We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thatchfoord Lodge

Save Saved
You added Thatchfoord Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thatchfoord Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   53 Crassula Avenue | Morningside Manor, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 63 Sandton B&B and Inns
Schwerin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in Thatchfoord Lodge during a business trip to Johannesburg for one week. Only 45 minutes from the international airport and 20 minutes from the Gallagher Convention Center where we participated in an exhibition. Beautiful and clean rooms and a location which makes you forget that you are in a big city. In this lodge you feel as if you are directly in nature. Especially the Wedding Suite with a big room and a balcony is so nice. The atmosphere is like at home. Joyce and Pearl, the ladies who are running this lodge, are very warm hearted and are allways trying to realize any of your wishes. The home cooked food is very tastefull. Whenever I will come back to Joburg I definitely will book this logde. Thanks so much to Joyce and Pearl.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma32746, Manager at Thatchfoord Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for the review it is appreciated, we loved having you we really strive to make our guests feel welcome. Guests like you that shows appreciation makes us feel that we are on the right track. Hope to see you soon may you both have a awesome weekend

Warmest Regards
Pearl/Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
19
7
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I spent the first part of our anniversary vacation at Thatchfoord Lodge. I knew I wanted to spend our time in the Willows Suite. It was perfect for us. A huge room with our own balcony and extra large tub was perfect. What made our stay special was the hospitality of Joyce and Pearl. They made our stay special, as if we were staying at a friend's house and their breakfast is a wonderful start of a busy stay.
I work for a very large luxury travel agency and I get to spend room nights at very large, well known, luxury properties. In my job we don't get to experience b and b's. Our stay at Thatchfoord Lodge gave me a better experience than a lot of the luxury hotels that we are accustomed to.

Thank you Pearl, Joyce, and the rest of the staff.

Winston T

Room Tip: The Willows Suite is the best room type on the property with its own sit down balcony, sliding door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma32746, Manager at Thatchfoord Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for the wonderful review, we loved having you and your wife. We really strive to make our guests feel welcome. Hope to see you again.

Warmest Regards
Pearl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Joyce and Pearl for making me feel at home. Thatchfoord is a home away from home, serene sounds of the stream that flows bye and all the birds chirping away as they go about their business undisturbed, just like they would in a forest. Peaceful setting.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma32746, Manager at Thatchfoord Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Good morning,

We love having you, we really strive to make each and every guest stay memorable.
All the thank you's from you show that we are doing just that.

Warmest Regards
Pearl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I needed to arrange a large accomodation set up for my whole family and friends for my upcoming wedding in south Africa, this included my mum and dad and uncle and sisters and in laws... So lots of adults all with different requirements... I found thatchfoord lodge and could not have been happier. From the moment I first contacted them via email, they made me feel welcome and showed great interest in my guests and our Eason for visiting, they assisted with a group discount plus so much more I regards to advice for tours and transfers.... Once we turned up our expectations were far exceeded by the staff. Pearl and Joyce make you feel like you are going to stay at a frien house the entire time... They just happen to be friends that live in a glorious house overlooking a great river that gives you a totally serene and peaceful feeling in the heart of the jungle walled building on joburg... This place was delightful the rooms immaculate the service was just perfect, while still giving you loads of space they attend to your needs, they provided us complimentary champagne and cheese on arrival to celebrate our upcoming wedding, they responded to late night meal requests that matched out jet lagged bellies... Seriously they just looked after us the old fashioned way, we will definitely stay again and I can't recommend highly enough this place to any travelers looking to stay over in joburg either for a night or longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma32746, Manager at Thatchfoord Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Good morning All,

It was awesome having you and all the family. We strive to make everyone stay memorable.
Hopefully all the stress is over with meeting the new family and the wedding. We wish you
all the best as a couple

Warmest Regards
Pearl/Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved this place and enjoyed a lazy day lounging by the pool over the weekend when the lodge was far from busy. We had the honeymoon suite which was called willows which was just wonderful. Lots of little touches that shows the owner and manager have a thoughtful and generous approach. We booked last minutes and wanted to stay longer. Only improvements would be fresh coffee in the room like many of the lodges on the cape, but apart from this it is hard to fault.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma32746, Manager at Thatchfoord Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for your review, we loved having you here and appreciated your observation we
will definately implement it as we feel it will add value. Look forward to see you in the future

Warmest Regards
Pearl/Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I spent few weeks in thatchfoord, every thing was very nice with excelent service, in this lodge you feel like you are with your family for that I would like to thanks all staffs, specially pearl and his daughter , Elisa, all housekeeping ladies and the Owner.

Room Tip: Room in the 1st floor with the view on the garden and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Is very nice place to stay,great food,very nice service,the room was great ,clean.Wifi is free.
It as a nice river with a beautiful green area.

Thank you all for your great service and i will be back soon.

Room Tip: Chose the garden room or top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma32746, Owner at Thatchfoord Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Good evening Jose,

Thankyou very much for your positive response.We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again in a few weeks time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thatchfoord Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchfoord Lodge

Address: 53 Crassula Avenue | Morningside Manor, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchfoord Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Thatchfoord Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchfoord Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thatchfoord Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.