We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DaVinci Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I spent 2 nights at this hotel and found it very comfortable. The rooms are large and spacious with fantastic bathrooms that have the deep baths and walk in shower. I could only find one plug socket in the corner of the room which was rather inconvenient. The tea and coffee making facilities are very basic considering it is a 5* hotel.

I did use the gym and even though its large and they have lots of equipment I had to wait for a running machine and the gym was rather untidy. There was so no bottles of water or glasses to get water, I only found a water fountain which doesn't bother me but not expected from a 5*.

I also had some laundry done on express service which ended up arriving back late. I wouldn't bother with express service again here, but the laundry did come back beautifully washed and pressed.

Overall it's a lovely hotel with bright spacious bedrooms and some lovely public areas. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Neenals,

I thank you for taking the time to write us a review and to give us your feedback regarding your stay at the DAVINCI Hotel and Suites.

I will be discussing your comments with the relevant Heads of Departments, to correct the items raised, as some could have been avoided with better communication from our side.

Furthermore I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our beautiful Hotel as well as the friendly and efficient staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rui Antunes
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    113
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
56
24
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a well furnished and modern hotel with good size bedrooms. The funky glass door bathrooms took a little getting used to but everything in the room gives a feeling of comfort and quietness. The location with direct connection to Sandton Square ensures great shopping, and access to the train. Breakfast was great with lots of variety of fresh food. Staff were very attentive and polite. Definitely somewhere we will return. Higher floors in the hotel probably give excellent views of the city but we were happy with our lower floor (level 6) and it was definitely quiet. We didn't feel at risk while staying in the hotel and we given excellent information about where to go and what to and not to carry such as my large camera case.

Room Tip: Chose a higher floor room if you can afford it and want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Wendy M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff attentive and polite. We look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel in situated at Nelson Mandela square which is connected to sandton shopping mall, very safe location, many shops and restaurants.

the hotel is chic and modern, big clean room with excellent customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear KhalilDubai,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above TripAdvisor report. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the true DAVINCI experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of Sandton with direct connection to Sandton Square and Sandton city. The style of the hotel is very chic and modern, but in most cases it did not fall into the common trap of "form over function" that we so often see in "chic" hotels.
One of the best things about the hotel is the personal service one gets there. Everyone from the reception desk to the cleaning staff to the breakfast servers, made you feel like you were their most VIP guest.
The breakfast had a large variety of food including fresh fruit and à la carte options and the service was exceptional.
My husband and I both had a massage at the Spa. My husband had a great massage, mine was just so-so. Noni was my husband's masseuse, so you might want to request her if you are looking for a good massage. Otherwise, the Spa was lovely and well equipped.
When we needed to extend our stay in Johannesburg, we obviously wanted to stay the extra nights at the DaVinci, but unfortunately they were fully booked. The manager of the hotel told us "leave it to me, I will find you a place. You don't have to do a thing". And he was right. They booked us a room at a nearby hotel (the Maslow) and even arranged complimentary transfer to the hotel.
This is now our hotel of choice in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear oneworld19,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor report. We pride ourselves in offering only the best possible service to all our guests and I am delighted to hear that you had the true DAVINCI experience. I will definitely forward your report to all of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a really great hotel right above the Sandton shopping mall. Their service is fantastic and it was total luxury to stay here and worth every cent. I was given an upgrade and had the most amazing view over the city from an apartment on the 12th floor. Totally awesome

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear diviljoen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above TripAdvisor report. I am glad you had such a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The welcome and service at the hotel is excellent!!! The staff are all very friendly, helpful and efficient. It is a pleasure returning to the hotel. Rooms are well laid out with excellent linen. The coffee machine is such a great pleasure. The en suite is spacious with great amenities! The breakfast is a feast with every possible desierr being met. This is definitely a hotel worthwhile staying at and returning to. Location also makes it great for shopping.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear judith a,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor report. I am very glad to hear that you once again had the true DAVINCI experience and that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back with smiles to our beautiful property in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The best location you could get, with the Nelson Mandela Square and a mall right next door...everything is very convenient, and easily accessible from the hotel. The rooms are huge and luxurious, although I'm yet to figure out the reason behind glass doors with curtains for the bathroom separation, and a few rooms with the bathtubs almost in the middle of the room. Very odd.

The breakfast spread at Da Vinci is one of the best!! Love it. Also they have free wifi which is great.

My only wish from the hotel would be to add a few more vegetarian options to their menu, as I end up eating vegetarian sandwich for all my lunches there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear divyagarwal,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the TripAdvisor report. I am very glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us again. We will definitely look into adding more vegetarian options to our menu selection, please advise what your preferences are as we are sure that our chef will be able to prepare meals to your preferences.

We look for forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DaVinci Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Address: 2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#2 Business Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — DaVinci Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DAVINCI Hotel and Suites - A Contemporary Masterpiece. Legacy’s latest luxury hotel and all suites development is located adjacent to the prime location of Nelson Mandela Square. This is Legacy’s fourth hotel on the cosmopolitan square in the heart of the Sandton business and leisure district. One could speak of the opulence of the rooms, the restaurant and lounge, pioneering fitness centre and health spa but we suggest you come and see for yourself. Guests can enjoy the convenience of luxurious shopping at the Legacy Corner Mall and Sandton City just an elevator trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your DaVinci Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davinci Hotel Sandton
DaVinci Hotel And Suites Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DaVinci Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.