We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the treat mentioned, I was not able to find or receive!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton to your Saves list
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“the treat mentioned, I was not able to find or receive!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Poor attention!
The staff gave little help or courtesy!
As a World-traveller I can not recommend this hotel!
I suggest to check out other hotels before deciding.
There are good hotels in Johannesburg with friendlier staff.
The internet is a joke --- the vouchers are to be fighted for and the connection
is most awful --- L N seems to have had the exactely same experience!
Assistance for travelling/transportation and questions at the Front Office are cut in single words such as "NO"! and We do not HAVE!

Room Tip: Northside if.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Trip advisor.

We have responded to your email and comments sent to us on our hotel guest feedback system.

Due to high occupancies we were not able to assist with an upgrade, taxi services are available to all areas in Sandton however due to our location at a shopping mall we currently do not offer a complimentary shuttle to other shopping districts.

Internet is a chargeable service as mentioned on our website however Frequent Guest members are offered a complimentary two hour voucher, the internet speed has been addressed with our service provider.

We will be converting our current internet service to a new provider and be rolling out a new offering to guests that stay with us at Southern Sun Hyde Park by offering capped complimentary internet to all our guests.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    68
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
9
35
14
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Well located. Rooms are fine but service is inconsistent and amenities are not consistently replaced. Good electrical outlets with foreign plug capabilities.

Staff is nice. Reception staff does not have cash to make change of large Rand bills.

Noise from Bar on Friday nights is deafening and overwhelms Bice Restaurant.

Bice Restauranr has a great view and is very good, though not as good as other locations in the chain in other parts of the world.

Room Tip: Ensure to be anywhere where music from bar may be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Southern Sun Hyde park, Johannesburg.

Your comments will be used to further improve on our future guest experiences.


Kind regards,

Michael Kewley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stay at hotels all over the world. The southern sun Joburg was an amazing treat! Breakfasts are nothing short of amazing ( say "Hi" to Penny, the concierge, she's welcoming). Nice gym. Convenient to the mall. Well equipped clean tasteful rooms (even an iPhone clock). Brilliant shower. Staff are always helpful, and will do what is necessary to solve problems. They are very customer oriented. I didn't try out the restaurant - it seemed noisy - but there are plenty of options in the adjoining mall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Bensonh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Southern Sun Hyde Park on your recent visit to Johannesburg.

We will definately let Penny know that you send a "hello" and thank you for mentioning a staff member that helped make your stay memorable.

Kind regards,

Michael Kewley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

this hotel is a skam.
they state on their website that they provide free wi-fi access, but what they actually provide for free is a two-hour voucher, that you have to request at the reception in a lengthy and annoying process every day, and then you get access to the most awful connection I have ever had. it is slow beyond recognition; impossible to speak on skype; impossible to download anything and some sites take for ever to open. even if you are willing to pay, it won't get you a better connection.

they also claim to have a swimming pool - but what you get is something not much bigger than your bath top.

in addition, the stuff at the reception seems to know very little about sightseeing in Johannesburg.

I requested a wake up call and they forgot about it. all what they had to say in return was that that are very sorry.

awful place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our website advertises the fact that WI FI internet is available at the hotel, and for Frequent guest members a daily 2 hour complimentary voucher is offered. For day to day internet access vouchers can be purchased at our reception as advertised on the website.

For the group, and conference which you attended a courtesy complimentary voucher was offered for daily access to the internet.

The speed of the internet access at the hotel has been addressed with our service provider and we thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stay here almost every other week as work in South Africa but live in UK. The hotel is nice, clean, big rooms, good bar and great pool deck. Only let down is the food - restaurant is quite average and room service selection not great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that Southern Sun Hyde Park is your choice of hotel when away from home.

Thank you for the comments with regards to menu options in the hotel, we are about to launch a new varied in room dining menu which incorporates favorites from our sushi bar and BICE for Italian homemade pasta. We do hope the new selection will be a little more exciting for a regular visitor, on your next visit to Johannesburg.

Regards

Michael Kewley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

In most respects, this hotel is excellent. Beds are comfy, bathrooms are spotless, there's a good work surface with several different power points, even inputs for AV. But. But. But. The single chair provided is an instrument of medieval torture. Often, I need to work for two or three hours in my room - with this chair, more than 15 minutes became difficult. It's cheap, nasty, hard. Nor was there anything else in which to sit back and relax. Thus, my options were either stand or lie on the bed. Not great and - frankly - not what I would have expected from a hotel of this calibre. The other limiting factor is that the wing of the hotel in which I stayed overlooks the rooftop of the adjoining (and very good) shopping centre. Open the window for fresh air and you have the roar of the centre's air conditioners and the exhaust fans of its restaurants. Noisy and smelly. A major plus, however, is a very good gym with a great view over Johannesburg's northern suburbs.

Room Tip: Ask for the front of the hotel, not the back - that way you should avoid the shopping centre's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Chris,

Thank you for the feedback with regards to your stay at Southern Sun Hyde park Sandton. All our guest feedback is important to us as we continue to to stive for the ultimate hotel experience for all the guest that visit us.

I am aware that my Room Division manager has been in contact with you and I do hope that the chair selection that we have available at the hotel will meet your requirements on your next stay, your profile has been updated with this imformation and we hope to offer you a more comfortable solution for working in your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton.

Kind regards,

Michael Kewley
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a great 2 night stay here in September 2012. Right next to a wonderful mall for eating and shopping. The rooms were quiet and the rooms were immaculate and well furnished. The bathroom shower was a treat after a long flight from the USA to South Africa. The breakfast buffet is NOT to be missed. Terrific selection and very high quality of breakfast fixings. I'd recommend this place to even my very particular sisters!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel M, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Darren A,

Thank you very much for choosing the Southern Sun Hyde Park to celebrate your sepcial occasion and also for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experiences at the hotel during your last stay in September 2012.

Your feedback is always welcomed, valued and much appreciated indeed.

We are delighted that your stay with us was a memorable one and that we exceeded your expectations by creating some memorable experiences.

We thank you once again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Hyde Park hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Address: 1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton forms part of the exclusive Hyde Park Corner Shopping Centre. A state of the art hotel, offering guests all the comforts needed by the discerning traveller . The contemporary design and decor has been carefully crafted to reflect the lifestyle of our discerning guests, with furnishings and fittings adding a touch of class. Rooms offer panoramic views over the tree tops of Johannesburg's northern suburbs and include all the comforts of your own home.There is also a well appointed boardroom and two fully equipped conference rooms that caters for executive business meetings or private signature events.High speed WI FI connectivity is now available to hotel guests on a complimentary basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.