We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton to your Saves list
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night.. the room was superbly furnished and decorated, new and spacious as well.. attached to the hyde park mall so excellent location.. breakfast is well set out and delicious.. pool deck is a definite go to for a sunset cocktail overlooking the city.. service is excellent a definite 5 star experience

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that we delivered an excellent 5 star experience for your one night stay.

Thank you for taking the time to, in a few words explain exactly the view we would like future visitors to Southern Sun Hyde park to have in mind when deciding on our hotel, for a business or a leisure trip to Sandton, Johannesburg.

We would really like you to make use of our sunset cocktail deck and bar again next time youre in our neighbourhood, especially this time of year with the great sunsets

Kind regards,

Michael and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    62
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
7
29
13
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights, 2 separate occasions. It attaches to a mall in Sandton; handy for running to replace things, eat a meal, or get some grocery items at the PIck and Pay. The breakfast buffet was lovely--everything you could want. Room service was good. Check-in/out smooth as was bell service. Quiet. In -room amenities are very nice. First time I've seen free cookies. Didn't try them. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Hyde Park for stay in Sandton.

Pity you never tried the cookies......they are quite good.

We are glad that you felt the service to be smooth and that our facilities met you expectations,we also do hope that we would be your first choice as a return visitor to Hyde park in the future.

Kindest regards, and thank you for a great review.

Michael and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A faultless stay at a very convenient location.
Excellent staff and exemplary services that they provided.
Dinner in the restaurant was an unexpected delight - this is not a 'normal' Hotel Restaurant if your in the shopping centre and are looking for a far better than average meal - by pass the 'good' mall restaurants and head for the hotels restaurant.
The room i had was excellent - in layout, size, condition and amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Frank,

Thank you for taking the time to commend my team on the exemplary service and a faultless stay.

Our BICE Restorante team are also delighted for your recommendation of our restuarant and we do hope you visit again in the near future.

Regards,

Michael and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Located in an the "upmarket" suburb of Hyde Park, the Southern Sun Hyde Park hotel is a great location to have sundowners or evening drinks after dinner at one of Hyde Park mall's many amazing restaurants.

With a bar area overlooking western Johannesburg, it's the perfect setting to watch breathtaking African sunsets in an urban jungle setting.

Another great plus about it being a hotel, is that if you've had too much of a party in the bar, the opportunity to grab a room to crash for the night is available. It's a bit on the pricey side, but with an amazing breakfast included in the room price, it's well worth it.

We found the room to be as one would expect, with the bathroom being very decent (we had a shower and bath in the room that we occupied). There was also a king-sized bed with ample hard & soft cushions - hard for me, soft for the wife; which to her was a winner.

The hotel is located in close proximity to many of Jozi's hottest night spots, so if you're planning on staying over a night or two while in transit...I'd highly recommend the hotel.

We found the staff very friendly, extremely competent and accommodating, even after only requesting a room close on midnight.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on a visit to our hotel.

We are all very glad that you enjoyed out facilities and spectacular view, especially this time of year when we get the best sunsets over suburbia.

We do hope to have you visit us again in the near future.

Regards,

Michael and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Tsogo Sun for two nights, the hotel is conveniently located, adjacent to the upmarket Hyde Park Shopping Centre. There is also secure covered parking with direct access into the hotel and the shopping centre, which has many good restaurants. We were not happy with our first room so reception moved us immediately to a brighter room with views over Sandton.
The service in the restaurant and around the pool is excellent. The sushi menu is extensive and the breakfast buffet and menu are superb. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the gym has all the latest equipment.
Just one negative, we asked reception for directions to the airport and unfortunately we were given printed Google directions which were incorrect! If we had not left the hotel early we would have missed our flight back to the UK. We had to ask a motorist on the busy N1 for directions, extremely dangerous on a busy freeway! There doesn't seem to be a concierge service at the hotel and reception could not help us locate a well known design centre. Our afternoon was wasted, as we could not find the centre after another set of incorrect directions were given to us by reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to highlight our property on Trip Advisor. We are very glad that you found our location, facility and service to be to your satisfaction.

Thank you for highlighting the need to a more visible concierge as we are currently developing this service to further assist our guests visiting Johannesburg, we are very glad that you never missed your flight back home and do apologise for any inconvenience caused. It is with your comments that we can further improve on our offering to all our guests that visit, be it business or leisure.

Kind Regards,

Michael and the Southern Sun Hyde Park Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Due to the proximity of our offices (and the overall good location attached to Hyde Park shopping centre) I have stayed at this new Southern Sun (opened sometime in 2011 I think) about ten times already.
It has always been a good stay and since its early days (where service was still a bit bumpy) it has even improved a lot (not only reception, but also staff in the restaurant have become so much more efficient and helpful).
Still to mention their great and caring follow-up after having had an extremely disappointing experience with room service (which now after a year or so I remember more than the negative experience itself).
Rooms are good for a business traveller, but internet is still slooooooooooooow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Return guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on our property especially seeing that you are a frequent visitor to Southern Sun Hyde park and evidently a guest that has seem the fruits of our efforts to better our service delivery since the hotel first opened.

I am glad to be able to tell you that our hotel has finally done the necessary and changed service providers of the internet service which we offer at the hotel. In the near future we will be able to boast the offer of the long awaited complimentary internet to our visitors and guests. This service provider has also guaranteed us of a better speed, with regards to the WIFI supplied at our hotel.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Michael and the Southern Sun Hyde Park Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Three nights at the Hyde Park was very pleasant.The rooms are modern with flat screen TV's and the full bathroom has a huge shower with adequate pressure. The layout of the bar and pool is really pleasant and a great elevated view of Hyde Park near Sandton. The ambience of the floors is quiet and private and staff are friendly and helpful..The view from the 2nd floor where I was was great. Breakfast was good and a great variety from full English to continental.They also have a business centre with Internet access but the printer was not working when I was there. If you have a car, parking is safe and just on the other side of the sliding doors into reception. The hotel is attached and has easy safe and secure access to the upmarket HydePark shopping centre with a large variety of restaurants including Tasha's which is very popular and ran a large queue over lunch. Upmarket NuMetro cinemas are also in the centre.
All in all a great safe option ,central to Sandton , Randburg and Montecasino is not far away at all..
I'll be back.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the suburb not the shopping centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Jeffrey,

Thank you for the great overview on our facilities for future trip advisor visitors.

My management and team are focussed on delivering friendly, helpful and intuitive service, so it pleasing to hear that you found our offering and efforts to be just that.

We look forward to your return and glad to hear that ''ýou will be back'' .

Kind regards,

Michael and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Address: 1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton forms part of the exclusive Hyde Park Corner Shopping Centre. A state of the art hotel, offering guests all the comforts needed by the discerning traveller . The contemporary design and decor has been carefully crafted to reflect the lifestyle of our discerning guests, with furnishings and fittings adding a touch of class. Rooms offer panoramic views over the tree tops of Johannesburg's northern suburbs and include all the comforts of your own home.There is also a well appointed boardroom and two fully equipped conference rooms that caters for executive business meetings or private signature events.High speed WI FI connectivity is now available to hotel guests on a complimentary basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.