We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tladi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tladi Lodge to your Saves list
Tladi Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16 David Street, Sandown Ext 24, Sandton 3031, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 66 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Before my first visit to Johannesburg I took time to read reviews of many hotels and lodges and the best ones were for Tladi Lodge. Having now stayed there several times (and with the full intention of staying there again regularly) I can now understand why the reviews are so good and why they are merited. Great accommodation, excellent food, warm and friendly atmosphere. All can be attributed to Sylvia and Ian.
Stewart P

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Tladi Lodge. We are pleased you enjoy staying with us and look forward to hosting you again next week.

Ian and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
18
5
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Tladi Lodge is well situated for Sandton area. I choose to stay there because its more comfortable and 'like home' than a hotel which is generally a very sterile environment. Ian and Sylvia make one feel at home and they provide a very relaxed atmosphere, and a great breakfast! The rooms, whether big or small, are comfortable and well furnished. All that one needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Tladi Lodge.

We trust we will continue to ensure that you feel comfortable and relaxed at Tladi Lodge.

Ian and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Even though my stay was brief, I felt right at home and the owners, Ian and Silvia, are great hosts. The location is very convenient, and I would recommend Tladi Lodge to anyone looking for that "home away from home" feeling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Wes,

Thanks for taking the time to review Tladi Lodge. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Sandton.

Ian and Sylvia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I spent a week at Tladi Lodge and really look forward to my next visit, I was made to feel as if I were part of the family by Ian and Sylvia yet still maintaining the executive feel of a six star hotel. It was convenient and well located with quick access to the Gautrain and other evening locations. I would highly recommend Tladi lodge as a business or family destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Ryan,

Thanks for taking the time to review Tladi Lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed your first stay with us and that you rate us so highly. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Sandton.

Ian and Sylvia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Tladi Lodge is very well located, near the Gautrain station at Sandton, so easy from travelling to the airport or Pretoria. It is relaxed and friendly. The lodge is surrounded by gardens with a small pool, so its easy to unwind. You can either mix with other guests or enjoy privacy - I've done both - and it works well for either long or short stays. I've stayed on business trips, and managed to get plenty of work done in the quiet evenings or at weekends, but it would equally suit families looking for a first base from the airport before going further afield. Staff have been very helpful, whether in preparing a packed lunch at short notice, or booking a taxi or dealing with last minute schedule changes. I hope to return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Ronan,

We are pleased to hear we are managing to live up to our slogan " With us you are going to rest".

Thanks for taking the time to review Tladi Lodge. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards, Ian and Sylvia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I come very often to Sourt Africa on business trips and for Johannesburg I always choose Tladi Lodge. Placed pretty close to the very center but in a peaceful and safe residential área. Ideal if you look for a quite place to either rest or concentrate in your business, Warmly and friendly staff. The facilities are really good and the garden is fantastic. Breakfast even better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Rafael,

Thanks for taking the time to review Tladi Lodge. We really enjoy hosting you and your colleagues and look forward to your next visit.

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was introduced to Tladi Lodge by a friend who thought Tladi is a treasure: It turned out to be! The room was spacious, well built, UN-pretentious home furniture, underfloor heating which meant when you were not under the warm duvet you still felt warm. The property itself was in excellent condition: I could not fault anything! Ian and Sylvia were very warm and welcoming and remembered me on my second visit. The staff were very friendly and the meals were wonderful. I absolutely recommend Tladi Lodge

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for you great review,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tladi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tladi Lodge

Address: 16 David Street, Sandown Ext 24, Sandton 3031, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tladi Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 2 acres of lush tranquil gardens, Tladi Lodge Johannesburg, combines all the benefits of a hotel with the intimacy of a guest house. This beautiful area boasts an abundance of cultural, natural and social highlights - you'll be spoilt for choice for things to do. Whether you fancy an awe-inspiring champagne balloon ride or a day on a manicured golf course, the hospitality staff at this 5 star guest house will be happy to advise. Tladi Lodge is an extensive thatched property surrounded by verdant trees and set amidst romantic winding pathways. The on-site tennis court and swimming pool will keep you in shape whilst you enjoy the open-air life. Welcoming business executives, couples and families with children of 8 years and older, the guest house is the perfect haven for work, relaxation or that extra-special break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tladi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tladi Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tladi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.