We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Hydro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Capital Hydro to your Saves list
The Capital Hydro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Grayston Drive, Hydro Park | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Hydro Executive Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here last month for a week as I was in Jo'burg for work, I'd previously stayed at the Westpoint Apartments across the road and was not prepared to go back, and a girlfriend had recommended Hydro. So glad I took her suggestion! I turned up without any notice, and they were able to put me into a 2-bed apartment the next day on the same rate as a 1-bed, thanks!

The 2-bed apartment was lovely - clean, spacious, with a well-equipped kitchen incl washing machine and dryer, plenty of cooking utensils which I appreciated given I like to cook. The bed was very comfortable, enjoyed the deep bath in the ensuite and taking my coffee on the balcony each morning. Parking downstairs is free and abundant and supervised by Security, they give you a pass key to the entrance when you check-in so once you've got that it's hassle-free. A maid comes in and cleans on a daily basis, and even did the ironing for me if I left out some bucks. there's a small shopping centre 5 mins walk away, wtih a couple of supermarkets to choose from, as well as a few cafes and restaurants, so plenty of local choice. Also close to Mandela Square where there are piles of cafes, huge shopping centre open 7 days a week etc etc.Small gym downstairs has a coupla machines and weights, and didn't appear to be busy. The apartment was also nice and quiet, very little noise from the busy road, and zero noise from other apartments.

All in all, would definitely recommend this as a great stay in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

As a businessman, when I travel I want my accommodation to be sophisticated and convenient, which is exactly how I would describe Hydro. My room was spacious and had all the modern facilities I needed, including DSTV and a phone. I also had a private lift to my apartment which made a big difference. I made full use of the gym facilities and the hotel’s central location made getting to my conferences easy and stress-free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed one night in the two bedroom apt. The apartment was clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly. Very close to Mandela Square for goods hopping and eating options. I would recommend this apt to other families.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

On a recent holiday to Sandton, we decided to stay in the Hydro Executive Apartments. We had close family friends who had recommended the accommodation to us, so we decided to see what it had to offer. On arrival we were greeted by friendly and welcoming staff, and were quickly shown the way to our apartment. And although we’d heard about its high standard of luxury and attention to detail, we were pleasantly surprised further by its sophistication and grandeur. Needless to say, we accommodation as luxurious and prestigious as the Hydro Executive Apartments, it’s difficult to have any complaints; when on our next visit to Sandton, we will undoubtedly check ourselves back into this establishment.
While we had originally intended on spending most of our time exploring Sandton and its surrounding areas, we found it somewhat difficult to rush ourselves out of the apartments and facilities. However we returned home without a care in the world and can happily and confidently recommend the Hydro Executive Apartments to any businessman of holiday maker wishing to visit Sandton.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Staying in one of the luxurious Hydro Executive Apartments made my most recent business trip to Johannesburg something special. While my days were full with business meetings, I was able to simply kick back and relax in the evenings. I found the service to be impeccable and the staff to be hospitable and polite. The Apartment I was checked into offered me all the comforts of home with added luxury and the convenience of a hotel. Every morning I’d start the day with a session in the private gym before attending breakfast, while after a busy day and I’d unwind with a leisurely swim in the private swimming pool.
While home is undoubtedly where the heart is, thanks to the team and attention to detail at the Hydro Executive Apartments, I’m already looking forward to my next business trip to Sandton.

Room Tip: breakfast is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capital Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hydro

Address: 86 Grayston Drive, Hydro Park | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Hydro Executive Apartments)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Capital Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where you're right on the money. Stay where you count. All 56 apartments are spacious and stylishly decorated with impressive attention to detail - and guests also enjoy the use of a pool and barbeque area and a gym. The Capital Hydro is hip, happening and hassle free. It's the perfect four-star rated choice - smart, fully furnished simplicity. For overnight or long-term stays; for single guests, families or groups, all our guests at The Capital Hydro enjoy complimentary parking, complimentary laundry, complimentary scheduled transfers to Sandton and complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout their stay. If you want to be in the hub of where it's happening, then staying at The Capital Hydro is spot on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your The Capital Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Hydro Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Hydro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.