid hard product, but the problem is soft product, especially staff, that are many, but not all too interested in actually doing their job.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonnairobi, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mr./Ms. Mirror74,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Hilton has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being a home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests expectations.

I am delighted to see that you were overall satisfied with your upgrade to the executive floor. However I have noted your comments regarding the spread being poor and the choice of drinks not being to your satisfaction for which I would like to sincerely apologize. While we will review alternative and better options, we have discussed your feedback about the missing and very slow service with all departments concerned, and corrective measures like proper scheduling and especially retraining of all team members, will be taken accordingly.

Regarding your comment about the unacceptable waiting time for hot water in your shower, kindly note that this was an isolated incident and I have shared your comments with our Chief Engineer accordingly.

Mr./Ms. Mirror74, we highly regret that we were not able to fully satisfy you as expected this time, and therefore I would like to convey once more my sincere apologies. Please be assured that we have taken your feedback very seriously and we always will place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton

In the meantime we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sandton and if I might be of any assistance in the future, please do contact me at any given time.

Kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Heidi Kleine-Moeller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandton

Address: 138 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sandton 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandton Hotel Sandton
Hilton International Sandton
Sandton Hilton International
Hilton Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.