We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
istanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

comfortable furnished room with great view and plenty in room amenities, breakfast was amazing but also you should definitely try the brunch especially if you like jazz too...for me more important that the hotel was closed to stock exchange market and the hotel provide transportation as well..very friendly staff good service ,free wifi i will definitely choose this hotel for my future trips as well...good managed hotel in general and also good valuable for money ..

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    205
    64
    28
    16
See reviews for
29
88
35
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for a night following a week in Zanzibar. Loved the place. The staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms were big and spacious and a great shower. The location was good across the road from the train station and a 10 minute walk to Nelson Mandela Square.
Breakfast next morning was delishis. And the gym on the top floor had a great view. I would quite happily return there time and time again. I couldn't fault the place. And reasonable value as well in terms of cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I asked to receive a shipment in the hotel. Concierge staff gave me a great attention receiving it. I also left 2 suitcase in Radission Gautrain one week prior to my stay and they kept them for me. Very reliable service!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

still waiting for Sam at reservations to send me the confirmation of my reservation 2 days later...
Sharon at Check in was sweet and helpful
We informed the hotel of my wifes birthday but unfortunately no surprises
Room looks good but lack of preventative maintenance and supervision from housekeeping... Dust on the shelves were the towels are kept, paint peeling and bubbling above the shower, Shower head pressure low, water leaking from the shower, shower head handle leaking and mold on the grouting and silicone.
Items missing from the Mini Bar.
Baby was crying in the room next to us

In the evening and morning we went to the restaurant and while 2 or 3 staff are talking there we had to wait for their conversation to finish before we were acknowledged.

Breakfast: Hot food was cold (barely warm) and cold food and drinks went warm.

Check out was scary, Mbali and the other ladies did not smile not once... i felt intimidated to check out or even ask if I can

Room Tip: AC units make noise and doors SLAM closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times and on the whole always enjoy my stays. First let's deal with the plus points; lovely comfortable rooms, very clean fantastic views of the surrounding area. All room amenities are modern and in excellent working order. Bathrooms are fantastic with lovely walk in shower and nice toiletries are provided. Location is great for the surrounding restaurants and shopping and courtesy transport can be provided, in a physical sense this is one of the best I have stayed in within Sandton.
Now the minus points; the curse of the atrium style hotel strikes again, noise carries MASSIVELY. One night whilst finishing drinks with my colleagues after the bar had just closed we were approached saying there were complaints about noise. Make no mistake this was a group of four people engaging in conversation with the odd laugh so in no way being boisterous! However noise really does carry in this hotel and although I certainly don't believe it was worth someone complaining about I do fully appreciate that the noise DOES carry in this hotel, so with that in mind try and request a room as high as possible and in one of the four corner areas of each floor. That being said my room was in one of these corner areas and after having been banished to my room for making "too much noise" I then listened to banging and crashing of crockery, glasses and anything else that might have been being moved around in the lobby area, probably setting up for breakfast, clearing the bar area etc etc. It's one thing to move your guests on saying there's been complaints, but for the staff to make plenty of noise themselves poses the question was there actually a complaint in the first place?!
Next item is the staff, there are some staff in the hotel that are outstanding, and most of these are within the concierge department, simply the friendliest most efficient people you could ever wish to meet behind a concierge desk (apologies to those people I mean, I never wrote your names down so can't praise you by name!) these ladies and gentlemen are in stark contrast to the reception staff, who whilst I have never received rude service from any of them, are at best indifferent and very rarely do you see a smile. You can come down in the lift with one of the bellmen and they would instigate a friendly conversation about something whether it be the weather or asking about your plans for the day, then get to reception desk and nine times out of ten be met with a blank face! The bar staff are similar, never rude but the majority of the time simply indifferent. A golden rule of customer service is making the first impression count, and very rarely do any of the reception staff or bar staff live by this rule, which given the bar staff always receive a tip every time I sign a cheque is doubly annoying, quite simply if they smiled and engaged they would get more so clearly there is only one loser here!
None of these things would stop me staying in this hotel though, it IS a lovely hotel, however an injection of customer service training would seriously raise the bar here to make it a BRILLIANT hotel, the infrastructure is all there it's just some of the people letting it down a bit. The noise issue will sadly never change due to the atrium style, short of building a roof between the lobby and the first guest floor and this is sometime that you just have to put up with if you actively choose an atrium style hotel, it's certainly not an issue isolated to this individual hotel.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived here for three days of business and was glad that I had chosen this hotel. A very warm welcome from all the staff. My room was very well appointed and quiet. It was clean, the bed was comfortable, the pillows of excellent quality. Breakfast was a treat, with a huge choice available every morning. An advantage: it is directly opposite a very nice, clean and safe park and as I had my children with me for this trip they were able to go to the park with the nanny. The hotel shuttle bus was also a bonus, as it operates between the hotel and Sandton City shopping Centre with frequent shuttles running all day.I would stay here again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wanted to stay at this place for a while, but often stay up the road at the Blu Gautrain. Tried it out this time and it was a good place. Comfortable rooms, good view and turndown service. Great location, parking always had spaces and generally a good experience. On the negative. The lounge and restaurant seem a little cheap and tacky. Remind me of an Ibis in Europe so I was not rushing to go in there at all. Unfortunate because I often stay up the road at Blu Gautrain and their communal areas are very inviting. Wifi was also not very strong on the top floors.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sandton
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.