We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for one night while in transit. The hotel is an 8 minute walk from the Gautrain, which takes you to the airport in 15 minutes. There is another Radisson Blu that is right across the street from the Gautrain station, which we would have preferred to stay at, purely for location's sake. The Radisson Blu Sandton's location is not bad, and they do offer a free shuttle.

Our room was very typical for a Radisson Blu, nice, light, very comfortable king bed and a beautiful bathroom. However, the shower had some issues. The soap dish was broken off (and missing), and the shower door wouldn't close. There was no separation or lip to keep the water in, so the bathroom floor flooded every time we showered.

At check in, the front desk person showed us where the breakfast room was and what time it was served. He did not mention that there was an extra charge for it. Perhaps we should not have assumed, but for $170/nt, we expected it to be included in the price of the room. It wasn't included. The food was AWFUL. The hot food tasted funky, the sausages were dry and rubbery, the smoothies tasted strange, and the cold foods were just basic. The omelette chef was nowhere to be found when we were there. For over $20/pp, this was GROSSLY overpriced, especially since we hardly ate anything. This was the biggest regret of our stay. Stick to a light room service meal if your b/f is not included. We also ate dinner there the night before, but my main course was chewy and hard to swallow. I left half of it on the plate.

All in all, the Radisson Blu Sandton is a nice, pretty hotel with friendly service, and we love the Radisson Blu chain in general. But we have stayed in much better valued places, with much better food. We would try the Gautrain hotel next time, just for the proximity to the train station.

Room Tip: We always get a high room away from the elevator. They are usually the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    248
    77
    33
    20
See reviews for
39
109
38
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The pics make this hotel look very chic but it's a little deceived. The main issue is that all 3 rooms we had were full of maintenance and design issues. The shower doors don't close properly. The shower sprays water at the door so out into the room. In fact the shower is only useful when handheld. One room leaked water under the glass shower wall and flooded the toilet area. The front doors in 2 rooms wouldn't close properly. You get the idea.

Positives were an excellent breakfast buffet

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton Johannesburg for one night last September. Extremely pleased with the hotel! Superb room! Spectacular hotel interiors! Buffet breakfast one of the best I've experienced! How I wished we stayed here more nights !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Centrally located, brand new hotel with amazing view. The gym is the best in town fully equipped with the latest Technogym machines. Very good breakfast which is served in the Italian restaurant, recommended for lunch and dinner (try the fillet, no disappointments) as well. The rooms are spacious and clean. There are two swimming pools (external and internal) and a good spa. Perfect choice for business travellers.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great location near standton shopping centre. Rooms very nicely furnished and huge beds. Food very good, lovely turkey and avocado wrap, milk puddings. Free wifi and conference rooms are well catered. Used the hotel spa which is very relaxing with a back massage I can still feel today!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The first thing to be aware of is there are two Radisson Blu hotels in Sandton within one block of each other.This one being Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton and the other is Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.If you ended up at the wrong hotel not really a big issue as they are very close to one another.We took a taxi to the hotel and decided to take the Gautrain back to the airport.If you are arriving/departing during the day the Gautrain is a very safe, fast,clean and modern system.The Gautrain station is about a block from the hotel and the hotel has a free shuttle that will pick you up if you call.Our checkin hit a glitch when they did not have our reservation which had been made online with a third party website.It was resolved in a very timely and efficient manner and we were very pleased with the end result.This appeared to be a business hotel,the majority of the guests appeared to be business men/woman with very few children.The lobby is located on the 13th floor which was nice for security and you require your room key to access the elevator to the hotel rooms.At first the card system is a bit confusing but it doesn't take long to figure it out.The hotel itself is very modern and trendy located within the CBD of Sandton.Our room was very spacious,modern and comfortable with everything we needed.The free wi-fi worked fine with no service problems.
If you are a traveller who needs access to a gym when you travel you have won the lottery with this gym.By far the best gym you may ever have access to when staying in a hotel.Your stay gives you "free" access to the Planet Fitness Platinum Gym located on the 10th floor.This gym has absolutely everything and anything you could want for a great workout and its "free"!
Not to say our stay was perfect we did encounter a couple of service concerns that the hotel needs to be aware of .The hotel offers a free shuttle to Nelson Mandela Square where you will find plenty of shopping and dining options.It is only a block away but at night they suggest you take the shuttle and not walk.We found two of three shuttle drivers to have no people skills and really seemed to have no interest in our questions or concerns.After taking the shuttle once we ended up walking to/from the mall just to avoid dealing with the shuttle drivers.The driver who took us to the Gautrain station when we checked out saved the day,he was amazing not sure what the problem was with the other two.
At breakfast on our second morning was where we encountered another service concern.The breakfast buffet itself is great with plenty of cold and hot options,we enjoyed the food.The first morning was perfect with both good food and service,not sure what happened on day two. On the second morning the restaurant was busy with most tables full and the empty ones left with dirty dishes waiting to be cleaned with no staff taking care of this . We ended up taking a dirty table and cleaning off the dishes ourselves so we could eat breakfast.We waited for 20 minutes before someone even asked us if we wanted coffee and good luck getting a refill.It just seemed to be chaos with staff running around in circles with no organization.We ate our breakfast as fast as possible just so we could get out .
Overall the hotel is very nice in a good location and with some customer service training for some of the staff has potential to be a great hotel.Our service concerns are minor and can be easily resolved,if we ever return to Johannesburg would stay here again if only for the gym !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We recently booked a night in the hotel and found it to be sufficient yet lacking. Call me old fashioned but I do think that parking should be included in the bill as the night was not cheap by far far and can be compared to a night in Hong Kong for the same amount of money. The difference is in Hong Kong the standard is higher.

I think that when a hotel has such a prime location they almost stop striving to provide a superior service. Going away for a night, we thought to ourselves we dont need to pack our toothbrushes as hotels provide this, but alas this was not the case.

I am not a fan of art-deco modernistic decor and the breakfast room is somewhat eclectic. The room setup was simple and sufficient, but again when it comes to bathroom time, I like my privacy and half frosted glass is the wall for the bathroom, which means when taking a shower privacy is not the priority.

We also had to negotiate to have cake with coffee at 16:00 as one of the waitron insisted the kitchen was closed. I have to say though, that once the dessert arrived it was phenomenal! A chocolate volcano that is the best I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#7 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.