We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn Sandton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Inn Sandton to your Saves list
Park Inn Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Katherine Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here for a week for a business trip. The hotel was clean, room was small but comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. On two occasions, I left a message and card for change of sheets but was disappointed to find that it was not done. Left the feedback with the duty manager who immediately came, apologized and ensured it was done immediately. Breakfast was decent, but lacking in variety (had to have the same breakfast for 7 days!). The option of having a chosen breakfast menu served to your room at a specified timeslot was helpful. Overall, it's fine for a short business trip but not if you are looking for a long, leisurely family stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, Front Office Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Rudra as a valued guest of ours, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you felt comfortable with us. We would however like to apologize for the delay in the making up of your room. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the not too distant future
best regards Bettina Scherzinger Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    102
    64
    23
    16
See reviews for
14
43
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I had prepaid for and booked a non smoking room. Upon arrival I was informed that only smoking rooms were available. I complained but then the check in lady then took two calls whilst I waited. After further complaining an indifferent manager came and only upon insisting that I get a non smoking room did they finally find one.

There was no shower gel in the shower

Won't be staying there again

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It was a while ago that I stayed here, but I really enjoyed my stay considering I was a tad worried about being in Joberg by myself. The rooms were really cool and stylish and the staff were extremely friendly! The only disappointment was the food as it was pretty simple for its price and the resturant was dead, but then I didn't really go out and explore. At the end of the day it was clean and spacious with a good value for money and helpful staff and in a 4 star hotel that's all you need!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkinn118, Front Office Manager at Park Inn Sandton, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Hannah Thank you very much for your most valued review. We hope that in the not too distant future we are able to welcome you back best regards Bettina Scherzinger Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South east UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Only had one night here in October 2012. I found the hotel to be clean with all facilities in good order. The restaurant was very nice with a comprehensive and reasonably priced menu. Probably the best T bone steak I had in South Africa.
Rooms a good standard as you would expect from a modern 4 star hotel. Staff friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the Christmas break and was shocked at the attitide of SOME of the staff. It felt as if we were disturbing them and we were a nuisance. Went on safari on Boxing day and was gone from 6.00am till 9.00pm. When we returned the rooms had not been serviced and the hotel could not give an explanation (ours was not the only room that had not been serviced). The manager on duty looks like he enjoys being the manager but floating around the hotel smiling at everyone seems to be the extent of his skills. A lot would have to change before I would consider staying at this particular Park Inn again. On the plus side it is is close to Sandton Mall and has a free shuttle service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a stopover in Jhb in Dec 2012.

The location is excellent, it's a safe area and the hotel is close to some of the best shopping locations. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to Mandela Square and shopping mall. It's also very easy to get onto the highway if you're driving to other parts of the city.

The service was at a reasonable standard all around from reception staff to the bar and waiting staff. Staff are quite helpful and very friendly. You never had to wait to be served in the bar and restaurant.

In terms of the facilities, it had a small outside pool. The bar was quite lively on a couple of nights when I've come back to the hotel. The outside area by the pool is also quite nice to hang out at. The decor is ultra modern but basic. The rooms are a decent size, clean and modern. The room I stayed in had a slightly strange layout but it worked. You get free internet access if you join the hotel group's membership club which is free. The food at the restaurant was reasonable, I ate there twice during my stay and the breakfasts were decent. There wasn't much of a view from my hotel room, it looked out onto a construction site next door and a highway but there wasn't any work going on at the time of my stay so it wasn't noisy or distracting. There's also underground parking which was good.

The TV in my room did not work and I couldn't get the air conditioning to work either. I didn't complain as I didn't spend much time in the room itself so can't say whether it was something that they would have resolved if I complained about it, however saying that you would expect that these things are checked on a regular basis and that everything works.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Back here again ,with 2 children.We love the excellent service as well as the very friendly & helpful staff ! The outdoor pool is not big but my 9 year old loves it and we can watch her from the bar .
Rooms are comfortable,quiet and the hotel is very secure .
Unlike some other reviewers we have always had air con in full working order,never had to wait more than a few minutes for our rooms and all staff have been willing to go that extra mile to make our stay enjoyable.
The only downside to this hotel is the limited menu,although the food is excellent and the breakfast is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5 th and 7th floors have good views.Although the huge Nelson Mandela Square Mall is only 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Inn Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn Sandton

Address: 118 Katherine Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Inn Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Inn Sandton Hotel is enviably situated in the heart of Sandton. The Park Inn boasts 273 beautiful modern rooms as well as our Signature outlet RBG Bar & Grill. The Hotel is easily accessible to all major tourist attractions and heritage sites as well as 1.5Km from the premier Sandton City Shopping mall and Nelson Mandela Square. A free shuttle service is available to Nelson Mandela square. After a long day of meetings or sightseeing the hotel's outdoor swimming pool is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Park Inn Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Sandton Hotel Sandton
Park Inn Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.