We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms,service and location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton to your Saves list
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent rooms,service and location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 days and thoroughly loved it. The view from the glass in the elevator was beautiful. Buffet breakfast was a delight. The shopping mall which was next door was a delight. There was an entrance from outside or through the hotel garage side making it easy for guests. There is lounge between the reception and first floor that had a beautiful view and a pool. A place one will go for a holiday and to just relax, because the views are just breathtaking. I would totally recommend it to anyone going on holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Anti Billi,

Thank you for the time to share our breathtaking views with all our potential future visitors, it truely is a refreshing sight especially at sunset.

We are very greatful that you would recommend us to future travellers and do hope that you may be able to visit us here at the Southern Sun Hyde Park in the near future.

My management and team are delighted that you left us with the feeling of a 'lovely experience" and that we delivered on your rooms expectations and service.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    62
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
7
29
13
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I felt welcomed when arriving at the hotel late the evening. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. The rain shower an absolute pelasure. The pool deck provides a lovely view over the city and the food was scrumptuous! Thank you for lovely experience :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Piere,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Southern Sun Hyde Park in Sandton.

We are glad that we could be the refuge while visiting Johannesburg, and do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I just returned from South Africa. I stayed at the Southern Sun Hotel at Hyde Park. The room was excellent. the service exceptional. the restaurant in the hotel was amazing. Ask for Nathaniel for recommendations on wine with dinner. Lounge is very pleasant and a great spot to meet with colleagues after work. The exercise room is well stored with bottle water and equipment. I don't think you can go wrong at the Southern Sun Hotel.

By the way it sits on top of an excellent mall. Check out the bookstore Exclusive Books.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Tim,

Thank you for taking the time to give all our future guests a great overview of our offering at Southern Sun Hyde Park on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had the time to make use of our facilities.

Thank you for pointing out Nathaniel as a staff member that delivered exceptional service during your stay.

We do hope that you will be able to visit with us in the future when you visit Johannesburg.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Poor attention!
The staff gave little help or courtesy!
As a World-traveller I can not recommend this hotel!
I suggest to check out other hotels before deciding.
There are good hotels in Johannesburg with friendlier staff.
The internet is a joke --- the vouchers are to be fighted for and the connection
is most awful --- L N seems to have had the exactely same experience!
Assistance for travelling/transportation and questions at the Front Office are cut in single words such as "NO"! and We do not HAVE!

Room Tip: Northside if.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Trip advisor.

We have responded to your email and comments sent to us on our hotel guest feedback system.

Due to high occupancies we were not able to assist with an upgrade, taxi services are available to all areas in Sandton however due to our location at a shopping mall we currently do not offer a complimentary shuttle to other shopping districts.

Internet is a chargeable service as mentioned on our website however Frequent Guest members are offered a complimentary two hour voucher, the internet speed has been addressed with our service provider.

We will be converting our current internet service to a new provider and be rolling out a new offering to guests that stay with us at Southern Sun Hyde Park by offering capped complimentary internet to all our guests.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Well located. Rooms are fine but service is inconsistent and amenities are not consistently replaced. Good electrical outlets with foreign plug capabilities.

Staff is nice. Reception staff does not have cash to make change of large Rand bills.

Noise from Bar on Friday nights is deafening and overwhelms Bice Restaurant.

Bice Restauranr has a great view and is very good, though not as good as other locations in the chain in other parts of the world.

Room Tip: Ensure to be anywhere where music from bar may be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Southern Sun Hyde park, Johannesburg.

Your comments will be used to further improve on our future guest experiences.


Kind regards,

Michael Kewley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stay at hotels all over the world. The southern sun Joburg was an amazing treat! Breakfasts are nothing short of amazing ( say "Hi" to Penny, the concierge, she's welcoming). Nice gym. Convenient to the mall. Well equipped clean tasteful rooms (even an iPhone clock). Brilliant shower. Staff are always helpful, and will do what is necessary to solve problems. They are very customer oriented. I didn't try out the restaurant - it seemed noisy - but there are plenty of options in the adjoining mall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Bensonh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Southern Sun Hyde Park on your recent visit to Johannesburg.

We will definately let Penny know that you send a "hello" and thank you for mentioning a staff member that helped make your stay memorable.

Kind regards,

Michael Kewley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

this hotel is a skam.
they state on their website that they provide free wi-fi access, but what they actually provide for free is a two-hour voucher, that you have to request at the reception in a lengthy and annoying process every day, and then you get access to the most awful connection I have ever had. it is slow beyond recognition; impossible to speak on skype; impossible to download anything and some sites take for ever to open. even if you are willing to pay, it won't get you a better connection.

they also claim to have a swimming pool - but what you get is something not much bigger than your bath top.

in addition, the stuff at the reception seems to know very little about sightseeing in Johannesburg.

I requested a wake up call and they forgot about it. all what they had to say in return was that that are very sorry.

awful place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our website advertises the fact that WI FI internet is available at the hotel, and for Frequent guest members a daily 2 hour complimentary voucher is offered. For day to day internet access vouchers can be purchased at our reception as advertised on the website.

For the group, and conference which you attended a courtesy complimentary voucher was offered for daily access to the internet.

The speed of the internet access at the hotel has been addressed with our service provider and we thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Address: 1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton forms part of the exclusive Hyde Park Corner Shopping Centre. A state of the art hotel, offering guests all the comforts needed by the discerning traveller . The contemporary design and decor has been carefully crafted to reflect the lifestyle of our discerning guests, with furnishings and fittings adding a touch of class. Rooms offer panoramic views over the tree tops of Johannesburg's northern suburbs and include all the comforts of your own home.There is also a well appointed boardroom and two fully equipped conference rooms that caters for executive business meetings or private signature events.High speed WI FI connectivity is now available to hotel guests on a complimentary basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.