We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn Sandton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Inn Sandton to your Saves list
Park Inn Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Katherine Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

well located in Sandton with a shuttle. Room a bit on the small side but clean. We held a conference here and the conference facilities were great. Shuttle helped the other guests who needed shopping etc

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, General Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Rohan2109,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Park Inn Sandton Hotel. We are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a level of comfort that was above your expectations.

I have commended all our staff member’s for making your stay with us very pleasant and for their ‘Yes I Can’ attitude, as we do our best to create a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere for all our guests.

We appreciate your reference to complimentary shuttle service that available from the Park Inn Sandton Hotel to Sandton City Shopping Centre & Gautrain Station. We are glad that you utilized and enjoyed the service that you received.

We appreciate your reference to the cleanliness of your room. Our entire housekeeping team here at the Park Inn Sandton does their best to prepare our rooms to our guests’ satisfaction.

We especially enjoyed hearing your thoughts on our conferencing facilities that was used your group, we are pleased that we were able to provide you with a level of service that made your event extra special.

On behalf of our entire Hospitality Team here at the Park Inn Sandton, we would like to thank you for making us your "Home Away From Home" in Johannesburg, and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back.


Sincerely,

Rick Berendsen
General Manager
Park Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    101
    64
    23
    16
See reviews for
14
43
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Super hotel - and inexpensive - bang in the centre of Joburg. Rooms are small - but clean and fresh. The staff is wonderful, always smiling and happy to go the extra mile for you. The food in general and the breakfast in particular is superb. Hotel has a wifi in the rooms and common areas and shuttle to the big shopping centers as complementary. what more can u ask for.

Room Tip: try and ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, General Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear imranbaig,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Park Inn Sandton Hotel. We are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a level of comfort that was above your expectations.

I have commended all our staff member’s for making your stay with us very pleasant and for their ‘Yes I Can’ attitude, as we do our best to create a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere for all our guests.

We appreciated your mention of the complimentary shuttle service that is available from the Park Inn Sandton Hotel to Sandton City Shopping Centre. We are glad that you utilized and enjoyed the service that you received.

From the food and beverage department we thank you for the positive feedback on our food. We are glad that the meals were to your satisfaction.

We also appreciated your reference to the cleanliness of your room. Our the entire housekeeping team we were pleased to hear that the rooms was made up to your satisfaction.

We enjoyed reading your reference to the WIFI available at our Hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed this free service.

On behalf of our entire Hospitality Team here at the Park Inn Sandton, we would like to thank you for making us your "Home Away From Home" in Johannesburg, and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back.


Sincerely,

Rick Berendsen
General Manager
Park Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights, business trip. Great affordable stay. Room was spotless and met all my needs, WiFi worked liked a bomb. Breakfast was just what one needs before a busy day. Staff always ready to help.
Great free shuttle service into Sandton.
BEWARE they charge 12% commission for any For-Ex cash transaction .
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, General Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear liyo11,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Park Inn Sandton Hotel. We are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a level of comfort that was above your expectations.

I have commended all our staff member’s for making your stay with us very pleasant and for their ‘Yes I Can’ attitude, as we do our best to create a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere for all our guests.

We appreciated your mention to the complimentary shuttle service that is available from the Park Inn Sandton Hotel to Sandton City Shopping Centre. We are glad that you utilized and enjoyed the service that you received.

We also appreciate your reference to the cleanliness of your room . Our entire housekeeping team here at the Park Inn Sandton does their best to prepare our rooms to our guests’ satisfaction.

We loved hearing your mention of the WIFI available at our Hotel and we are delighted that you were able to conduct your business from the comfort of your room.

On behalf of our entire Hospitality Team here at the Park Inn Sandton, we would like to thank you for making us your "Home Away From Home" in Johannesburg, and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back.


Sincerely,

Rick Berendsen
General Manager
Park Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Convenient location is all this place has to offer.I stayed at this property for 4 nights and it was terrible. The staff were rude and inexperienced. The food was always cold especially at breakfast. The bathroom in my room always smelled of mildew. For a property located in Sandton, you are better off staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, General Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Anna K,

It is with great disappointment that I read about your recent experience regarding your stay with us at the Park Inn Sandton Hotel.

At the Park Inn by Radisson Sandton we do pride ourselves on a ‘Yes I Can’ attitude, however it seems that the service you received was not acceptable. Let me assure you that this has been taken up with the various heads of department to review and to action corrective measures to ensure future guest satisfaction. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service.

I have addressed this poor servicematter with our front office manager, and better staff training has been suggested to address this problem. We apologies for the bad experience you had encountered, it is not the service we wish to offer to our guest.

The issue you mentioned regarding the cold breakfast buffet, from the food and beverage department we do apologies for the poor experience and will investigate the reasons to why the breakfast was cold. I appreciate that you have brought this to my attention and we shall do our best to make sure that our hot selection remains hot for the duration of our breakfast times. We apologize for any inconvenience that this could have caused.

