We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, restaurant lets it down slightly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024 , South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel, restaurant lets it down slightly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stay here almost every other week as work in South Africa but live in UK. The hotel is nice, clean, big rooms, good bar and great pool deck. Only let down is the food - restaurant is quite average and room service selection not great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that Southern Sun Hyde Park is your choice of hotel when away from home.

Thank you for the comments with regards to menu options in the hotel, we are about to launch a new varied in room dining menu which incorporates favorites from our sushi bar and BICE for Italian homemade pasta. We do hope the new selection will be a little more exciting for a regular visitor, on your next visit to Johannesburg.

Regards

Michael Kewley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    53
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
4
26
12
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

In most respects, this hotel is excellent. Beds are comfy, bathrooms are spotless, there's a good work surface with several different power points, even inputs for AV. But. But. But. The single chair provided is an instrument of medieval torture. Often, I need to work for two or three hours in my room - with this chair, more than 15 minutes became difficult. It's cheap, nasty, hard. Nor was there anything else in which to sit back and relax. Thus, my options were either stand or lie on the bed. Not great and - frankly - not what I would have expected from a hotel of this calibre. The other limiting factor is that the wing of the hotel in which I stayed overlooks the rooftop of the adjoining (and very good) shopping centre. Open the window for fresh air and you have the roar of the centre's air conditioners and the exhaust fans of its restaurants. Noisy and smelly. A major plus, however, is a very good gym with a great view over Johannesburg's northern suburbs.

Room Tip: Ask for the front of the hotel, not the back - that way you should avoid the shopping centre's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Chris,

Thank you for the feedback with regards to your stay at Southern Sun Hyde park Sandton. All our guest feedback is important to us as we continue to to stive for the ultimate hotel experience for all the guest that visit us.

I am aware that my Room Division manager has been in contact with you and I do hope that the chair selection that we have available at the hotel will meet your requirements on your next stay, your profile has been updated with this imformation and we hope to offer you a more comfortable solution for working in your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton.

Kind regards,

Michael Kewley
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a great 2 night stay here in September 2012. Right next to a wonderful mall for eating and shopping. The rooms were quiet and the rooms were immaculate and well furnished. The bathroom shower was a treat after a long flight from the USA to South Africa. The breakfast buffet is NOT to be missed. Terrific selection and very high quality of breakfast fixings. I'd recommend this place to even my very particular sisters!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel M, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Darren A,

Thank you very much for choosing the Southern Sun Hyde Park to celebrate your sepcial occasion and also for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experiences at the hotel during your last stay in September 2012.

Your feedback is always welcomed, valued and much appreciated indeed.

We are delighted that your stay with us was a memorable one and that we exceeded your expectations by creating some memorable experiences.

We thank you once again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Hyde Park hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I frequently stay at this hotel when visiting JHB for business.

The hotel is modern and the rooms are always exceptionally clean. The business centre is also well equipped and extremely convenient if you need some quiet time to read and respond to mails.

The bar and pool deck adjoins a luxurious cigar bar which is the ideal place to have one on the rocks after a busy day in JHB.

The well equipped gym on the top floor has ample an supply of fresh towels and bottled water.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel M, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Cameron B,

Thank you very much for choosing the Southern Sun Hyde Park to stay at when you travel to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experiences at the hotel during your last stay in June 2012.

Your detailed feedback is always welcomed, valued and much appreciated indeed.

We are very pleased indeed that your found the hotel to be a 'Great for business trips'. We are glad that you also enjoyed the facilities at the hotel and the convenience of the business centre amogst other facilities at the hotel.

We thank you once again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Hyde Park hotel when you next travel to Johannesburg.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Wr ate currently staying at this hotel, so far it is everything we expected. From the time of making a booking the service has been fantastic, I got instant replies from Lethabo to the many emails I sent, we arrived an extra bed ha been put in for our kids with extra linen as
Promised. At breakfast our kids were Asked their names and
All staff at breakfast the next day welcomed us by name, the kids felt special.
We plan to spend our annual South African visits at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel M, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear EnjoyFamilyholidays,

Thank you very much for choosing the Southern Sun Hyde Park to stay at when you were in Johannesburg, South Africa recently and also for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experiences at the hotel during your last stay in September 2012.

