We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Joburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Signature

Signature
Morningside Shopping Centre, Sandton, South Africa
+ 27 (0) 87 940 3880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 120 Restaurants in Sandton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best place in Joburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I had been meaning to go to Signature for the last few months. We finally got around to it last night. WOW. Great service, lovely view, fantastic food and oh my gosh the creme brûlée is deathly good. Love this place so much we are going back tonight!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    38
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Food not so great any more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We used to be regular patrons here, but after our last visit we were very disappointed with quality of the food. They had excellent beef ribs which they removed from the menu and now they only have the standard pork ribs you can get at any restaurant and it also tasted like any other restaurant's ribs. They had the best bouillabaisse but I can not say this anymore. It may be a hit and miss with this restaurant, but it is not worth taking the risk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Beautiful view very fancy food wont recommend the sardines but the meat dishes are great. The waiters are great and service is very efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not as good as it should be...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

With visiting friends on AUD, this seemed like a nice place for their last night in Africa (a whole 7 weeks). We were greeted with a sour look, despite having a booking, although were seated promptly. The wait staff were good maybe a little too efficient, the waiter was already grabbing the finished plate whilst the fork was still in my mouth.

The entree, Venison Carpaccio was lovely. The mains, Signature trio seemed like all the meat had been pre-cooked and was sitting in a bae marie. My friends enjoyed the Venison trio, although they were specifically looking for game. The deserts again were lovely.

It looks like a lively place, and maybe with better food choices this would get a higher rating. But for a place like this I would expect more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening for meat eaters and vegetarians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have not been to signature for some time and had forgotten what an elegant and fun dinning experience it always was. The music was pitched just right, there was confusion on my starter and it was sorted out with a blink of an eye. What a pleasant evening.
We had a girls night out and really enjoyed ourselves.

Areas of improvement could be the taste of my main which was the trio signature dish. Looked amazing but pork could have been softer and duck should have had more favour. The starter made up for everything and my veggie friend was in heaven which was a real treat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signature also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Signature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Signature, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.