We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a Great Stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Have a Great Stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It is a very nice hotel. Good location, close to the financial district, and about less than 5 minutes drive to Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton City, both are great shopping malls. The hotel has a shuttle bus every 30 minutes to the Nelson Mandela Square, the bus was always on time in the morning and afternoon, and a bit late about 15-25 minutes in the evening. Walking surrounding the hotel is okay, but I will not recommend it after dark.
This hotel is very well decorated, modern, elegance, with a very good ambiance particularly in cafe and lounge area at 13th floor. I have a good time here when hanging out with my friend, watching the English Premier League, and have some drinks. Just a notice that we ordered 2 portion of meat balls and we have to wait around 45 minutes to finally get it.
I love the bedroom, and the bathroom as well. Very modern, clean and tidy. Comfort bed and pillows, very well furnitures and carpet, and I got a nice view from the room. The bathroom was bright and very clean.
I always enjoy my breakfast time here, so many options, good variation of breads and muffin, great salad and fruits, lovely sausage and bacons, and great coffee also.
Due to my experiences I think the area for improvement is the hotel's staff attitude. Some of them are good, but most of them need to be more friendly. In overall, I would say that I have a great stay here, and will defenitely stay here again in the future if I have chance to go back to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    206
    64
    28
    16
See reviews for
29
88
35
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cap-d'Agde, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was the 4th time to say there. We had two suites of which one was pointing to the noisy street. Upon request the staff offered to change the room immediately. The rooms offer a nice view on the city. Lunch and dinner in the Restaurant on the 13th floor was very good. Compared to other times, there were however much fewer guests. The quality of service and infrastructure in the Spa is very good too. The weak link this time was the concierge service. Coordination of pick up service at the airport went wrong as we were told that the service was outsourced to another company but they did not know to which after we wanted to inform about a flight delay. On the occasion of booking a Restaurant for dinner on Sunday and getting confirmation for the booking, we ended up standing in front of a closed Restaurant (for many years Sundays the Restaurant is closed).

Please vote YES if you find this comment useful. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's a great hotel, safe, friendly, close to everything, good staff to help with whatever you need.

Very good vibe, relaxing and nice places to sit around and gather.

Highly recommend this hotel going to SA.

Room Tip: Pool is great, food wonderful, close to the biggest shopping malls....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in April. I arrived in themorning, hotel taxi pick-up from the airport was ok, I received the room in the morning without any waiting. It is modern, clear, nicely decorated. Staff is very helpful and kind. Breakfast is great, I liked mainly the fresh fruits selection, in the same restaurant you can have a very good dinner too (especially baked Salmon, Pinotage red wine, etc.). Check-in area is on the floor 13, which confused me a bit at the beginning, maybe it is for a safety reasons. Hotel has a pool outside (10 floor) but in case of bad weather, there is one also inside (8 floor). The gym and Spa are perfect. My room on floor 21 had a splendid view. It was large, nice, with coffee and tea making amenities. Bathroom was also huge and clean. Wifi was a bit slow and it worked better in the outside pool area. From this hotel it is about 45min drive to Lions Park. I believe this hotel offers all you may need during your stay. I do not attach any fotos, as the hotel and the rooms look the same as you see on their webpage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had a really nice stay here. I would recommend it to any business travelers.The food is good and the service is fantastic. Also, take advantage of the gym and indoor lap pool--Olympic quality. The location was good for someone working in Sandton. I stayed here for two weeks and it felt like home at the end of the trip. There is also a free shuttle service to the mall and in-between hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here one night before moving onwards to Capetown. Rooms were large and quite nice, huge bathroom with nice amenities.

Check in area is on the 13th floor which is separate from the lobby area on the ground floor. Not sure if this is for security or design reasons. Hotel staff was a mix-- the bartender was super nice as well as the other restaurant staff. However the check-in staff was only ok-- we had a bored man whom checked us in and was too impatient to get back to his phone to tell us more details about the hotel shuttle and restaurant locations but we had a really nice woman the next day that printed out our boarding passes.

There is a free shuttle that takes you to Sandton mall which was handy as we went to eat at the Butcher Shop (recommended) and the shuttle stops right in front of the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent 5* city hotel in the heart of Sandton!

Lovely modern & comfortable rooms with full bathroom & great views of Sandton.

All public areas clean and with super trendy decor. Nice atmosphere. Breakfast excellent and service extremely efficient.

Made use of the world-class gym - high recommended.

Great size swimming pool with stunning views of Sandton.

Complimentary shuttle to Nelson Mandela Square which offers a massive shopping mall and a large array of restaurants. The square is a real buzz in the evenings.

Overall Sandton made us feel very safe and the people very friendly. We look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sandton
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.