We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely one of the best choices in Jo´burg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Definitely one of the best choices in Jo´burg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

After trying different (supposedly) “best choice” hotels in Jo´burg the Radisson Blu Sandton is definitely “my choice” for my next trips (in fact, I am already been booked for the next one).
The rooms are very ample and clean and, as this is a tall building (with no obstacles), you will enjoy good 360º views of the city.
Service is quite good with a friendly (but not over amicable and/or false pose) staff.
Breakfast is excellent, however the menu in the restaurant and in the café bar is quite limited, although this is quite understandable as the hotel is very close to Mandela Square and most people will use the Hotel Shuttle Service to explore some of the good Restaurants in the City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KP1986, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear JuanFPerez,

Thank you for the fantastic review you have submitted.

As a a business hotel we strive to offer our customers the best in all areas as well as provide unique 'Yes I Can!' service to keep our clients happy.

We appreciate your support & kind words which we will most definitely share with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the City of Gold and in particular, the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    205
    64
    28
    16
See reviews for
29
88
35
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Radisson Blu in Sandton is impressive but in a weird way. Reception is on the 13th floor and the hotel goes up from there so not great for anyone with acrophobia. Lifts are ridiculous - one from the ground floor to reception then a walk and another to your room - they didn't seem particularly efficient. Check in involved parking in a temporary space, going to the 13th floor and getting a parking voucher, going down again and parking in the basement. Why no valet parking, especially during check in? Room itself was great and breakfast good. The bar area is too open to feel comfortable in, especially when other guests and managers are having heated discussions about the poor service. I didn't like the layout, but the overall impression wasn't that of a five star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel is nice - rooms are standard - breakfast is good - but the elevator situation is ridiculous. First off, you have to take one elevator to get to the lobby and then a second to get to your room - and the entire time I was there at least one elevator was down at all times which meant it took forever.

Having said that, I will stay here again for one simple reason - the GYM IS AMAZING. The hotel is on top of Planet Fitness and that this the gym you get to use. It is literally the best gym.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Me and my fiancee was in Sandton city mall for shopping and we decided to stop over at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton for a drink. We were welcomed by fully dressed hotel staffs. We then went to terrace where you can view Sandton City from North, South,East and West all at Radisson Blu Hotel Terrace Bar(Central One).

We didnt have a meal there but the cocktail was dilicious, My Fiancee had "Pina Colada & Kir Royale. and I got myself chilled Strawberry Daiquiri & Pina Colada. We been to so many places and if we could have spare cash or spare holiday time we could check inn immediately into Radisson Blu Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with Sandton City view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel is Average. Clean. Products are alright but the staff are simply rude. You have to wait for everything. Its basically their time or no ones time. Make sure you keep all your valuables close by, because they tend to take your stuff. Even in the safe, I had lots of colleagues have their stuff go missing from this hotel. Would return but basically bring nothing with me next time. Pool is alright. Average. Room service is good and gym facilities is nice.
Recommend - Yeah, for one night with no valuables.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel to me was average. It really is a business hotel so perhaps that added to the feeling of coldness. The staff were not very welcoming upon check in. There was a general malaise when I asked them for assisttance with information on the museum (apartheid museum, which is superb). The food wasn't particularly good and was often cold. Pretty good location, 30 mins to the airport and approx the same to the museum. The rooms were very clean. Overall I found it to be a soulless place but perhaps perfect for a business trip!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Well, it`s a large hotel from a large chain, so as long as you know that, expect nothing less. It`s close to Mandela Square and about 30 mins from Tambo airport. But it is a large hotel from a large chain. The rooms are lovely, the staff are fantastic, but I found the service in the restaurant really slow.

The hotel is mainly populated by business travellers and the menu reflects their standard international needs, there was very little `local` fayre.

There is free Wi-Fi should you need it, a business centre and conferencing facilities, but I personally would prefer to stay somewhere smaller next time.

Room Tip: Get up to the highest floor possible, the views are amazing :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sandton
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.