We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a one or two night stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good for a one or two night stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Well, it`s a large hotel from a large chain, so as long as you know that, expect nothing less. It`s close to Mandela Square and about 30 mins from Tambo airport. But it is a large hotel from a large chain. The rooms are lovely, the staff are fantastic, but I found the service in the restaurant really slow.

The hotel is mainly populated by business travellers and the menu reflects their standard international needs, there was very little `local` fayre.

There is free Wi-Fi should you need it, a business centre and conferencing facilities, but I personally would prefer to stay somewhere smaller next time.

Room Tip: Get up to the highest floor possible, the views are amazing :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    278
    87
    35
    23
See reviews for
45
122
45
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We only stayed one night in-between flights but I have to say I was very impressed with the hotel, the staff, the location and how easy it was to get to via the train from the airport. We only had breakfast there but it was good with a wide selection to choose from. The rooms were clean and the beds comfy. The best was the free shuttle service around town and they were very happy to take us over to the mall for an hour and then over to a restaurant and back to the hotel later on that night. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone spending a little time in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pros :
- Basic rooms are nice and tidy.
- Free Internet access for all, and … very good Internet speed comparing to other competitors in the same Road!
- Staff globally gentle and smiling.
- 24h room service.
- Good location, on Rivonia road.
- Restaurant is very nice and tasteful !
Cons :
- Parking in the basement is expensive (40R/day).
- Still do not understand why Radisson built up 2 twin hotels at the same place. Quite stupid, I think many people just get wrong because of that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Checked into this hotel in the afternoon and was impressed by the speedy check in.I had been booked in a couple of days before.The hotel was spotlessly clean,with elevators to my room.I was allocated room 2217 on the 22nd floor.Room was spacious,clean and with a working desk that was comfortable. The internet was on excellent signal strength throughout my 3 nights stay.Room service was good and swift.On one occasion there had been a slight delay and my protest by phone to the duty manager was resolved immediately with a proffesional follow up on whether everything was according to my satisfaction.I was actually fasting and did not visit the breakfast meals area but the room service dinner I ordered was always delicious.The hotel has a great Gym.One of the hotels appeal is the 8 minutes walk to the Gautrain station.(The other Radisson Blu is actually 2 minutes walk opposite the station.)This hotel is near the Nelson Mandela Square(5 minutes by taxi) with its great malls,restaurants and food courts.There is always a courtesy vehicle from the Raddison Blu from the Gautrain to the hotel .There is also a courtesy shuttle to and from hotel to Nelson Mandela Square every 30 minutes.All in all ,I would visit the Radisson Blu in future should I have a business meetings in the Sandton area of Johanessburg.

Room Tip: rooms on the 22 nd floor were silent.No traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

As a Carlson Group card holder I had stayed at this hotel before. Trying to book on line (when Pres Obama was staying...but unkown to myself) showed a huge disparity in pricing as compared to the same deal when checked via British Airways on line booking system. Car parking day rate very reasonable, my Carlson status was recognised and given excellent room, staff all round very good especially Antonio, bar/restaurant. Access to the private gym on site is a real bonus. (but if you want to swim take a swimming cap). Breakfast pretty standard fayre...coffe could be a bit stewed and very strong. As some others bar area not so welcoming atrium style but televisions to watch the sport channels. Evening meals standard OK but with several prevantable mistakes...offering chefs pizza with figs and then getting served the pizza without figs (because they weren't in season !!)...occasional slow delivery to tables from the pass. But main problem with evening meals is that there is no atmosphere with sometimes only 6-8 diners all evening. Shame because the steaks and fish are excellent, So all in all...I'll give this Radisson a 4. O I forgot...I put my laundry bag outside my room at 21.00, went to sleep and was woken at 00.15 by telephone call from someone asking if I wanted my laundry taken away....awake for another hour before being able to get back to sleep.....ODD ???

Room Tip: Room levels go from 14 to 20 something so higher numbers give better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel for a business trip with access to quality and safe taxi's easy. The pool was closed for cleaning which was a disappointment after a busy morning. The quality of breakfast was excellent, however the evening meal was a not as good. Staff friendly, but atmosphere a little lacking in the bar area, probably due to the atrium style design. Would stay again. Rooms clean and large and good air con system.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WR
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I deviated from my normal accommodation and recently opted to sleep at Radisson Blu, Sandton. At first it waas kind-of weird parking in front of the Hotel only to find the reception on level 13. But, what a nice surprise! The checking staff was friendly and efficient. But the biggest surprise was the elegance of the room. Ample room/desk for working but also have a relaxing area. And the breakfast and variety was at its best. You alco have access to thr Gym and a running track around the hotel.

Definitely a place where I will go again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#22 of 48 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Garden Court Sandton City
#13 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#6 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.