We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, low budget facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Sandton City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Court Sandton City to your Saves list
Garden Court Sandton City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr West and Maude Streets, Sandton 2196 , South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Cape Town
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good service, low budget facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel last week on business and found the service of the staff fantastic. Check-in and out was a pleasure and in general the staff was very friendly and attentive. However, the hotel does not have in-house room service, and the restaurant from where food can be ordered is not great. Also, the room itself was small, basic, facilities low budget and old and didn't seem clean. My bed had a thin blanket and sheet on it (no duvet) which meant I was cold the whole night. The bathroom is old and in dire need of upgrading. On the positive side, it is very close to the Sandton City shopping centre and convenient for business travel but in future I think I will try another hotel with better facilities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliand, Reservations Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Guest Thank you very much for you postitive comments, and for making Garden Court Sandton City your choice of hotel to stay at. We do have room service facilities from 11h00-22h00 available at the hotel, I am glad to share with you that our hotel will be undergoing an upgrade on our bathrooms next year, once again thank you for taking time to post your comments.Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    257
    97
    23
    10
See reviews for
95
94
39
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The only thing good about this hotel is the location, absolutely, nothing else to mention.
Is dirty, is smelly, breakfast is pathetic......

Room Tip: Go across the street to any other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliand, Reservations Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comments, and for making Garden Court Sandton City your choice of hotel to stay at. I am excited to mention that our hotel will be undergoing an upgrade in the rooms next year, I have forwarded your comments to the relevent managers with regards to the cleanliness and the breakfast poor service areas that you experience, thank you once again for taking time to post your comments.Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Hi, My name is Margaret Mwembe Omukubi from Kenya. I have stayed in this hotel with my family during our Xmas holidays in 2008 and 2009. This is definitaly our choice hotel anytime we will be Joburg. It is close to the Nelson Mandela Square shopping mall which makes it easy to go shopping with the children. Staff offer excellent service delivery. I must mention Sydney Sachiwo at concierge and Gloria at rerservations whose services we will forever remember. My children cant wait for another opportunity down south. We will come again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliand, Reservations Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for you postitive comments, and for making Garden Court Sandton City your choice of hotel to stay at.
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel countless times over the past few years. It's by far the best value in Sandton and can't be beaten for location; it's just across the road from Sandton City shopping mall and Nelson Mandela Square. There is ample security and walking to/from the hotel at night is fine. The rooms are comfortable with flat screen tv's with plenty of international news and sport channels. The beds are very comfortable and the showers are excellent. Buffet breakfast is much improved and the staff, once a bit surly, are becoming friendlier. The hotel is excellent value for money and is surrounded by hotels costing much more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliand, Reservations at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for you postitive comments, and for making Garden Court Sandton City your choice of hotel to stay at.
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed at the GC Southern Sun Sandton for a week recently and we had an amazing time. From the beginning, when I made a reservation their response was prompt and i was lucky that closer to time they even informed me the room rate had further reduced than what was originally quoted. I appreciated their honesty and that was when i decided GC Sandton is the place for us. Our check in was efficient they had no problem in finding our reservation. Staff are nice and helpful. The rooms are clean, with tea/coffee making facilities & free cookies, there is a safe and room service menu, the bathroom was clean too although I was disappointed to realise that they had re-packed a used bar of soap, thank God i had my own, this was a put off as i would not have expected it from a Southern Sun property anyhow, we didn't allow this to change our general opinion about the place. There is no fridge in the room, although i hope in the near future they could consider having one. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety. We had dinner at the Cafe Maude one night which was slightly expensive but the food and service was great. The hotel seems to be very popular with business people as it was busy during our stay!
The location is excellent too, especially if you are looking for something near the sandton shopping mall. You do not need a taxi as you can just walk and it is a safe place and it is a stone throw away from Sandton Convention Centre and the Nelson Mandela Square. Garden Court is right opposite the very expensive Michelangelo towers and in the same street as the Intercontinental and the Da vinci is also a walking distance away. The location is the same with these more expensive hotels therefore we were very happy to have discovered GC as it was great value for the money. Also, Sandton is big and by 6.00 p.m we didn't really see people walking around, Katherine Street is a bit far from the Mandela Sq and Convention Centre. So i would highly recommend the GC Southern Sun hotel anytime and would definately be staying there again!

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms always have a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliand, Reservations Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments, about your stay at our hotel, please be assured that you comments with regards to the soap has been communicated to the housekeeping manager.
Your comments with regards to the fridges and the pricing in cafe maude has also been noted and communicated to our sales and marketing.
Thank you for choosing Garden Court sandton City as your preferred hotel for your trio to Sandton.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirboo North, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

A wonderfully located hotel in the ever growing city of Johannesburg. The rooms are large and very comfortable. Although we requested inter-connecting rooms when we booked with our travel agent we didn't get them/ Our rooms were on the same floor and only about 2 metres apart (over the hallway). The food here is fantastic and the service was great. Staff very friendly and did offer to show us the connecting rooms but we couldn't get them straight away so we didn't change. being so close to a large shopping centre makes it an ideal place to stay in Jozi and well the kids will be older the next time we go.

Room Tip: use a travel agent, emphasise your room choise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliand, Revenue Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your making Garden Court Sandton City your choice of hotel to stay at on your recent visit, I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay
Thank you once again
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I've been to the Garden Court in Sandton several times on business and will be going again on vacation for a 3 day stop in Joburg.

The hotel is great, but nearly not as luxurious as its surrounding partners. It's the best option for budget travellers who want to stay in a safe and convenient place in the city.

The services and facilities are about what you expect when you pay these rates: good, functional with no big frills.

I thought the breakfast was excellent and the fitness centre is great. Room service was always fast and good - and I ordered a lot!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliand, Revenue Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor
I am delighted that you choose Garden Court Sandton City as your preferred hotel for your most recent stay in Sandton
We look forward to welcoming you back again
Once again thank you for choosing our hotel
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Court Sandton City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Sandton City

Address: Cnr West and Maude Streets, Sandton 2196 , South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Sandton City 3*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish urban design and fuss-free approach to accommodation, Garden Court Sandton City is situated in the heart of Johannesburg. It is here that functional design meets smart technology, resulting in a surprisingly simple hotel that is easily able to meet the needs of business and leisure travellers. The convenient location meanwhile has plenty of advantages for all guests. Business travellers are within easy reach of the acclaimed Sandton Convention Centre along with the rest of the Sandton CBD, while leisure travellers can enjoy the world-class shopping, entertainment and sight-seeing attractions found within the area. Getting around has never been easier, thanks to the high speed Gautrain route that spans across the city.Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Features A total of 444 rooms are offered, each furnished in a modern style. Aside from basic features such as baths and separate showers, facilities in each room include invitingly comfortable double or queen beds, workstations, air-conditioning, tea and coffee stations, DSTV, plug points and porter service among others. Wheelchair-accessible and smoking rooms can also be arranged on request. Other facilities that can be enjoyed within the hotel itself include free WiFi, complementary Gautrain station shuttles, Riffs Bar & Grill, a breakfast room, Sandton Sun Spa and access to other nearby amenities. Conferencing venues and facilities include two full-service meeting rooms, with packages on offer to suit your business needs. As a guest at our hotel, you can also look forward to a host of specials that add more value to your stay, such as our Frequent Guest loyalty programme. Take the stress out of travel planning with Garden Court Sandton City – an ideally located hotel that understands your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Court Sandton City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Sandton City Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Sandton City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.