We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good business hotel walking distance from Mandela Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
kigali
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very good business hotel walking distance from Mandela Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Although this wouldn't be the hotel I'd pick if I were on holiday as it is full of business people, it is great if you are in Joburg for work. You can easily and safely walk to Madela Square during the day. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The food is also quite good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you chose our hotel even though on holiday and hope that you will return to relax at our out door pool or rejuvenate at our spa upon your next visit.

We look forward to your next visit to sunny Johannesburg.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    205
    64
    28
    16
See reviews for
29
88
35
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I moved there after an awful night in Garden Court Milpark. So.. I was just astonished, how non-comparable are both of them, even if there was almost no difference in price. It’s clean, SAFE, and nice hotel relatively close to Sandton mall (unfortunately without direct access). Room was quiet and clean, breakfast very good, coffee excellent. And smiley and helpful staff – just like businesslike hotel should be, even in crazy Johannesburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for reviewing the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on TripAdvisor.

Your review has brought a smile to my face to know that you have experienced what every traveller should experience on a trip to our hotel. Our warm South African hospitality mixed with our unique Yes I can! Service is visible throughout your review and this is brilliant news!

We take pride in ensuring that our guests are looked after away from the comforts of home.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Johannesburg in the near future.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Decent hotel....clean rooms...and great food (the pork ribs are ab-fab)

service is a tad bit slow (the housekeeping took 2 hours and 5 calls to bring the iron and iron board) and the guys at events on the 12th floor are downright awful.... unhelpful and just could not be bothered..... maybe they are (like most banquet staff) casual labours or maybe its just the usual 'Curse of the Unions'

the famous Yes I Can service is advertised everywhere - every staff seems to wear that pin on his lapel - but it is seldom practiced.

Room Tip: probably the higher ones will have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that you did not experience our unique Yes I Can! Service from all of our employees. We will be looking into this.

I would also like to apologise for the poor service from our banqueting team and will address this with the management involved in that department.

On a positive note it is great to hear that you enjoyed our food and rooms.

We appreciate your feedback and will utilise this to rectify the areas that need improving.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton in the near future.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

There are two Radisson Blu hotels within about 400m of one another outside the Gautrain station at Sandton. This one, a little further away, is in a mixed use building that has some benefits (3 level gym and full size swimming pool) but can be a little tiresome to access using two sets of elevators to get from the ground floor to your room.

The rooms are of a good standard, clean, spacious, and the flip side of being so high up is that pretty much everywhere has great views over the city and surrounding areas. Besides the fantastic gym, there's little else in the way of a entities, only one average restaurant and a lobby bar.

The location is fairly good, if you don't mind a short walk to the Gautrain station and shopping mall.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience on Trip Advisor. We are also delighted to read that you appreciated our great views and gym.

We sincerely hope to host you in the near future and please follow us on Facebook and Twitter (@RadbluSandton) to stay informed about our hotel.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Everything was as expected level except for the activities booking stuff and that's the reasons I did not give it 5 stars. Willingness to book tour was lacking at the transportation desk. We were the one pushing to book it. We could not d Diamond mine tour because we were not informed that we have to leave at 6 in the morning for it which we were very much willing to do if told.

Location of the hotel is the best. Gautrain is 5 mins walk from the hotel right across the street so no need to book pick up from the airport. Gautrain starts from the airport and comes straight to Sandton and takes 15 mins only to reach. 5 star for Rooms and cleanliness.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us however am concerned at the lack of assistance you received when booking your tours. We continuously strive to improve our service standards in order for our guests to feel at home away from home.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,
Volkan Vural
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on business and returned for 1 night for pleasure. Generally the service was good but by no means outstanding. The most disappointing things for me were: (1) only one restaurant with limited food choice; (2) rooms have not been well maintained - some electrical sockets not working, showers did not drain quickly, showers had to be left running for quite some time to get hot water; (3) room can be noisy if close to centre of hotel / lobby; (4) WIFI connection was terrible!; (5) Gym & Spa are available for private members and hotel guest so unfortunately you cannot use the gym to get changed after you have checked out. On the plus side, the location was good for business meetings and for getting to Nelson Mandela Square in the evenings (free shuttle bus). The choice of tourist excursions (available at concierge but provided by external vendor) was good. We did the Johannesburg & Soweto tour and Pilanesburg. On the last night of stay they did let me have a late check out at 6pm. This will not be available if the hotel is busy but always worth asking.

Room Tip: Away from the centre of the hotel is quieter and ask for the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience on Tripadvisor We are saddened to hear about your disappointment in our facilities. We also apologize for the noise levels you experienced. I have discussed your concerns with all the relevant departments involved, as we work hard to make sure our guests are comfortable.

We sincerely hope to host you in the near future and please follow us on Facebook and Twitter (@RadbluSandton) to stay informed about our upcoming offers.


With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in a nicer and safer neighbourhood of J'burg. Its rooms are modern and Well equipped with a safe/wifi free/tea/coffee making facilities and a minibar. Nice 3 level gym complete with a running track, indoor outdoor pool. It is located not far from dining venues and a mall if you don't want to rely on hotel's outlets. There is also a free shuttle from the hotel to the mall

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience on Trip Advisor. We are also delighted to read that you appreciated our facilities.

We sincerely hope to host you in the near future and please follow us on Facebook and Twitter (@RadbluSandton) to stay informed about our hotel offers.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sandton
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.