We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super mezze platter for four” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pappas on the Square

Pappas on the Square
Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton, South Africa
+27 11 884 9991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 133 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Greek, Grill
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Pretoria
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A super mezze platter for four”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

After visiting the JHB Art Fair we were looking for a good spot to have a cappuccino and maybe a bite to eat. Being forced to buy a book of meal tickets within the art fair seemed to us to be a rip off and so we went exploring, and I am glad that we did! Initially on entering Nelson Mandela Square were were spoilt for choice and had a battle to decide where to go. The masses of visitors at ground level made us head for the heights beyond the large statue to Pappas. We were made to feel very welcome and our drinks arrived rapidly. Although we weren't very hungry the mezze platter for 4 was perfect. The dolmades are probably the best that I can ever remember having and my wife was even impressed with the mini squid (whatever they are called) - she normally won't go anywhere near 'alternative' seafood.

I would very happily go back to Pappas when we are next in Sandton!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    77
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I enjoyed the 200g fillet steak with peppercorn sauce (and a dip of piri piri). It was very tender and cooked to perfection.

One of my party however had the ribeye and did not enjoy it as it was very thin but as I said, my meal was very good!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The place was nice and the service was ok. I was disappointed from the food. In my opinion and experience, the grilled gambas and calamari should not be served with sauce on it, which was very buttery and not so tasty. Most places in Johannesburg give you grilled gambas and calamari with sauces on the side, so you can taste if you like them and put them on if you wish. Also the vine leaves stuffed with rice and vegetables were not so good, the taste was too heavy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Venue perfect, starters always great, service fast. Had two starters rather than a main meal. As the restaurants go it is one of the best on the square.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mediteranian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Good value for money dishes, excellent quality with friendly service in a relaxed atmospere overlooking the square.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappas on the Square also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Pappas on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappas on the Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.