The matter relating to the mildew scent your got when using our shower facilities has addressed with our maintenance team sent to review and implement solutions. Thank you for your feedback, we do take these comments very seriously as it assists us to provide a better service to our guests. I will investigate the issues you have mentioned and hopefully upon your next visit these problems would be rectified.

We appreciated hearing that you found our hotel conveniently located.

I most certainly hope we are able to welcome you back to let you experience the ‘Yes I Can’ Service you as our valued guests most certainly deserve.

Kind Regards

Rick Berendsen
General Manager
Park Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here it felt very homely, staff are great, breakfast was lovely and you felt very welcome, rooms very comfortable stayed 2 nights and I have no complaints, I would stay here again and recommend it, hourly shuttle is great

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor and quite happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, General Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Angnev62,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Park Inn Sandton Hotel. We are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a level of comfort that was above your expectations.

I have commended all our staff member’s for making your stay with us very pleasant and for their ‘Yes I Can’ attitude, as we do our best to create a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere for all our guests.

We appreciate hearing that you found our hotel to be very homely and that you were comfortable and relaxed.

We also appreciated your reference to our buffet breakfast. From our entire Hospitality Team here at the Park Inn Sandton Hotel we are extremely pleased that you had enjoyed your meals at our RBG Bar and Grill Restaurant.

On behalf of our entire Hospitality Team here at the Park Inn Sandton, we would like to thank you for making us your "Home Away From Home" in Johannesburg, and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back.


Sincerely,

Rick Berendsen
General Manager
Park Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed at the Park Inn on a business trip to Johannesburg. The room was nice and the bathroom clean. The hotel was centrally and conveniently located. The check-out was a bit disorganised and the receptionist who handled the check-out had quite a rude and snotty attitude, but this really didn’t bother me and I would stay there again. The breakfasts at the hotel are very pricey – Tasha’s is in the centre right next door and offers superb breakfasts and great coffees at a much better rate. They open early to cater for the business market.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, General Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Lindsay H,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Park Inn Sandton Hotel. We are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a level of comfort that was above your expectations.

We apologies for the poor experience you encountered with our hotel staff during check out. I have addressed this matter with our front office manager, and better staff training has been suggested to address this problem. We apologies for the bad experience you had encountered, it is not the service we wish to offer to our guest.

We appreciated hearing that you found our hotel conveniently located, and close to the shopping center next door that catered for your needs.

With regards to the breakfast, we do offer a complimentary breakfast to our guests who have booked a Superior room at our hotel. We sorry that you felt the buffet to be a bit expensive, we have done all we can to keep the price per head as low as possible in relation to the cost of raw materials.

I most certainly hope we are able to welcome you back at the Park Inn sandton hotel when your travels bring you back to the area.

Kind Regards

Rick Berendsen
General Manager
Park Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

2 nights business trip, the hotel is very clean, rooms are quite nice even if not too big. Free shuttle bus to Sandton train station (where you can catch the train to the Airport) and to Sandton City Shopping Mall (full of restaurants in Mandela Square). I suggest it for short stays, and Sandton is a safe neighborhood (better not walk around after sunset). Hotel Restaurant is also quite good. Only downturn my room was very cold, and heating was not working properly. Free wifi (low speed).

Room Tip: Ask a room that doesn't face the construction next to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, General Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Sarosio,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Park Inn Sandton Hotel. We are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a level of comfort that was above your expectations.

I have commended all our staff member’s for making your stay with us very pleasant and for their ‘Yes I Can’ attitude, as we do our best to create a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere for all our guests.

We appreciated hearing that you found our hotel conveniently located. We appreciate your reference to complimentary shuttle service that is available from the Park Inn Sandton Hotel to Sandton City Shopping Centre & Gautrain Station. We are glad that you utilized and enjoyed the service that you received.

The issue that you mentioned regarding the air-conditioner that was not working in your room has subsequently been repaired and the problem rectified. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and we apologize for any inconvenience that this could have caused to you.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the slow WiFi that you experienced during your stay with us. The issue you mentioned regarding the poor WiFi signal has been addressed with our IT manager as we have recently upgraded the system and the feedback received was that it could have been caused by technical problems from our service provider that caused as few days of slow service. This service has since been fully restored.

On behalf of our entire Hospitality Team here at the Park Inn Sandton, we would like to thank you for making us your "Home Away From Home" in Johannesburg, and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back.


Sincerely,

Rick Berendsen
General Manager
Park Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Inn Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn Sandton

Address: 118 Katherine Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Inn Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Inn Sandton Hotel is enviably situated in the heart of Sandton. The Park Inn boasts 273 beautiful modern rooms as well as our Signature outlet RBG Bar & Grill. The Hotel is easily accessible to all major tourist attractions and heritage sites as well as 1.5Km from the premier Sandton City Shopping mall and Nelson Mandela Square. A free shuttle service is available to Nelson Mandela square. After a long day of meetings or sightseeing the hotel's outdoor swimming pool is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Park Inn Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Sandton Hotel Sandton
Park Inn Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.