We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and hotel services - gym and excellent room service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Rivonia Road & West Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good location and hotel services - gym and excellent room service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Hotel well located, just opposite the Gautrain (modern tube train). The rooms were very nice with a good functioning bathroom (excellent shower). There is a gym on the 10th floor with weights, three treadmills, several step machines and exercise bikes - it is open 24 hours which was great. I tried the room service three times and the food was excellent - I waited only some 20 minutes for most orders. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only hitch was that my colleague and myself had asked for our rooms earlier (and paid for an extra night) - and the hotel was not aware of this even if it was written on our reservation confirmation. My colleague had to wait sometime for her room - mine was ready as I arrived after my colleague (who had alerted them I was coming early..)

Room Tip: If you want an early room, check and double-check with hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear GON_11,

Thank you very much for the great 4 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

We are really pleased that you found the location of the hotel excellent, being one of the best in Sandton with easy access to the Gautrain and all the major shopping centres. We strive on 100% satisfaction and we are happy that we exceeded your expectations during your stay.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused upon check-in. This will be brought up with the head of department to be investigated so that this does not happen again in the future.

Our Executive Chef Stuart Cason will be very pleased to hear that you had a great dining experience, I will be sure to pass your message of compliments to him and the entire restaurant team. On your return I recommend coming for dinner. The Central One Restaurant offers a uniquely refined selection of cuisine using the freshest ingredients which results in a memorable dining experience.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.


Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    189
    55
    17
    25
See reviews for
39
72
35
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Congratulation for all and i recomend to my friends because the localizationis very good. The front atendents are friendlys patients. I am very proud in recomended. Congratulation for all and i recomend to my friends because the localizationis very good. The front atendents are friendlys patients. I am very proud in recomended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Laurindo L,

Thank you very much for the excellent review on Trip Advisor, it is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

We strive on 100% satisfaction and we are happy that we exceeded your expectations during your stay - I will make sure to pass your message of compliments onto the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

We are really pleased that you found the location of the hotel excellent and delighted that you would recommend us; being one of the best in Sandton with easy access to the Gautrain and all the major shopping centres.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I'd gladly recommend Gautrain Radisson to anyone due to it's proximity to both Gautrain and Nelson Mandela Square,it's so convenient. The hotel service was marvelous, the internet was quite fast and the rooms were neat. I also liked the idea of free shuttles between the hotel and Nelson Mandela Square, with the buses coming every 15 minutes. Me and my girlfriend enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Kevin M,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your home away from home on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are really pleased that you found the location of the hotel excellent, being the most centrally located hotel in Sandton does provide certain perks and we are happy that you took advantage of our free shuttle to explore the surrounding Sandton area.

We are delighted that you would recommend us to friends and family. We strive on 100% satisfaction and we are happy that we exceeded your expectations during your stay - I will make sure to pass your message of compliments onto the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The hotel staff were helpful at check-in. The garage parking situation is a bit complicated as you have to give in your parking ticket and get a new one each time you want to go out in your car.
The hotel is central with most of your shopping needs met nearby. The rooms are clean and large enough. Our bedroom had both a shower and a bath - the shower design was very clever and large enough for 2 people to shower at the same time. Most guests seemed to be single businessmen or couples using the hotel as an overnight stop on vacation. The bar service was a little slow and when we wanted to go to our room we couldn't find any staff to ring up our bill. The beds are excellent quality and a good nights sleep is assured. Allow enough time for checkout as this can be very long winded. I would recommend this hotel as a good, clean overnight stop.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Travelisourhobby,

Thank you very much for the great 4 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really positive to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests from our rooms to our slick and stylish Central One Bar & Restaurant. I will make sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel team.

I have noted your concerns with regards to the bar service being on the slow side, I will let our restaurant manager know so that training can be put into place to increase service speed.

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Radisson Blu in Sandton was a very comfortable and pleasant hotel. The hotel is in a great location and very close to Sandton City, shops and other facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear LiquidAdvisor,

Thank you very much for the excellent 5 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

We are really pleased that you found the location of the hotel excellent, being the most centrally located hotel in Sandton does provide certain perks and we recommend that you take advantage of our free shuttle to explore the surrounding Sandton area on your next trip.

We strive on 100% satisfaction and we are happy that we exceeded your expectations during your stay - I will make sure to pass your message of compliments onto the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Location of this hotel is excellent. I used the Gautrain from ORTIA which takes only 15 minutes. The Sandton Station is about 100m walk across the intersection from the hotel and easy to manage with a single piece of luggage. The check in staff appeared a bit inexperienced and could not trace my booking despite having the reference printed on the confirmation email. Instead of telling me this she came up with a story that the room was not ready. This was obviously a ploy to buy some time to resolve the issue however was not really believable at 6:00pm. Another staff member came to the rescue and quickly sorted it out. After that initial hiccup everything went well.

The room was excellent with great facilities including an espresso machine and rain shower. The bed was very comfortable with good quality linen so a great nights sleep was had after a long flight.

I did not eat in the hotel but chose to walk across to Sandton City with which I am very familiar. There are a variety of restaurants there. On the way back I took the hotel shuttle as by then it was quite late and very dark. The driver was excellent. Checkout the next morning was very efficiently handled so overall a great experience.

The Gautrain is quite expensive and has limited hours of operation but this is offset by not having to pay a premium rate at an airport hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Martin 154000,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your home away from home on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our location is one of the best in Sandton with easy access to the Gautrain and all the major shopping centres. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests from our rooms to our slick and stylish Central One Bar & Restaurant.

We do apologize for the service issues you experienced on check-in. This has been noted and will be brought up with the head of department to ensure that this does not happen to future guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Radisson Gautrain Hotel shines predominantly because of the excellent location - in the centre of Sandton, across the road from the Gautrain Station and above the Slow Lounge (a phenomenal members-only business venue on the ground floor). Staying upstairs at the Radisson allows me to start early and finish late - getting the best efficiencies out of an overnight stay. I also often don't need to rent a car!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Tracey M,

Thank you very much for the excellent review on Trip Advisor, it is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our location is one of the best in Sandton with easy access to the Gautrain and all the major shopping centres. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests from our rooms to our slick and stylish Central One Bar & Restaurant.

We will be sure to pass your compliments on to the rest of the team.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Address: Corner of Rivonia Road & West Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 216 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.