We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyde Park Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton to your Saves list
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Hyde Park Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

What a lovely, stunning, cosy hotel! I would recommend this Hotel anytime when you wish to have quality time with your loved ones even for business, the food at the Bice restaurant is exceptional! One thing to note, ask how much is the bottle of water before you agree to have the waitron pour in you glass #R60 bottled water is way too much!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Msimelelof

Thank you for your time in rating us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experiance with us.

The price of the bottled water will be reviewed by our food and beverage manager.

We would like to thank you for bringing this through to our attention.

Kind Regards
Muhammad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    62
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
7
29
13
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is in a great area and connected to a shopping mall. The 1st room I was given was supposed to be non-smoking, but somehow the room reeked of smoke. They moved us to a 2nd bedroom. The shower did not drain and was overflowing the bathroom (there is no separation from shower to main bathroom area), and the sliding door bathroom did not stay shut...not ideal when sharing a room with someone else! Several of the lamps also did not work. Requested a move again, and finally, the 3rd room was okay.

There is also a very weird odor in the hallways. I noticed that there is some sort of deodorizer next to each elevator, maybe it's trying to mask the smoke smell? I guess the only good thing about this hotel is the bar area. Great for drinks at sunset. I would not recommend this hotel, there are a ton of hotels and guest homes around this area, spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Jlynn

Thank you for your time in rating us on Trip Advisor.

I can assure you that this is not that standard of service which is offered by Southern Sun Hyde park.

I request for you to please furnish me with more details so that we can avoid such incidents re - occuring in the future.

Please send the E-Mail to
muhammad.rawat@tsogosun.com

Kind Regards
Muhammad Rawat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lovely hotel, good value for money and location ideal next to high end shopping mall. As Johannesburg not particularly easy to walk around, it's good to be on top do shopping mall with variety of shops and restaurants and cinema.

Room Tip: I had two stays during my recent trip and both rooms offered on second floor offered great perspecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Ursula

Thank you for your rating on Trip Advisor.

Southern Sun Hyde Park has qualified tour guides who can arrange tours in and around Johannesburg at a small fee. All of our drivers and guides have the necessary qualifications to ensure that your experiance is a memorable one.

We also offer chauffeur drives aswell.

For further enquires or future reservations please contact sshydepark.reservations@tsogosun.com

Kind Regards
Muhammad Rawat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

service
value
rooms
cleanliness
teamwork
appearence
communication
staff
management
facilities
wellcoming
attitude
protection
location
inviromental awareness
room standaed
health facilities
trained staff

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miraumont, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a great hotel, the staff are the most friendly and helpful that I have ever had the pleasure to meet anywhere in the world, breakfast is excellent, with a wide selection to suit everyone's taste, dinner is very good and the rooms are spacious and very well appointed and the gym is a good size with great views.
Most importantly, the standards never drop, every time I stay here, my experience is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carli_ferreira, Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Tim W

We thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that we provide you with consistantly excellent service time and time again. Your compliments will be passed on to all our staff and we ceratinly look forward to welcoming you back soon to The Southern Sun Hyde Park!

Warm Regards
Carli Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Friendly people , great location with the Hyde Park Shopping centre next door . Had some problems with things bot functioning in the room and nothing was done after politely informing them that the safe did not work , the basin was not draining . I asked for an iron to do my shirts and it never arrived.
Food was very good. may have been a bad day...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carli_ferreira, Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Chris SS

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on tripadvisor.
We aplogise regarding the maintenance and housekeeping concerns which you have raised and we have already dealt with our team concerning these, in order prevent such problems re-occuring.

We are however pleased that you found our hotel to be friendly, in a great location and our food very good.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon to The Southern Sun Hyde Park

Warm Regards
Carli Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The rooms are spacious and very neat. If there is one aspect that stands out for me, it is the way the staff is professional and extremely friendly; nothing seems to be too much for them including a request for an additional blanket at almost midnight. It was brought to my room promptly after request by a staff member who gave me an impression that it was really a pleasure to assist me. The well equipped gym with an awesome view on the top floor somes in handy for the gym enthusiats. The hotel also has a good business centre. The service during dinner and breakfast is impeccable and needless to sate, the food is great.

Room Tip: If you are one for views; avoid the rooms on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carli_ferreira, Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Sombu

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are so proud to hear that our staff met and exceeded your expectations during your stay with us and you found all the facilities of the hotel to be up to standard. We will continue to aim to provide such service to all our valued clients.

We hope to welcome you back soon to The Southern Sun Hyde Park

Warm Regards
Carli Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Address: 1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton forms part of the exclusive Hyde Park Corner Shopping Centre. A state of the art hotel, offering guests all the comforts needed by the discerning traveller . The contemporary design and decor has been carefully crafted to reflect the lifestyle of our discerning guests, with furnishings and fittings adding a touch of class. Rooms offer panoramic views over the tree tops of Johannesburg's northern suburbs and include all the comforts of your own home.There is also a well appointed boardroom and two fully equipped conference rooms that caters for executive business meetings or private signature events.High speed WI FI connectivity is now available to hotel guests on a complimentary basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.