Your detailed feedback is always welcomed, valued and much appreciated indeed.

We are very pleased indeed that your found the hotel to have 'Great Personal Service'. We are glad that you also enjoyed the facilities at the hotel and the personalised service that Lethabo and teh breakfast team provide during your stay. We are delighted indeed that you kids were made to feel special.

We thank you once again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Hyde Park hotel when you next travel to South Africa and Johannesburg specifically.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsons Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here on a business visit and were in need of re-assembling including replacing, laundry etc. The rooms are not extra large, but have plenty of room. Importantly, the fittings are all top quality and power and Internet services properly located. The bathroom is fantastic. A large shower with drench fixture and loads of hot water. Great after a dusty time on the road, laundry service was first class. So well packaged I didn't want to disturb it! Breakfast was top class. Only negative was a slow ( but friendly) check in. Big advantage is being connected to the Hyde Park shopping centre. The bar/pool area is very relaxing. Small but cute pool. Service throughout the property was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel M, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear etheldog,

Thank you very much for choosing the Southern Sun Hyde Park to stay at when you were in Johannesburg recently and also for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experiences at the hotel during your last stay in September 2012.

Your detailed feedback is always welcomed, valued and much appreciated indeed.

We are very pleased indeed that your found the hotel to be a 'First Class business hotel'. We are glad that you also enjoyed the facilities at the hotel and teh convenience of the shopping centre. We will investigate the 'slow check-in' to see why you didn't experienced the usual fast and efficient check-in that we normal deliver at the hotel.

We thank you once again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Hyde Park hotel when you next travel to Johannesburg.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I had a very mixed experience with this hotel, and whilst on the whole it was an enjoyable stay I would have rated it more highly if there was greater consistency.

I had arranged via email for a transfer from Sandton Gautrain station to the hotel, however I was left waiting at the station and eventually had to find a taxi.
Checkin was handled efficiently and the receptionist was very pleasant and friendly. I needed scissors to cut strapping off my suitcase and the porter promised to bring some to my room. He didn't return, I tried to ring the front desk and found the phone didn't work, so I had to go back down to reception to find them myself.

Tired after a long flight I wanted something to eat and perhaps a drink. The music from the bar area was so loud it drove me back to my room again. Unfortunately there was no where that provided a more relaxed and laid back environment to unwind. Another irritation was having to go to reception each day to get a voucher for the wifi. A simple online logon and registration system that most other hotels utilise would be much simpler.

The positive features of the hotel for me were the comfortable room and bed. The bathroom was large, modern and very clean. An excellent breakfast buffet was available each morning and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Having a shopping centre conveniently located next door was also a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel M, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Happy Travels-7,

Thank you very much for choosing the Southern Sun Hyde Park to stay at when you last travelled to Johannesburg and especially for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experiences at the hotel during your recent stay in September 2012.

Your detailed feedback is always welcomed, valued and much appreciated indeed. We are disappointed that your experienced insconsistent service at the hotel, especially in regards to the Gautrain pick-up, the scissors that you requested but not delivered and technical fault on the room phone. Please rest assured that these are being investigated currently and corrective action will be taken where appropriate, to remedy these issues. I apologies that we did not create a favourable impression in these areas and also for the inconvenienced that may have been caused as a result.

We are delighted however that you were satisfied with the room, the bathroom and breakfast delivery and especially that you received really friendly service from our team members.

We thank you once again for your valuable and helpful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel on your next visit to Johannesburg.

Kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Address: 1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024 , South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton forms part of the exclusive Hyde Park Corner Shopping Centre. A state of the art hotel, offering guests all the comforts needed by the discerning traveller . The contemporary design and decor has been carefully crafted to reflect the lifestyle of our discerning guests, with furnishings and fittings adding a touch of class. Rooms offer panoramic views over the tree tops of Johannesburg’s northern suburbs and include all the comforts of your own home. The world-renowned BiCE Restaurante offers guests a taste of the finest authentic Italian food using BiCE’s famous recipes.The Daruma sushi and tempura bar add the flavour of the east to the food offerings at the hotel. There is also a well appointed boardroom and two fully equipped conference rooms that caters for executive business meetings or private signature events.High speed WI FI connectivity is now available to hotel guests on a complimentary basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.