We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and friendly facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenalmond Hotel

Save Saved
You added Glenalmond Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenalmond Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Daisy Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Serene and friendly facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is a nice family and business traveller's haven. Centrally located in Sandton and within walking distance to important facilities.

The reception was very welcoming and the apartment layout was quite roomy and homely. With the self catering facility, as a familiy we enjoyed our holiday and had freedom of choice of quality home made food.

A very pleasant and worthy experience

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenalmondHotel130, Manager at Glenalmond Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! It was a great pleasure having you stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future! This is your home away from home. Remember to book early for the Africa Cup Of Nations This Year!

Wishing you a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A basic but clean option very close to Sandton City. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, separate lounge and dining area and kitchen. No air conditioning but a fan for each bedroom. It is best to ask for a renovated unit on the far side against the wall for privacy. The unit had little extras like water and milk in the fridge, washing up liquid in the kitchen and tea, coffee and sugar satches. It is possible to walk to Sandton City but a bit too far if you have to carry shopping bags. The restaurant is extremely basic and not worth a visit

Room Tip: Very important to insist on a renovated unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenalmondHotel130, Manager at Glenalmond Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. We take every review seriously and we are always looking at ways in which to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Because our apartments are self catering and we are in the Sandton CBD with several restaurants around us, we thought it useful to provide our valued guests with a decent breakfast.
That is the only meal prepared on site. We certainly hope that you will come and stay with us again to see the vast changes that are taking place at your future second home! Happy New Year! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a week this November and really enjoyed staying here I have two boy who enjoyed the pool and the space in the apartments. Staff where friendly and willing to help and being able to walk to Gautrain station was also a bonus.

The rooms could use a bit of maintenance though.

All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenalmondHotel130, Manager at Glenalmond Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. We take every review seriously and we are always looking at ways in which to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Because our apartments are self catering and we are in the Sandton CBD with several restaurants around us, we thought it useful to provide our valued guests with a decent breakfast.
That is the only meal prepared on site. We certainly hope that you will come and stay with us again to see the vast changes that are taking place at your future second home! Happy New Year! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

These serviced hotel apartments have to be the best value and quality in Sandton. We found them by accident as another property let us down badly on our last trip. The rooms are very big, nicely furnished and are totally self contained units with all you need for a short or long self catering stay. The staff are very helpful and competent. The location is excellent, close to Sandton centre and the Gautrain station. Last but not least is the breakfast. Good quality, plentiful and well prepared. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenalmondHotel130, Manager at Glenalmond Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and always a pleasure having a pleasant conversation with you both at breakfast. A lot of your suggestions were helpful and I am happy to say that some have been implemented and are working well. I look forward to welcoming you once again this year at our doorstep.

Thank you very much and have a great year ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal qc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a two bedroom and a one bedroom upper floor apartments for our family of six including 2 children and stayed for one night at this apartment hotel. The apartments are in two 2-storey buildings located in a gaurded compound in a well established, good and safe neighborhood. It is very close to famous Nelson Mandela Square in Sandton City with upscale shopping malls, cafes and restaurants.

The apartrments were spacious and tastefully decorated with all the amenities. The apartments were clean, rooms large, beds very comfortable, and kitchnettes reasonably equiped. There were chairs and tables on the balconies to have al-fresco breakfast and afternoon tea .

The receptionist was efficient and assisted us in settling in and parking of our SUV. Since our flight was late in the evening, Scott McRae, the hotel diector, and his staff arranged for storing of our baggage after the checkout time.

It has also very convenient access to highways to Johannesburg, Pretoria and the International airports.

Room Tip: Request ground floor apartment if you have young children and lot of baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenalmondHotel130, Guest Relations Manager at Glenalmond Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to have been of great assistance and it is always heartwarming to see that what we provide our valued guests is fulfilling. We do hope to see you again soon and to give you an even better experience at our establishment!

The Glenalmond Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very helpful staff with a genuine sense of pride of their hotel. And they should. It is lovely, the grounds, pool, decor, comfort, and easy, safe walk to town center. Great place for a longer vacation for a family or friends. We enjoyed the pool and breakfast and kitchen and private space.

Room Tip: Ask if the 2 bedrooms are available. Spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenalmondHotel130, Manager at Glenalmond Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback! We are very happy to see that you were satisfied with your stay with us! I am glad to tell you that we are making headway in new developments and ways that will certainly make sure that you have an even more pleasant stay.

I can guarantee you that your next stay will be outstanding.

Wishing you a prosperous new year for you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel is having compound based apartments and a private secure parking, the rooms are located one ground or 1st floor, you need to walk up the stairs if its on
the upper floor. The rooms are huge...extreme to be honest and is equipped with everyday things (oven / fridge etc). You washrooms requre maintanance (broken windows
seperate faucets for hot and cold which is annoying. There are better hotels available at the same price in sandton, I would recommend staying here only if you are not able to find place anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenalmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalmond Hotel

Address: 130 Daisy Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenalmond Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenalmond Hotel- Sandton is situated in the heart of the Sandton CBD. The Hotel features 36 apartments (24 x 1 bedroom and 12 x 2 bedroom), all with lounge, dining room, kitchen and balcony/patio overlooking the lush green landscaped gardens. All our suites have fully equipped kitchens, Flatscreen TV’s with DSTV. Apartments are serviced daily and laundry service is available upon request. Join us for breakfast in our Restaurant & Pool area. We have a 24hr Reception and security controlled undercover parking.Catch the Gautrain from the airport to sandton and you are around the corner. An Airport Shuttle can be arranged upon a guest's request. We welcome guests from all over the world and promise a pleasant Johannesburg welcome as they take time out in our tranquil environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Glenalmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenalmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.