We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DaVinci Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is ideally located as it is attached to the mall and Mandela Square. The hotel was clean and well kept. The rooms were large with huge windows so there was no hemmed in feeling. The hotel staff was exceptional and had great customer service skills. The housekeeping staff did a good job with the room, never had a complaint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear ASB_Germantown,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the true, friendly DAVINCI experience that we pride ourselves on.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    113
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
56
24
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here twice during a recent trip to Southern Africa, both times while transiting within South Africa or going on to nearby countries. We found the hotel location to be ideal, adjoining a large shopping mall and a short internal walk to Mandela Square with its many restaurants opening to outside dining and with diverse cuisine.

Any request to the hotel staff brought a quick response, whether with information or personal guidance to nearby locations. Each of our rooms were well appointed, clean and quiet. One problem with the safe brought not only a worker but a manager to ensure correction.

We did not travel outside the hotel since everything we needed was close at hand.

We strongly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: End of the hall in some locations afford multiple windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear plktraveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the TripAdvisor review. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed both of your stays with us and that everything you needed was close at hand. We take pride in offering the best possible service to our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in South Africa.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, MI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The staff was very helpful, but they seemed to be overstaffed. They would do just about anything you wanted. Shortly after I got into my room, they even called to make sure I didn't have any questions. The hotel was attached to a huge shopping mall. There was a courtyard with many places to eat there also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear docsteve,

Thank you very much for your wonderful TripAdvisor review. We take pride in offering our guests the best possible service that is both personalized and professional.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI Hotel during you next visit to Johannesburg.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. From front desk right through to room cleaning! Great linen and comforts (coffee machine!) Excellent position within the Sandton business/shopping district - just a 5 min walk.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Judith a,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the true, friendly DAVINCI experience that we pride ourselves on. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for long periods of time between november 2012 and may 2013.
Every single time the staff was helpful to any request I had or any problem (if any) I encountered.
A special thank you to the front office staff, and to two people of the F&B staff: Derick (for always being able to make that perfect cocktail) and Nomalanga for always knowing in advnace what drink I was going to order.

The hotel itself offers nice, clean rooms with all required amenities.
Breakfast is excellent, and you should thy their pancakes.
As the hotel is located right next to Nelson Mandela square you've got all shopping at your feet.
And in case you need the Gautrain the station is only a 6 minute walk far.

All in all one of the best hotels I've stayed at in South-Africa.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear BDeMaert,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor report. We will definitely make sure that your feedback is filtered through to all the staff. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us; you have become part of the DAVINCI family. We hope that business brings you back to us in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel was fantastic, but a BIG Thank you to Safari-Online for finding and booking this hotel. The location was perfect, cross the road from the shopping center. The hotel staff also make you feel welcome. The rooms are very clean and tidy. Breakfast buffet was great, good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear ednaleigh,

Thank you very much for giving us such wonderful feedback and for taking the time to write the report. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests are made to feel welcome during their stay and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed our facilities, location and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel met all of our needs as we flew in from a 15 hour fight and were able to get a good nights rest. The service was fine, as was the breakfast. The hotel has easy access to a giant mall with many dining options. The only issue is that we could have been in the financial district of any international city. However, it was safe, clean and friendly and when you are dead tired, that is a good thing.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Divison Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Alicia W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this TripAdvisor report. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel met all your needs after such a long flight. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Johannesburg.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DaVinci Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Address: 2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — DaVinci Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DAVINCI Hotel and Suites - A Contemporary Masterpiece. Legacy’s latest luxury hotel and all suites development is located adjacent to the prime location of Nelson Mandela Square. This is Legacy’s fourth hotel on the cosmopolitan square in the heart of the Sandton business and leisure district. One could speak of the opulence of the rooms, the restaurant and lounge, pioneering fitness centre and health spa but we suggest you come and see for yourself. Guests can enjoy the convenience of luxurious shopping at the Legacy Corner Mall and Sandton City just an elevator trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your DaVinci Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davinci Hotel Sandton
DaVinci Hotel And Suites Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DaVinci Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.