We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central safe location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strathavon Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Strathavon Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Strathavon Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Strathavon Bed & Breakfast
34 Dion Close | Sandown Estates, Sandton, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 63 Sandton B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great central safe location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is central, affordable, friendly, safe and clean. What else could you ask for. There is a pool, Internet, breakfast and they will even help with meals if requested. I will definately recommend them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed here twice and each time I found the service amazing. Nancy and her husband, Greg, went out of their way to assist me with transport arrangements and were so helpful and friendly. The hotel is situated close to Sandton City and for me that was a huge plus. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful too. I would definitely recommend them to anyone needing accommodation in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton Central
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A very warm and friendly atmosphere. Staff and owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome and provide a home from home feel. Strathavon is very central to all your needs. I recommend this Bed and Breakfast to families as well as business travellers


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton Central
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The rooms were clean and neat and in a lovely setting. Everything was perfect, only the bath was a bit small ! Breakfast was appetising and Buddy the dog made it home from home in an friendly family environment !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton Central
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very conviniently located with a home away from home feeling. Excellent accommodation and lovely staff who are always willing to accommodate your needs. Nestled in a lovely established garden with a relaxing feeling.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Nancy made me feel so welcomed and at home while I was in Joburg for business. She even offered to drop me off at meeting as the offices were around the corner from the guest house. Her staff are also very friendly and accomodating. It was such a pleasure to stay there and I will definitely do so again in the future

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I travel for business to JHB once a month and had been looking to find a B&B in the Sandton area for a while and when I did find one, they were either the same price as a hotel or not a convenient location. I am so relieved that my search is over ! I love Strathavon B&B as it's location is perfect for me (600m from my office) and fits perfectly in budget so I never need to stress. Nancy is so accomodating and her staff are so polite and professional. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and immaculately clean. I appreciate that my car is behind secure gates and never have to worry about my safety. The suburb is peacefull and I now look forward to my trips away from home.

Room Tip: The rose room is closer to the car park, so I would advise selecting another room if available to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Strathavon Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathavon Bed & Breakfast

Address: 34 Dion Close | Sandown Estates, Sandton, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 2004, this well-appointed Guest House is a haven in the busy Sandton Metropolis. It is just a short 5-minute drive from Sandton City. Strathavon Guest House is easily accessible via either the M1 motorway, the main link between Johannesburg and Pretoria or the N3 National Highway. OR Tambo International is approximately a half hour drive away. Willow Cottage (Max Occupancy 2 Adults): Willow Cottage is a private, fully contained, self-catering unit. Willow Cottage is complete with a full kitchen and open plan compact lounge area. There is a large master bedroom. The compact bathroom offers a shower, toilet and washbasin. Tambotie Suite (Max Occupancy 2 Adults): This is a beautiful large master bedroom, situated on the ground floor overlooking the gardens and fountain. The room has two single beds pushed together to make a king size bed. There is a large full bathroom en-suite. The Jacaranda Suite (Max Occupancy 2 Adults): The suite has a good sized bathroom with full shower and bath. The suite has its own television. Tea and coffee making facilities are available in the suite. The room has two single beds pushed together to make a king size bed. The Maroela Room (Max Occupancy 2 Adults): Is a comfortable and compact downstairs unit. The room furnished with a double bed. The bathroom is made up of a shower, toilet and washbasin. There is a television in the room, as well as facilities to make tea or coffee. This is a perfect room for the overnight visitor. The Fern Room (Max Occupancy 2 Adults): Is a comfortable and compact downstairs unit with an outside covered patio. There is a television, and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom is made up of a corner bath, shower, toilet and washbasin. The Rose Room (Max Occupancy 1 Adult): The Rose Room is the smallest unit out of six units offered at Strathavon. This budget room is not only affordable, but offers the overnight guest all that they require. The single bed in the room is accompanied by a small desk/dressing table. There is television, and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom is made up of a shower, toilet and washbasin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Strathavon Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathavon Bed & Breakfast Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathavon Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.