We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend and quiet stay in Rivonia/Sandton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thatchfoord Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thatchfoord Lodge to your Saves list
Thatchfoord Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   53 Crassula Avenue | Morningside Manor, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 67 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Recommend and quiet stay in Rivonia/Sandton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Joyce and Pearl run a great lodge. If you are looking for an upmarket, safe and quiet stay this is a perfect place. The lodge is based in a gated neighbourhood, near MorningSide/Rivonia/Sandton. It is best to have a car to go and explore the area.
The building and rooms have thatched roofs which gives the place a great atmosphere. Most rooms are situated around a small pool.
Steven helps out the owners and in my case for some money he cleaned my car, that I had to return at the airport. Very nice!
If needed a baby cot or an extra bed are provided!
I stayed one night with my friend and her baby and one night on my own.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
26
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is our second stay here. The decor is different but the welcome is still the same: warm and from the heart. Joyce and Pearl still remember our likes and dislikes. Irreproachable cleanliness and organisation. This place is so peaceful and you feel so relaxed. I will recommend the Thatchfoord Lodge anytime. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: The rooms with a view on the pool and the river are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

It is a very quiet place, with a very pleasant outside, and the nicest people in the entire South Africa. They not only give us accommodation, they take care of us. It has become my favorite place to stay in South Africa.

Room Tip: Rooms the give you access to the outside, pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libreville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Me and my kids found a nice place to stay, we felt like home in the heart of Sandton. So far from Gabon, we found heartful and warm welcome, advices, help and disponibility.
We felt like in countryside with the river just here and at 5 minutes drive from Sandton City and Mandela Square. Definitely, I will come back. Pearl, Joyce and their staff were adorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are adequate but definitely not luxury. Friendly staff but poor facilities in an establishment that could do with a makeover. I feel there are better establishments that offer value for money. Nearby there were lodges and guest houses that had better facilities and offered special rates at weekends in line with most Hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is an excellent option in Johannesburg. It is in the Morningside area which is an upscale community near Sandton. It is super safe, but most importantly you get 5-star service. The staff are so wonderful -nice, personable, good conversation, and just plain old fashioned good people. The river behind the property is accessible for private romantic walks. The only knock is that it is older. So if you're a high tech freak, this will not be your type of place. However, if you're "human", enjoy people and want to get a great deal, this is it! Plus free Internet...the big hotels are making that more difficult these days. Come down off of your high horse and really relax and get away from it all. I would give them a perfect score, but some of the amenities are really old like separate hot and cold spickets on the faucet. So, I didn't want anyone to get the room which we had and think who thinks this is perfect? Realistically though - for what you pay, this is way above and beyond perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I fly up to Johannesburg every month for business and have been staying regularly at Thatchfoord Lodge since early 2012.

The staff are fantastic, welcoming and are always exceptionally accommodating to every need. The guest house is beautifully appointed and all the rooms I have ever stayed in have been comfortable with all the business amenities one would need (free WIFI, a writing desk etc)

My breakfasts are fantastic - a great variety of hot and cold food and they serve from 615am - great for when you've got an early start in Johannesburg.

There's also plenty of parking and it's safe and secure.

Thatchfoord Lodge is also well located, close to the Sandton and Rivonia CBD's and within walking distance to the Morning Glen Shopping Centre.

What I love most about Thatchfoord Lodge is the value for money. It's a great four star guest house at an affordable rate! A warm and welcoming home away from home!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
3.3 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
#1 of 48 in Sandton
5.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
2.9 mi away
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
0.8 mi away
Gallo Manor Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchfoord Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchfoord Lodge

Address: 53 Crassula Avenue | Morningside Manor, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchfoord Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Thatchfoord Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchfoord Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thatchfoord Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.