We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with wonderful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claires of Sandton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Claires of Sandton to your Saves list
Claires of Sandton
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   42 8thStreet | Parkmore, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE UPGRADE
Ranked #1 of 65 Sandton B&B and Inns
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place with wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Set in a beautiful garden, and we enjoyed great comfort with an enourmous and delicious breakfast to wake up to! Claire, Zodwa and the staff were tremendously helpful to us and treated us almost as family, plus Chantelle was very helpful with the arrangements. Claires is in a nice neighborhood and we cannot imagine anywhere nicer to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
52
24
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I first stayed with Claire in 2005 with my wife and two sons and now in 2014 her accommodation, food, staff and overall attention to the needs of her guests make staying at Claire's a really delightful experience. Excellent full breakfast. My first choice for accommodation when I come through Jo'burg.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is the third year in a row that my family has stayed at Claire's. Prime location, great service, friendliness and professionalism are the hallmarks of the experience. From the initial correspondence with Chantelle organising airport transfers to the day to day support and service from Zodwa, everything was fantastic. Claire was also around during this stay and we had a chance to chat and catch up which is fantastic compared to other similar guest houses i have stayed in in other parts of the world. We were also able to catch a live event at Nelson Mandela square which is a short distance away which was great. If my travels take me to Southern Africa again, i am sure i will be adding South Africa and Sandton in particular as a stop to experience the relaxed breakfasts, bird watching and comfy rooms at Claire's.

Room Tip: I have been in the The Hoopoe Room in a previous stay and this time we had The Cape room. Both were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

.
My 3 day experience was tremendously enjoyable. Chantelle, ,Zodwa and their team were friendly, taking care of me as if I was royalty, but also professionally. The room was squeaky clean and pleasantly comfortable. A five star hotel has nothing on this place.
Breakfast was out of this world with coffees from Ethopia, Arabia and other exotic locations, fresh fruit that tasted like it was just plucked from the adjacent garden not to mention the scrumptuous French toast which remains my firm favourite. Will always be my first choice if I need accomodation in the area.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here for 11 nights while in South Africa for a family member's operation.
Great location with lovely garden and pool, perfect for a spot of bird watching from the breakfast room. Breakfasts are as good as any 5 star hotel I've stayed in, and communal lounge area very comfortable post-op.
Thanks to Chantal and Zodwa for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have just spent an excellent weekend hosted @ Claire's of Sandton.

Where do I start....

Centrally located
Spacious parking (rare in this day and age! )
Relaxed but professional team!
Excellent breakfast choice
Rooms with attention to detail (multiple adaptors,microwave,bar fridge,double his and hers basins,underfloor heating,couch! )

What made the stay something special is I was unwell during my stay and Chantelle and Zodwa did as much as possible to assist me even giving me some medication.

Thank you so much. You guys really went the extra mile.There is a reason Claire's is rated so highly and now I know why!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

as comfortable as home. spacious bedroom and bathroom. friendly staff with a sense of humour and delicious breakfast. place of choice when in jhb.price is reasonable for a guest house of this standard.good to wake up to birdsong in a garden setting. Chantalle and Zodwa are helpful, friendly and both have a sense of humour which makes staying there even more welcoming.
there are some good restaurants nearby and Sandton is not too far away. my colleagues raved about the omlettes they had for breakfast and my only complaint was that i ate too much!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claires of Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claires of Sandton

Address: 42 8thStreet | Parkmore, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Claires of Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claires is a welcoming, secure oasis, minutes from Sandton City offering easy comfort, personalised service and excellent food. Spacious, tastefully decorated rooms have quality amenities and separate entrances into an enticing garden and pool.Enjoy breakfast on the charming, shady verandah. Within easy reach of major attractions in Sandton and environs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Claires of Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claires Of Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claires of Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.