We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay ( along with Mr. Obama )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #15 of 44 hotels in Sandton
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“wonderful stay ( along with Mr. Obama )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were booked at the Radisson Blu fom the 28th June to 30th June 2013...and to our utter surprise the president of the United States...Mr. BARACK OBAMA and his family were booked in the same hotel.

The hotel has a nice staff. The rooms are spacious and are quite up to the mark. I wish the hotel had granted us rooms as we had requested , but sadly due to security reasons we got a room on the lower floor and not the view we had asked for.

The best part is that the food and drinks at their restaurant are at a very good price and are totally worth a shot.
The breakfast though needs to improve a lot. Despite the fact that such a huge entourge was there along with the president , there was only one person at the eggs station , who got very confused even if there were just two people waiting for their orders , and ALWAYS forgot what one had ordered. Very dissapointing.

The hotel has a free shuttle to the Nelson Mandela square and the Gautrain station , which is a very good thing.

The reason for my high rating is that despite the fact that a VIP like Mr. Obama and his entourage were staying in the hotel , the staff never compromised on the service for us. The shuttle was always on time , despite the fact that it had to go through a long security check each time it went to the hotel

Would love to return here for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    155
    47
    21
    7
See reviews for
16
61
31
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 4 days during my business trip to Joburg and fully enjoyed my stay. The hotel has great location, just walking distance to train station and Manila Square. On top of that, the hotel's staffs are very friendly and helpful. Shuttle Bus service is another added point for this hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good service, nice atmosphere. Only a couple of blocks of Mandela square mall, not that I'm into malls at all but on this one I was surprised by the quality of the restaurants in there, and not being Joburg a very "friendly for walking" city, it's a big plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a decent, well priced business hotel.

Staff are extremely helpful and there is a great gym and swimming pool.

The reception is a great place to have a beer and watch people and the food at the restaurant was great. I would, and am, stay again in the future

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Staff on the whole are very friendly and warm, however the hotels overall service lets it down - dont expect much and you will be fine. In room dining - got my orders wrong, phones not answered..wake up calls a few mins late. The gym at the hotel is amazing and if i came back it would be for this...one of the best in the area. Restaurant food is ordinary and not much variety though bfast was good...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on my honeymoon between going on a South African safari and Mauritius. The staff were excellent, they made a fuss over me and my husband giving us the honeymoon treatment with champagne etc and there was nothing they couldn't do for us, I was delighted with the service! The hotel was funky with a goegeous gym and pool, it was a shame I wasn't there long enough to use it. The rooms are clean and well equipped. Overall we were very happy with our brief stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel has lots going for it but I do prefer the other Radisson Blu (Gautrain) down the street. This hotel has a good pool (at least when its warm), a great gym, very good rooms and a decent restaurant. The design is excellent but the service pales compared to the other one. Very friendly, just not as well trained-at all. Restaurant and bar hours are terrible. The elevator system is over engineered and confusing. Good luck parking if you have a car bigger than a motorcycle.

Room Tip: Face the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg
Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sandton
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.