We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with an amazing view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
1 review
“Beautiful hotel with an amazing view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We called for a complimentary shuttle before we left the aiport but had to wait again when we got to the gautrain station. But when we got to the hotel the staff made us feel welcome. I was dissapointed that we had to wait 15minutes for our room, as my child was hungry and tired. Our room had a beatiful view facing the south, oh and the one-touch lady was very sweet when we ordered breakfast and lunch (room service) through out the stay, she suggested different things all the time since we did not have a menu in the room, and when we wanted soaps etc and they where delaying she called to assure us they will deliver and she checked if we got them. A very kind lady indeed, and ofcause the overall kind staff. We will surely stay at the Sandton Raddidon again on our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    205
    64
    28
    16
See reviews for
29
88
35
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Spent four nights here. A great stay. Service: Superb, Room: Superb. Only a couple of things: A little mould in the bathroom and the sliding door to the Bathroom was constantly jamming.
I loved the remembrance of our first names by the staff namely the receptionist and the concierge , wonderful. Great to have also the complimentary shuttle service to the Sandton Shopping Centre and the Nelson Mandela Square.
Finally the breakfast room: What a View.
Over all, for me; a wonderful stay. Thanks to you all

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Difficult to review this hotel - stayed here on a business trip in 2012, and whilst the hotel was undoubtedly very chic/trendy with pretty decent service, I found the concept of having the bar in the lobby area a little soulless - not the kind of place where you can sit on your own nursing a drink and meeting some people, as it seems to empty out pretty early. As a regular solo business traveller, this is something important to me, but this is obviously a personal thing, and not necessarily a reflection on the hotel offering in terms of value for money. Depends on what you're looking for - very decent business hotel on the balance of things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Decent hotel, rooms were comfortable and fairly big. The restaurant was nice as well, being vegetarians we could get a nice veg curry. The hotel has a shuttle to the sandton mall which is very useful. The breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for one night while in transit. The hotel is an 8 minute walk from the Gautrain, which takes you to the airport in 15 minutes. There is another Radisson Blu that is right across the street from the Gautrain station, which we would have preferred to stay at, purely for location's sake. The Radisson Blu Sandton's location is not bad, and they do offer a free shuttle.

Our room was very typical for a Radisson Blu, nice, light, very comfortable king bed and a beautiful bathroom. However, the shower had some issues. The soap dish was broken off (and missing), and the shower door wouldn't close. There was no separation or lip to keep the water in, so the bathroom floor flooded every time we showered.

At check in, the front desk person showed us where the breakfast room was and what time it was served. He did not mention that there was an extra charge for it. Perhaps we should not have assumed, but for $170/nt, we expected it to be included in the price of the room. It wasn't included. The food was AWFUL. The hot food tasted funky, the sausages were dry and rubbery, the smoothies tasted strange, and the cold foods were just basic. The omelette chef was nowhere to be found when we were there. For over $20/pp, this was GROSSLY overpriced, especially since we hardly ate anything. This was the biggest regret of our stay. Stick to a light room service meal if your b/f is not included. We also ate dinner there the night before, but my main course was chewy and hard to swallow. I left half of it on the plate.

All in all, the Radisson Blu Sandton is a nice, pretty hotel with friendly service, and we love the Radisson Blu chain in general. But we have stayed in much better valued places, with much better food. We would try the Gautrain hotel next time, just for the proximity to the train station.

Room Tip: We always get a high room away from the elevator. They are usually the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The pics make this hotel look very chic but it's a little deceived. The main issue is that all 3 rooms we had were full of maintenance and design issues. The shower doors don't close properly. The shower sprays water at the door so out into the room. In fact the shower is only useful when handheld. One room leaked water under the glass shower wall and flooded the toilet area. The front doors in 2 rooms wouldn't close properly. You get the idea.

Positives were an excellent breakfast buffet

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton Johannesburg for one night last September. Extremely pleased with the hotel! Superb room! Spectacular hotel interiors! Buffet breakfast one of the best I've experienced! How I wished we stayed here more nights !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sandton
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.