We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the hotel. The room is nice with a good view - was at the 21 floor.
The bed must say is very comfortable.
Te receptionist lady who checked me in was great. So the lady at the breakfast counter asking for my room. She really gave me a genuine smile.
Unfortunately the rest of the restaurant employees are average. No good morning no smile.
Breakfast was good but croissants and pastry a bit dry. Taste like from the day before. Guess they are purchased.
You fix the restaurant you get 5 stars

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to hear that you received our "Yes I Can!" Service from our reception and breakfast counter staff however it is concerning to hear that the remainder of the staff did not live up to the standards we require of them.

I will address this with the necessary team members to get this back on track.

I do hope that you will notice an improvement upon your next stay with us.

With kind regards,
Volkan Vural
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    269
    84
    35
    23
See reviews for
44
117
43
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel other than I didn't find the staff that friendly or helpful . This hotel is smart , modern , clean , and a pleasure to stay in , the pool area is great overlooking joburg , the gym is the best I've ever experienced in any hotel ( even has a running track) . It's close by to a shopping centre with great restaurants , bars . The area is safe but !!! Be aware

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on TripAdvisor.

I am extremely happy that you enjoyed you time with us, especially the out door pool deck and our gym facility.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Johannesburg when your travels bring you back to the area.

With kind regards,
Volkan Vural
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice hotel. Modern and kept clean. Good location for business and leisure with possibly the best hotel gym I've ever used. Only downside is the staff. They are incredibly rude and not what you would expect from a 5 * hotel or the Radisson chain. I have stayed here several times and unfortunately it's always the same. In fact, my 3 year old has better customer service skills. Disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to hear that you enjoy our facilities and surroundings however it is a concern that you have experienced some issues with our service levels and staff attitude.

I will be looking into this as a matter of urgency in order for us to ensure that this does not continue.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Volkan Vural
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at the Radisson Blu for two nights as part of a short golf trip.

We had a room on the 14th floor with a nice Nespresso coffee maker and a good twin bed.

We unfortunately didn't make use of the gym but it looked great. Including a nice pool.

We didn't make use of the bar and restaurant but breakfast was super! We didn't have many better breakfast anywhere.

So great value for money we might use it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am very happy to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one and you enjoyed the facilities in your room and our Super Breakfast buffet.

We hope you will join us again when your travels bring you back to the area and be able to try out the remainder of our facilities too.

With kind regards,
Volkan Vural
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

As A business hotel certainly no complaints all that was required was there namely clean tidy room, good gym, nice breakfast.
Good location to Sandton area but as I was working near airport found traffic an issue

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the great on site gym and our Super Breakfast.

Johannesburg traffic is not great however I do hope that you will continue to stay with us and are able to possibly use the Guatrain as a means to eliminate traffic.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

With kind regards,
Volkan Vural
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I completely agree with the recent review from Goldfish86.

I, too, have been a regular customer to the Radisson Blu Sandton and have found that the service needs to improve for a hotel of this category. In particular, the service at the restaurant is just well below par. Simple things like clearing the table at the right time, asking the right questions, etc. are done in a very unprofessional manner. Some proper training is required here.

The rooms are ok, albeit subject to noise from the hallway.

The spa is more of a fitness centre that is not exclusive to hotel members. I had to buy a swimming cap for $80 to use the swimming pool. Does not sound like top service to me either...

All in all, definitely not the best Radisson Blu I've stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for reviewing the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that your experiences with us have not been up to standard.

I have addressed your concerns with the necessary management in order for us to improve on the services we offer. We are grateful for your feedback as it allows us to address the areas of concern.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Johannesburg.

With kind regards,
Volkan Vural
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

after a previously dismal stay we spent 3 nights in the 3 bedroom penthouse and I have to say that the hotel redeemed itself. The use of kitchen and washer dryer was helpful as was the lounge/ upstairs/ downstairs area. We did have to request a Nespresso machine and pods which should be a standard feature. The lack of bathroom doors may be a bit disconcerting for those who do not appreciate full open plan designs but overall the penthouse was great. The restaurant and front office staff have improved dramatically but the self service coffee machine in the restaurant was a bad mistake... it cannot deliver a decent espresso and this needs to be rethinked.

Room Tip: as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that we have redeemed ourselves and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

We have some amazing views from our penthouses and am happy that you were able to spend a few days taking this in.

I will be sure to comment the restaurant and front office staff on their improvements and encourage them to keep up the great work.

With kind regards,
Volkan Vural
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#5 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.3 mi away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#6 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Garden Court Sandton City
#13 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.