We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson Mandela Square

Nelson Mandela Square
1st Floor Medical Mews | Cnr Rivonia Road and 5th Street, Sandton, South Africa
+27(0)11 2176000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Sandton
Attraction details
Boston
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Vibrant Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

While staying in Melrose Arch I got 2 opportunities to visit Nelson Mandela Square. First trip was during the day to visit Renaissance Spa (great experience-see my review). After our spa treatment my friend and I walked around the Mall a bit, fun window and people watching on a Saturday. So vibrant and filled with folks going about their daily routine; lots of restaurants, all the usual name brand and local stores. We took some cute pictures with the Nelson Mandela statue. I wish I wasn’t in such a rush and could have spent more time exploring and actually shopping. Second trip was later that night, my Gate1 tour took us to dinner at Lekgoma restaurant in the square-food was lovely. We were able to take group pictures with the statue. There is definitely a different vibe at night, much more quite of course. I was fascinated with the name of a restaurant right across from the Statue called Montego Bay-the name of a city in my home country. I would say it is a must see or rather a place worth experiencing plus it’s just quite cool to see the Statue.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    329
    106
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton, South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Nelson Mandela Square is really something no visitor to Johannesburg should miss. It's easily accessible, has plenty of parking and is close to the Sandton Gautrain station (trains to Johannesburg, Pretoria and Oliver Tambo Airport). There's a choice from some 15-20 excellent restaurants (my favourite is Trumps Grill), an ice cream parlour, a small theatre, a piazza with fountains and many, many shops. The Square is connected to Sandton City, with its hundreds of shops and there must be at least 10 hotels of all types within walking distance, from the super luxury Michaelangelo to the 'hotel in a garden', the Balalaika.
It's a place to relax, hang out, shop, eat and enjoy one of the many concerts and events that are held there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,093 reviews 1,093 reviews
737 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
740 helpful votes 740 helpful votes
“Magnificent and vibrant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Nelson Mandela Square is a genuine square, surrounded on all sides by tall buildings. Restaurants line the square and a giant statue of the man himself dominates one end. The square includes an extensive shopping mall at the end, so the area provides a great combination of tourist attraction, shopping experience and dining destination.
Nelson Mandela Square is a great attraction and is the way South Africa should be portrayed - a fun and vibrant (and safe!) place full of friendly people, enjoying nice food, great shopping and some awesome photo opportunities (day and night) while also a great memorial. Hopefully Mandela Square embodies the future for South Africa. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramrod Key, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very Nice Mall & Tribute to Nelson Mandela”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I had to the morning off from work before catching a flight and decided to walk to Nelson Mandela Square. It was very nice and had a lot to offer including good food, gelatos, good shopping and excellent photo opportunities.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beauty of Mandela Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Its beautiful, with Mandela's statue towering over the square, the history and unique architecture of the shopping mall is just spectacular....Would go back any day. Beautiful area to take memorable pictures :)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson Mandela Square also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Nelson Mandela Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelson Mandela Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.