We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, lovely pool and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #17 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, lovely pool and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on my honeymoon between going on a South African safari and Mauritius. The staff were excellent, they made a fuss over me and my husband giving us the honeymoon treatment with champagne etc and there was nothing they couldn't do for us, I was delighted with the service! The hotel was funky with a goegeous gym and pool, it was a shame I wasn't there long enough to use it. The rooms are clean and well equipped. Overall we were very happy with our brief stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    162
    52
    22
    10
See reviews for
17
66
32
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel has lots going for it but I do prefer the other Radisson Blu (Gautrain) down the street. This hotel has a good pool (at least when its warm), a great gym, very good rooms and a decent restaurant. The design is excellent but the service pales compared to the other one. Very friendly, just not as well trained-at all. Restaurant and bar hours are terrible. The elevator system is over engineered and confusing. Good luck parking if you have a car bigger than a motorcycle.

Room Tip: Face the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I am accomodating here for months. It is not my choice. I am here because of it is my company's negotiated hotel. Poor staff, poor security, poor restaurant. Only thing beautiful in this hotel is gym. It is really designed successfully but rest part is a waste. All the sounds in the bar is directly coming to your room even you are in 22 floor. My colleague's bag was stolen from restaurant in the 13 floor.

I am counting days to finish my project and leave this hell.

Room Tip: Find another hotel for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a very modern hotel in all respects. On arrival you have to go to the 13 th floor using a key card(which you pick up at reception on the ground floor) then once on the 13th you can access separate elevators to your room. Main reception area on 13 th floor, all staff v helpful, pleasant bar and modern restaurant. Very spacious and light which makes it an enjoyable experience. Room size was excellent, well laid out, well stocked mini bar, good quality furnishings, bathroom excellent. You can also open the windows! Always a bonus. Fabulous views over the city. Wifi good, and if you are a gym bunny, the gym is stunning with pools, a staggering number of machines and a useful health bar. Excellent shuttle bus to the mall. All staff outstanding. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just stayed one night at this resort. My flight arrived late at night from Amsterdam at 930pm, so the Gautrain was closed.The taxi using the meter came out to 477 ZAR, which I felt was quite steep. The concierge who greeted me was extremely nice and helpful, and so was the front desk staff. The hotel bar closed at midnight, so I was going to walk to a bar close by the hotel, but the same concierge didn't recommend walking for safety reasons and instead drove me there. He gave me his card to call him when I was done so he could pick me up.

I found the bed extremely comfortable, a little on the hard side which I like, with ample pillows. The big negative about the room was that it didn't come with an iron, but I believe I could have ordered one from the front desk. There was a separate shower and tub, and everything was clean. The shower was stocked with shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, and lotion. The room had two small bottles of water which were complimentary, one still, the other tonic.

My rate came with breakfast, and as I am an eggs and potatoes type of guy, I thought both were rather lacking. The eggs were runny and the potatoes were bone dry and inedible. I cannot comment on the other items, but there seemed to be plenty of cold and cooked meats, with chicken, beef, and pork sausages all available.

Checkout was a breeze, and there was plenty of help downstairs to help you call or taxi, or give you a ride to Sandton city center or the Gautrain. If I ever wanted to come back to Joburg/South Africa again, I would stay here.

Room Tip: 14th floor is the smokers floor. Do not accept a room on this floor unless you like to smoke, or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Downside of this hotel - lift to Reception....no problem but after check in....you might wait 5 - 15mins for a lift to a floor.
Got to my room...most of our keycards were not activated thus had to go back down which was an effort as it takes too much time waiting for the lift.

Finally getting into my room at 18h20, had to get ready in 10mins my transport was leaving thus needed to use the safe - not working + bedside telephone. Used line on desk to advise housekeeping(never answered after 3mins) thus called reception to advise housekeeping.

Came back to hotel at 21h23 - safe & bedside telephone was still not fixed thus waited until 21h45 for someone to come and fix necessary.
This was the main problem - if checkin is after 17h00 or check out by 07h00....everything is on go slow...

Breakfast the next morning @ 06h15 - 1 staff around to assist with 10 tables occupied thus waited till 06h30 for someone to bring a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel reception is on 13th floor. Rooms are higher with great view. They are just about the right size with queen beds. Breakfast is tasty with just what you need variety of food. Amazing gym, with 2 swimming pools and huge facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#5 Business Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.