We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for an overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Rivonia Road & West Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good option for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the Gautrain Station, which means you get to/from the airport in 15mins. A great option for an overnight stay if you don't want to stay in the airport's hotels. Mandela Square with restaurants and shopping mall is nearby and the hotel offers free shuttle. The hotel is very modern but nothing to write home about. Good selection on cable channels for sports fans. Just make sure you review your bill at checkout as we were charged for parking, although we arrived by subway. I would stay again for a 1 night layover.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg.

We would like to apologize for the misunderstanding on check out with regards to parking, this has been addressed and we can ensure you that this will not happen again.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary services which we offer to all our guests as well as that you would be very happy to stay with us on your next visit to Johannesburg, we really look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    189
    55
    17
    25
See reviews for
39
72
35
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

As frequently commented, incredibly convenient if you take the fast train from the airport. Hang on to your Gold Card train ticket as it gets you 10% discount on food and drinks at the hotel. Very well thought out hotel - great rain showers, superb bed, and - if you're into football (soccer) - you won't be disappointed as there's UK Premier League, and Italian/Spanish league available. The sports bar is good. Free wifi. Great buffet breakfast including eggs cooked to order. Recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg as well as taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed some of the benefits which we offer the the Gautrain Gold Card holders.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have been seconded to Sandton for the last 6 months and stayed with the Radisson almost every week. The team became like family which made the time away from home a lot more bearable. The service is always friendly across the board and you are always met with a smile. The front desk is friendly and efficient. They made an effort to always giving me the best room possible (not that there are any bad rooms). The restaurant has great variety with friendly service. Being a regular I was greeted by name and most of the team knew my preferences. The cleaning staff is considerate and friendly, giving me a extra bedtime chocolate for the kids at home. I am now based back in my hometown and will miss my friends at the Radisson.

Room Tip: At the moment ask for rooms facing the street as they are building next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your hotel of choice for all your visits to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to compliment us here on Trip Advisor.

We are very sad to hear that you will not be frequenting Johannesburg anymore, we will certainly miss you here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

I will make sure to pass all your compliments and best wishes to all the staff at the Hotel.

Hopefully we will see you again in the near future, even if it is not for business please pop in and visit us for a coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The location is at one of the busiest junctions and is in the hard of sandton city. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast buffet is elaborate. It just doesnt end.

Sadly they dont serve Pancakes or waffles and are little not clear how to work up eggs. I have had the worst omelette of my life, there. The chef presents the same menu everyday though he claims to be a masterchef.

One big caveat with the business rooms: They have glass bathrooms with no curtain. How do you expect two business people to stay in this room. I would have bath before the other one got up and then leave the room for him. What were you thinking, Radisson?

Room Tip: Go for the road view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your hotel choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also telling us about your experience on Trip Advisor.

We have passed your message to our Executive Chef with regards to pancakes and waffles and he will see if there is a way that he can implement this onto the breakfast buffet.

With regards to glass shower, we do offer covers for them if required, please call our One Touch service on your next visit and we will happily install it for you.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was advised by friend to stay in Sandton area and was glad that I chose this hotel. You cannot find another hotel situated nearer to the Gautrain station. It is located diagonally opposite the station.

Train ticket costs 137 Rands per person if you are traveling from the OR Tambo International Airport. 3 stations and only takes approximately 15 minutes to reach the hotel.

Hotel offers free shuttle service to Sandton City Mall and Nelson Mandela Square. Room is comfortable and new. Wi-fi connection in the room is good. I particularly like the bathroom. Everything is from Grohe.

I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to say thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all your expectations were met by our friendly staff.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to us in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzini, Swaziland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very nice hotel and well located. It is close to Gautrain station, Sandton Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square.Nice well designed rooms. We ate breakfast on the last day, it was great. The only let down is the service, it is not consistence, it depends on who you are dealing with. I also liked the complimentary magazines and the internet. Otherwise this is a great hotel, I recommend it.

Room Tip: 1. Internet signal is weak in some rooms, ask for a room with strong signals. 2. Parking is charged...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg as well as telling us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry to hear that the consistency of our service did not meet your standards, we have addressed this and assure you that it will not be a challenge on your next visit.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities as well as our complimentary magazines and internet, we strive to always stay ahead when it comes to industry trends.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stay in this hotel every time I stop in RSA. It is convenient, clean and relatively central in your business is in Sandton. It is also conveniently located close to the hotel, in a "safe" part of town

The rooms are functional, and the hotel serves its basic purpose. But don't expect a great service, nor anything other than what a Radisson Blu has to offer: a place to lay your luggage and head for the night.

On a plus side, the breakfast is not too bad, and they have a good selection of wines for dinner...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for once again selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel on your recent visit to Johannesburg as well as for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry to hear that our service standards did not meet your expectations, we have made this our focus and will restore the great service that our Hotel is known for.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to South Africa with great service and a complete satisfactory stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Address: Corner of Rivonia Road & West Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 216 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.