We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay in a secure compound” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenalmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glenalmond Hotel to your Saves list
Glenalmond Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Daisy Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
montreal qc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay in a secure compound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a two bedroom and a one bedroom upper floor apartments for our family of six including 2 children and stayed for one night at this apartment hotel. The apartments are in two 2-storey buildings located in a gaurded compound in a well established, good and safe neighborhood. It is very close to famous Nelson Mandela Square in Sandton City with upscale shopping malls, cafes and restaurants.

The apartrments were spacious and tastefully decorated with all the amenities. The apartments were clean, rooms large, beds very comfortable, and kitchnettes reasonably equiped. There were chairs and tables on the balconies to have al-fresco breakfast and afternoon tea .

The receptionist was efficient and assisted us in settling in and parking of our SUV. Since our flight was late in the evening, Scott McRae, the hotel diector, and his staff arranged for storing of our baggage after the checkout time.

It has also very convenient access to highways to Johannesburg, Pretoria and the International airports.

Room Tip: Request ground floor apartment if you have young children and lot of baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenalmondHotel130, Guest Relations Manager at Glenalmond Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to have been of great assistance and it is always heartwarming to see that what we provide our valued guests is fulfilling. We do hope to see you again soon and to give you an even better experience at our establishment!

The Glenalmond Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very helpful staff with a genuine sense of pride of their hotel. And they should. It is lovely, the grounds, pool, decor, comfort, and easy, safe walk to town center. Great place for a longer vacation for a family or friends. We enjoyed the pool and breakfast and kitchen and private space.

Room Tip: Ask if the 2 bedrooms are available. Spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenalmondHotel130, Manager at Glenalmond Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback! We are very happy to see that you were satisfied with your stay with us! I am glad to tell you that we are making headway in new developments and ways that will certainly make sure that you have an even more pleasant stay.

I can guarantee you that your next stay will be outstanding.

Wishing you a prosperous new year for you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel is having compound based apartments and a private secure parking, the rooms are located one ground or 1st floor, you need to walk up the stairs if its on
the upper floor. The rooms are huge...extreme to be honest and is equipped with everyday things (oven / fridge etc). You washrooms requre maintanance (broken windows
seperate faucets for hot and cold which is annoying. There are better hotels available at the same price in sandton, I would recommend staying here only if you are not able to find place anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenalmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalmond Hotel

Address: 130 Daisy Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenalmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenalmond Hotel- Sandton is situated in the heart of the Sandton CBD. The Hotel features 36 apartments (24 x 1 bedroom and 12 x 2 bedroom), all with lounge, dining room, kitchen and balcony/patio overlooking the lush green landscaped gardens. All our suites have fully equipped kitchens, Flatscreen TV’s with DSTV. Apartments are serviced daily and laundry service is available upon request. Join us for breakfast in our Restaurant & Pool area. We have a 24hr Reception and security controlled undercover parking.Catch the Gautrain from the airport to sandton and you are around the corner. An Airport Shuttle can be arranged upon a guest's request. We welcome guests from all over the world and promise a pleasant Johannesburg welcome as they take time out in our tranquil environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Glenalmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenalmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.