We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place/convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DaVinci Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice place/convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great service at this hotel. Left my passports in the hotel safe, and they helped get them to me at the airport. Have to say, though, found the decor a bit odd, and the gym and breakfast and rooms just ok, nothing spectacular. The location in the mall can't be beat!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear J G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a report for us on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    119
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
29
64
24
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The experience I had there was beyond my expectations. I was booked for 7 nights on different days as I was working in different African cities but connecting my flights from Johannesburg I made Davinci my base in Africa. The people at the reception and the restaurant were very welcoming. the rooms are very elegantly decorated and have a very modern look and on my last day I wanted to check out late to catch a night flight back to the UK. I spoke to the duty manager who allowed me to stay until 13:00hrs which was something I did not expect, I could not thank him enough. He was so nice and professional. The staff were ever so nice always ready to help especially Mase & Bongani they are asset for the hotel. I will definitely stay there again and I would recommend it to anyone. And not to forget they have free Wi fi and their network coverage is excellent.

Room Tip: This is a new Hotel and its in the middle of the Mandela Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Nkosinathi Z,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a report for us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all your wonderful comments regarding the staff. I will ensure that the staff see your comments especially Mase and Bongani.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our group of twelve stayed one night prior to leaving on a safari, and another afterwards just before heading home to Australia. The staff were most helpful, particularly our concierge who had to store our golf clubs as well as extra luggage. If the black/white decor is your theme you will love it. Our rooms were well appointed and the beds most comfortable. I had room service one evening and the meal was delicious. Location is a huge plus being in Mandela Square, with a good choice of bars and restaurants. And as for the shopping....not quite enough time to do it all justice. A lovely end to our African sojourn.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear maureen c,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful report for us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it was a memorable ending to your African experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed in DaVinci from 26th March to 11th April 2014. That is around 18 day. The environment was very friendly and warm. The people at the reception were very welcoming. the rooms are very elegantly decorated and have a very modern look. The bath tub which is almost adjacent to the bed makes it different from other hotels. The rooms are kept very clean. The room service is also very prompt. The breakfast spread was elaborate but it didnot change any day !!
Overall I was comfortable in the room and could relax after a whole days work :-)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool is good if you want to have a peaceful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Paramita_Mukh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful report for us on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a memorable time. Your feedback regarding the breakfast buffet has been forwarded to our Food and Beverage Manager for consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you “home” in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at Davinci for two 19th & 20th of April 2014.the hotel has a great vibe and the decor is modern and funky. The hotel is on the Nelson Mandela square and is convenient and close to the Gautrain station. The reception staff were great as well as the concierge . The breakfast was good and a great variety. They have special rates on weekends for couples but we only found that out after our stay. The spa menu looked great but was fully booked. I recommend guest make arrangements in advance if they would like a treatment.

Room Tip: If you would like a spa treatment book in advance. The restaurants on Mandela square are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear GSAUNDERS1958,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We strive to offer the best possible experience to all of our guests and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can understand the disappointment when you wanted to book a spa treatment and we could not assist with availability, but I trust that we will be able to assist in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for the first nights of our honeymoon in SA and we were absolutely blown away!!!

We were treated like royalty! Champagne and a dessert platter greeted us in our room and when we came back from dinner on our first night they had run a romantic bath complete with rose petals for us.

Rooms are lovely. Bath in the middle was amazing

Breakfasts were also great and had everything you could imagine!

Staff were so friendly and nothing was too hard.

Great location also

Would definitely recommend!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Bec_Cassidy_86,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that we could make your first honeymoon night in SA memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The modern decor was very tasteful and well done, although not my decorating choice. This hotel is well located. We enjoyed walking the shops and visiting Nelson Mandela Square. A wide variety of good restaurants nearby however the hotel had an amazing burger and buffet breakfast with a wide variety of foods to choose from. Our room was clean, spacious and provided a good nights sleep even if a tad on the warm side. The staff was excellent, always accommodating and never in short supply. Definitely enjoyable and well worth a stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Clarke I,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful report for us on TripAdvisor. We strive to offer only the best possible service to all of our guests and therefore we appreciate your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DaVinci Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Address: 2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#3 Business Hotel in Sandton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — DaVinci Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DAVINCI Hotel and Suites - A Contemporary Masterpiece. Legacy’s latest luxury hotel and all suites development is located adjacent to the prime location of Nelson Mandela Square. This is Legacy’s fourth hotel on the cosmopolitan square in the heart of the Sandton business and leisure district. One could speak of the opulence of the rooms, the restaurant and lounge, pioneering fitness centre and health spa but we suggest you come and see for yourself. Guests can enjoy the convenience of luxurious shopping at the Legacy Corner Mall and Sandton City just an elevator trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your DaVinci Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davinci Hotel Sandton
DaVinci Hotel And Suites Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DaVinci Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.