We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Rivonia Road & West Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Bangalore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Very good business amenities - nice clean room, free Internet and spacious work desk. The staff is very courteous & eager to help. I initially got a room ( 5th floor) overlooking a construction site and was woken up by building sounds at 7 am - look out for this. The hotel was tight on availability but they switched me to a junior suite on the 8th floor, this was done as we were a large party & had booked 35 rooms. The breakfast buffet is a large spread with a variety of hot & cold options. The only thing I would like improved is more free mineral water, the hotel provides minuscule bottles but the staff is willing to provide more on request. Exercise room is adequate with three treadmills, two ellipticals, three cycles and free weights. Strangely they have two bench press stations but no other exercise machines.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    237
    66
    22
    31
See reviews for
49
99
43
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I booked on line as I was in town for one night only. The hotel is right across the Sandton Gautrain station and you can walk to and from the station. The check in was quick, efficient and friendly. The rooms as spacious and the showers are stunning with good water pressure. The chocolate on the pillow was also a nice touch.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent only 1 day (my husband's birthday) in town so we decided to make the best out of it and asked for a 5h guided tour in the city. Agreed with the concierge to pay 150USD. Concierge arranged us a car ....turned out, his shady friend, who showed up with a 20yearold car that didnt have rearview mirror and its windscreen was broken!
Not only our safety, but this guy had no idea about the city and hardly said anything to us during the whole time just cruising around the city. He turned on the music in the car to entertain us ! I had to tell him to turn it down so as least I could talk to my husband.
Instead of 5h he dropped us off after 3h demanding his 150USD for the services he provided! When we gave him 100USD and told him how disappointed we were he started to complain that from this amount he cant give "the cut" to hotel concierge!!!!
We complained to the duty manager right away, the hotel manager later on and all we got is a sorry, we will investigate.....more than a month ago!
Honestly....how long does it take to find a friend of your stuff and report both to the police ? And what kind of hotel accepts this illegal work ?
Looks like this hotel got a pretty irresponsible management and even when they are given the facts to help them .....they chose to go and enjoy their holidays!!!
Im just glad nothing happened to us in that car ....

Room Tip: unfortunately not in this hotel, not with this service.... the hotel is in the middle of nothing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Traveler2628
We appreciate that Tripadvisor is a forum to share experiences with fellow travelers and is also used by this hotel as a tool to enhance our guest satisfaction. I do appreciate that you reported your problems/incident to management and via our guest survey. As responded, the incident was being investigated and the required measures would be taken. It is unfortunate that the time frame for the aforementioned was longer than anticipated, but was needed to ensure no unfair labor practice. My sincere apology for the lack of communication from the hotel during my absence, this is a matter that I will address with those involved.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I spent around 10 days in the hotel. I took a business room at that time, it was spacious and very good. The hotel wall is all glass so I had amazing view over Sandton. The room was very well equiped with all the needed and unneeded things - i just felt home. The only thing i did not like was hat they had a sort of night club under the hotel, so it is very noisy on Friday nights specially. Location of the hotel is excellent and it is around 30 meters away from the Gautrain station so this is very helpful if you think about taking the traing from / to the airport. Their prices are quite high.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Khalifa85
Thank you for taking the time to write a response regarding your stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and the location along with many fellow reviewers. Our apology for the discomfort experienced from the venue below the hotel. This venue is a coffee shop in the retail area and they are a tenant in the building, same as the hotel. We will however approach the tenant and body corporate directly regarding this matter and hopefully prevent disturbance to our guest.
Kind Regards
Bernard D Thomas
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Those business travellers to JHB will love this hotel. The Guatrain is such a PLEASURE if you have business meetings in Sandton. AND right accross the road from the Guatrain station - is the Radisson if you have to stay over for the night. The hotel is very comfortable- the rooms are spacious - stunning shower. Check in is quick - the staff are very friendly. The only thing that is going to sting you is the food and beverage prices - they are very very expensive- paying R130 for a burger is a bit steep. The restuarant is very good though.

Room Tip: You can ask for a smoking room if you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have stayed here on a number of occasions and have always enjoyed the stay and felt that it provided well for my needs.

For the business person there are all the amenities required. Rooms are very good with good soundproofing, good bathrooms and great desk area. Wireless works very well with multiple devices and is free if you are there on a business tariff.

Restaurant and bar are more than adequate, gym is very functional with new equipment. Staff are very friendly.

It's greatest asset is being 200 ft from the Gautrain station and 3 mins walk from Mandela Square

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very nice modern hotel in the centre of Sandton and right next to the Gautrain station. Has got a very nice restaurant, if you don't feel like going out for dinner. Nice bar. Drinks are a bit over-priced though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel when you visited Johannesburg.

We would like to apologies for the delay in response to your Trip Advisor review, we have just recently changed team and we have new management as well as hotel practices in place.

When you visit Johannesburg again please use the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and come and experience what "Yes I Can" service is really about.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Address: Corner of Rivonia Road & West Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 220 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.