We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton to your Saves list
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Air conditioners and heating in the rooms need improvement. Maybe try installing digital systems were one can determine the exact room temperature they need. Wi-Fi sign-in needs to be made user friendlier than it is now. I found it not that friendly and even some staff seemed not really on top of it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Matarukal

We would like to thank you for bringing the above to our attention . Further training has been conducted with all staff, this training has provided the necessary knowledge on how to excess the wireless internet service.

The airconditioning comments have been forwarded through to our maintenance department for further review.

Kind Regards
Muhammad
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    62
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
7
29
13
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zanjan Province, Iran
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I sometimes go to Johannesburg for free and always stay in this hotel. It is wonderful, clean cosy and lovely. The staff are really helping. I once lost some money and later when I eas back to my country I emailed them and asked if they had found any money. Even though I was not sure that I had lost the money in the hotel and that they were not responsible for it atall (because they have provided safes in rooms) they still offered me a complimentary night at the hotel for my next trip so that I would be happy with my stay in the hotel. I will never forget how kind they were to me. The hotel is in a prefect location, with spectacular views to the city from the lifts and the resturant. Very good breakfast and beautiful rooms. I loved it and will recomend it to anyone who wishes to have a wonderful stay in SA.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Fatima

Thank you for your time in rating us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that the hotel has met with your expectations. The team at Southern Sun Hyde Park constantly drives itself to offering a memorable experiance for all our guests.

Should you require anything prior to your next stays with us , Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Muhammad
Front Office Manager
muhammad.rawat@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have stayed here several times now and have always been very pleased. Good service, nice restaurant, bar and pool deck. Small gym has an amazing view. The walk-through to the mall next door is very convenient. A variety of restaurants in the mall plus the hotel's Italian restaurant leave you spoilt for choice within walking distance.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Lance

Thank you for you rating on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that the hotel has met with your expectations.

The Staff at Southern Sun Hyde park are geared in creating memorable experiances for our guests and look forward to your return.

Kind regards
Muhammad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

What a lovely, stunning, cosy hotel! I would recommend this Hotel anytime when you wish to have quality time with your loved ones even for business, the food at the Bice restaurant is exceptional! One thing to note, ask how much is the bottle of water before you agree to have the waitron pour in you glass #R60 bottled water is way too much!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Msimelelof

Thank you for your time in rating us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experiance with us.

The price of the bottled water will be reviewed by our food and beverage manager.

We would like to thank you for bringing this through to our attention.

Kind Regards
Muhammad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is in a great area and connected to a shopping mall. The 1st room I was given was supposed to be non-smoking, but somehow the room reeked of smoke. They moved us to a 2nd bedroom. The shower did not drain and was overflowing the bathroom (there is no separation from shower to main bathroom area), and the sliding door bathroom did not stay shut...not ideal when sharing a room with someone else! Several of the lamps also did not work. Requested a move again, and finally, the 3rd room was okay.

There is also a very weird odor in the hallways. I noticed that there is some sort of deodorizer next to each elevator, maybe it's trying to mask the smoke smell? I guess the only good thing about this hotel is the bar area. Great for drinks at sunset. I would not recommend this hotel, there are a ton of hotels and guest homes around this area, spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Jlynn

Thank you for your time in rating us on Trip Advisor.

I can assure you that this is not that standard of service which is offered by Southern Sun Hyde park.

I request for you to please furnish me with more details so that we can avoid such incidents re - occuring in the future.

Please send the E-Mail to
muhammad.rawat@tsogosun.com

Kind Regards
Muhammad Rawat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lovely hotel, good value for money and location ideal next to high end shopping mall. As Johannesburg not particularly easy to walk around, it's good to be on top do shopping mall with variety of shops and restaurants and cinema.

Room Tip: I had two stays during my recent trip and both rooms offered on second floor offered great perspecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Ursula

Thank you for your rating on Trip Advisor.

Southern Sun Hyde Park has qualified tour guides who can arrange tours in and around Johannesburg at a small fee. All of our drivers and guides have the necessary qualifications to ensure that your experiance is a memorable one.

We also offer chauffeur drives aswell.

For further enquires or future reservations please contact sshydepark.reservations@tsogosun.com

Kind Regards
Muhammad Rawat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

service
value
rooms
cleanliness
teamwork
appearence
communication
staff
management
facilities
wellcoming
attitude
protection
location
inviromental awareness
room standaed
health facilities
trained staff

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Address: 1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton forms part of the exclusive Hyde Park Corner Shopping Centre. A state of the art hotel, offering guests all the comforts needed by the discerning traveller . The contemporary design and decor has been carefully crafted to reflect the lifestyle of our discerning guests, with furnishings and fittings adding a touch of class. Rooms offer panoramic views over the tree tops of Johannesburg's northern suburbs and include all the comforts of your own home.There is also a well appointed boardroom and two fully equipped conference rooms that caters for executive business meetings or private signature events.High speed WI FI connectivity is now available to hotel guests on a complimentary basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.