We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shower design” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn Sandton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Inn Sandton to your Saves list
Park Inn Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Katherine Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great shower design”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

For the majority of my stays in hotels around the world I am often disappointed or angry at the lack of effort that goes into the design and functionality of the shower. This hotel is definitely one of the best shower designs in the hotel industry. The tap is at the entrance so you do not have to get your clothes wet when turning on the shower. The water flows effortlessly to the drain and there is an additional hand device for that secure rinse at the end of your shower. Well done guys. Now you simply need to add a second semi permeable curtain or blind. Also the flow at breakfast needs some thought. Well done overall.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, Front Office Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Grant, Thank you very much for your really wonderful review, it is very much appreciated. We really glad to hear that you like the design of our Showers - they are Great aren't they! Your comments have been forwarded to our Management and Staff Thank you for your praise ! We really do hope and trust that we are able to Welcome you back to the Park Inn Sandton in the not too distant future ! best regards Bettina Scherzinger Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    101
    64
    23
    16
See reviews for
14
43
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was in Park inn for vacation and the hotel structure is really good for a 3 star hotel. They have a shuttle for the sandton city mall every hour and they pick you up on sandton gautrain station. People are really nice and always want to help you. I did not tried the breakfast because I had to wakeup really early. But all the food I ordered from room service were really good and international standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, Front Office Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We appreciate your really great review, thank you ! We are a Mid market hotel and really try and strive to give our customers the "Yes I Can" service our valued customers like yourself deserve. I trust and hope we are able to welcome you back in the not too distant future. best regards Bettina Scherzinger Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here for two nights last week. The place was clean, and the convenience was the shuttle offered to Nelson Mandela square every hour (for free). I was a bit disappointed that my room only had Rooibos tea available when I arrived, the next day I had other tea, coffee and hot chocolate- so the cleaners must have forgotten to replace all this. The pillows are not very luxurious, it felt a bit like foam.The front desk service is very efficient, I lost my room key and it was instantly replaced! Since I was away on business I had some reading to do and as usual I like to lay and read, but this was a bit awkward since the room was quite badly lit offering no big light above the bed and only side lamps. My blind was also broken. I parked my car on site, and felt quite safe in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, Front Office Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! Your comments are most valued and the issues you experienced have been brought to our Managements attention. Thank you for your kind comments on the Reception staff ! We trust and hope we are able to welcome you back to the Park Inn Sandton in the not too distant future. best regards Bettina Scherzinger Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here few times with work .
Rooms very small but it is clean and the shower bathroom is very modern and clean albeit open plan with all glass doors .
Rooms are right on main road so lots of traffic noise .
Location is ok but you will need transport for obvious security reasons .
Pool is too small size of a large jacuzzi and no sun from 1 pm , seating area outside is poor and lots of building work outside , lots of noise .
Restaurant food is very good and a nice bar and restaurant area here .
I rang for a few things to my room on few occasions and they will keep you waiting all day !!!
Bar staff are nice guys but reception staff are bit miserable .

Room Tip: Try get a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, Front Office Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Hayley, It is very unfortunate to read your review. However your concerns have been forwarded to our Management Team for further review. Thank you for your kind words regarding our Restaurant food and Bar staff. best regards Bettina Scherzinger Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have stayed at the Park Inn several times. It is clean hotel and l have always enjoyed my stay with the exception when l checked in only to find out that my room had been used. I raised the issue with management and all they could say is that wait while we clean. I had been traveling the entire night and all l wanted was a good bath and sleep.

It would be great if management had stepped in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, Front Office Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Voltron! Thank you for your review on your stay at the Park Inn. I would most sincerely like to apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you on your check-in. Let me assure you this is definately not the 'Yes I Can' service we like to portray to our valued guests like yourself.
Your comments have been heard and forwarded to our Management Team for review.
We hope that we are able to however still welcome you back to the Park Inn in the not too distant future. best regards Bettina Scherzinger Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are small but comfortable. The lay out of the rooms is quite clever.
The hotel is close walking distance to shops / supermarket ( Woolworths) and some Resturants .
A mini bus can be booked to take you to the airport fast train station and major Sandton Shopping Centre.
Front counter / reception staff were quite helpful.
Limited free Wifi.
Did not try the Resturant went to other close by Resturants .
Overall a really good hotel reasonably priced .
I would try it again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, Front Office Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to write a review of our hotel and your valued comments. I really hope that we are able to welcome you back in the not too distant future as one of our valued guests. best regards Bettina Scherzinger Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Although this is a Carslon Hotel, my stay here was miserable. On average I encountered at least one major problem per day while staying here. On 2 days, wake up calls scheduled the night before were never received. After missing my appointments, I contact the staff. The staff is polite in the way they speak but they do NOT delivery. Their answer for two different wake up calls; we had it written down but we forgot. My room was not properly clean half the time. The garbage was not taken out, the sheets were not changed, the room was not vacuumed even though I placed notes on the bed and in the bathroom. Their response, the cleaning staff is new because of high turnover. Asked for a fridge in my room; it took 4 days to finally get one. The free shuttle they offer is overcrowded. I took it one day and there were 11 guests in it; a van that is suppose to sit 7 guests. Computer electricity in my room was shut down even though my extra card was in the wall slot. The cleaning staff just pulled it out for no reason and my computer went haywire. I can go on and on. It was my first stay at a Park Inn overseas and I will never use them again. The hotel doesn't care about indiivdual guests because they have a contract with British Airways crew. So unless you are a British Airways crew, do not stay here. You will NOT be valued as a guest. When I checked in, knowing that I would be here for 1 week, I was given a room directly over a major construction site. The staff was not even considerate to think of my long stay and give me a room away from the construction site.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, Front Office Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
It is most unfortunate to hear that your stay with us was miserable. Let me assure you that this is definately not the standard we like to portray to our valued guests like yourself. Our Management have been informed of your issues. Thank you once again for bringing this to our attention. best regards Bettina Scherzinger Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Inn Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn Sandton

Address: 118 Katherine Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Inn Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Inn Sandton Hotel is enviably situated in the heart of Sandton. The Park Inn boasts 273 beautiful modern rooms as well as our Signature outlet RBG Bar & Grill. The Hotel is easily accessible to all major tourist attractions and heritage sites as well as 1.5Km from the premier Sandton City Shopping mall and Nelson Mandela Square. A free shuttle service is available to Nelson Mandela square. After a long day of meetings or sightseeing the hotel's outdoor swimming pool is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Park Inn Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Sandton Hotel Sandton
Park Inn Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.